We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great small hotel”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here in November, great location, basic rooms but very comfortable. We booked a sea view, well worth booking the view of the promanade & waterfront is stunning. The dining room is situated on the roof terrace fantastic views. Only downside the pool is like a jacuzzi. Would stay again lovely small hotel with WFI which is free.

Room Tip: Book a sea view well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allison1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with the best service possible and I am glad to know that you experienced just that. I'm sure that the rest of our team will be delighted to read such a great review.

It would be a pleasure to host you once again in the near future at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites as we have also renovated the property.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    423
    257
    110
    82
See reviews for
170
507
97
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Being mindful that this hotel is a 3 star hotel and not the Ritz, I think that it provided value for money accommodation for our visit to Malta. First the good points about the hotel. The sea view rooms have a great view of the harbour, the rooms are clean and house keeping is very efficient, the reception staff are friendly and helpful, the location is near the harbour ferry for the short crossing to Valletta. Now the not so good points, The sea view rooms are not sound proofed and the traffic noise from the 4 lane road in front of the building can be quite disturbing, a light sleeper may struggle with the noise. The apartment isn't really an apartment it is a just a split hotel room. It does have a cooker but that consists of two hotplates with no grill or oven so you cant really prepare a meal there and the hot plate is adjacent to the sink so there is no work surface upon which you could even make a sandwich. The cooker/sink combo is in the corner of a the room which is furnished with a small sofa and a two seat table. The apartments are fine as hotel rooms but I would caution against them if you are intending to self cater. The bathroom was kept clean but the shower was a bit of a problem as it was quite small and the head was damaged so water shot out in every direction. Breakfast was ok bearing in mind that this is a 3 star hotel, a small selection of highly processed ham & salami, breads and jams, fruit salad and yogurt, coffee and fruit based juices, beans and boiled eggs. The rooftop restaurant is a pleasant place to start the day and the staff are friendly and attentive.
Overall, this place is a value for money hotel, it is not in a beach resort area but it is pretty close to Valleta, a 10minute 1.50Euro ferry ride across the harbour. There are a few restaurants in the vicinity. I don't think I would have wanted to spend a holiday based here but for a short break value for money hotel it served its purpose fine.

Room Tip: I would only stay in a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtovisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Dear Guest

We really appreciate the time you've taken to give us feedback on your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for your lovely comments we apologise if the stay was not to your full expectations.

We at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites do our utmost to ensure our guests are comfortable in their rooms, in fact we have just renovated the whole hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again on your next trip to Malta.

Kind regards

Bridget Bonavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Accommodation was reasonably priced but the high wifi costs (9 euros a day) offset this for those who need internet access. The rooms are not very well cleaned (the bathroom sink was not cleaned at all during my two week stay). There was a safety issue with a plug directly above a cooking hob - I was concerned that if other guests were not careful, fires could easily start by someone leaving a hob on and having a wire trailing over it. There are currently building renovations going on which meant drills and hammers beginning at 8am which is not what I wanted during a Christmas break. At least starting the work a few hours later would have been more considerate. There was also a large family with 3 small children across the hall who I could hear screaming and running around all day and night. Of course the hotel can't help this, but I had trouble sleeping a lot during the two weeks I was there. I mentioned these problems to the manager and he offered to allow me to change rooms.

On the plus side, it's a good location and the staff are all very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, because internal rooms have windows onto courtyards with very little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleepless975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 December 2016
Dear Guest

We really appreciate the time you've taken to give us feedback on your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for your lovely comments we apologise if the stay was not to your full expectations.

We at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites do our utmost to ensure our guests are comfortable in their rooms, in fact we have just renovated the whole hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again on your next trip to Malta.

Kind regards

Bridget Bonavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,528 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

My room was around 10th floor so there were no trouble for noises mentioned in others' comments. The only concern was the key of the balcony was broken and I concerned intruders during my absence in the room. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful. I think this apartment was good performance on cost.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YacchanAmarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with the best service possible and I am glad to know that you experienced just that. I'm sure that the rest of our team will be delighted to read such a great review.

It would be a pleasure to host you once again in the near future at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites as we have also renovated the property.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olofstrom, Sweden
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

this hotel was ok, wifi costs a lot, while 2 meters from it there is a hotel with free wifi without a password, so stay in front of the hotel and use wifi. breakfast isnt so special, staff will keep cleaning while you eat, they seem to have so much to do and never stop working around you. the room i got had a very ugly view, all in all the location was good, but the welcome drink is only the local coke called kinnie which is disgusting, they will not let you chose another drink, my advise, take the drink and spill it in the sink in front of them.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
115owner, Public Relations Manager at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Madame,

Thanks for your review, your comments are very important to us.

I am surprised to hear your comments about our staff.

We have several options regarding WIFI pacakages , which are reasonably priced .

WIFI ONLY :- 9.50 daily - Or WIFI, TV , MOVIES for 12.50 per day.

Intenent Cafe 3.00 for 90min.

In regard to the Welcome Drink offered - I am surprised that you did not like our local drink KINNIE - and it is also very sad to hear that you recommend wasting this drink.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumbulgum, Australia
Level Contributor
312 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel via Agoda with a sea view room for $30 AUD, breakfast $6.50AUD each, internet 1st device $11AUD, 2nd device $3.50AUD per day. Great location, no parking on site, you have to park on the street, heaps of bars, restaurants, public transport, mini market for food, water, etc. Clean, great value and friendly staff

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with the best service possible and I am glad to know that you experienced just that. I'm sure that the rest of our team will be delighted to read such a great review.

It would be a pleasure to host you once again in the near future at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites as we have also renovated the property.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was really a last minute trip. Booked on Monday 21st to arrive Wednesday 23rd. Booked direct with the hotel. They responded in minutes and confirmed shortly afterwards. From their response we booked a taxi from the airport due to our late arrival. Again, confirmed immediately. On arrival at the airport the taxi was waiting. The hotel were great when we arrived. The room with sea view was just what we wanted. It was good to wake up to the next morning. We had breakfast every day and it was good and varied. The dining room staff were very friendly and sitting outside overlooking the bay was a pleasure. The room was very clean and everything was changed every day. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The TV was useful for catching up with the news and the deposit was not a problem for the specialised remote control. The two shops attached to the hotel, BooknBites and gift shop are good and have a good selection of all you will need. Gifts, snacks and a nice coffee to drink outside and watch the world go by. There is a sightseeing stand across the road run by Caroline who is very helpful and will keep you right on the best tours and local attractions. She really knows her stuff. All in all it was a great long weekend and I look forward to going back to Malta and will definitely stay at this hotel. Full marks to all at 115 The Strand. The Wi-Fi worked well.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with the bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 19 December 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with the best service possible and I am glad to know that you experienced just that. I'm sure that the rest of our team will be delighted to read such a great review.

It would be a pleasure to host you once again in the near future at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites as we have also renovated the property.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.2 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
1.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites

Property: 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Address: 115 The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1027, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites is perfectly situated on the Sliema Seafront, close to various bus stops and the Sliema Ferries, allowing easy access to some of Malta's hot spots. What's more, this superior three star hotel is within walking distance of Sliema Centre Shopping hub and the Sliema promenade which is very popular for its cafes, restaurants, shops and bars to relax and soak up the sun. Enjoy browsing the web free of charge in our medium sized lobby which offers a 24 hour reception desk, or enjoy a snack and a coffee served from our café between eight in the morning up to late in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
115 The Strand Aparthotel Hotel Il Gzira
115 The Strand Sliema
115 The Strand Hotel Sliema
115 The Strand Hotel And Suites Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing