We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOISE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We last stayed at 115 The Strand about 4 years ago,and had a great time BUT we have just returned last night from this same hotel and have been bitterly disappointed. We have had 5 nights there, 4 of which were without sleep. This was due to lots of ignorant, ill- mannered Italien students who used the hotel as a playground. It was only after threatening to call the police, that we got a nights sleep.The next day, one lot went back home to be replaced by another horde of morons. The owners of this establishment should think about the clientele it wants. The teachers of these children had no control of their little darlings and were quite happy for them to run riot well into the early hours (4am). So, if you want a hotel that is reasonably clean, reasonably priced, with adequate food and you are COMPLETELY STONE DEAF, then this is the place for you!

P.S. Health and safety could be an issue because of the gaps underneath the bedroom doors that would allow smoke to enter the bed rooms.

Room Tip: Any room with EARPLUGS.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
115owner, Manager at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Dear Sir / Madame,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We would like to inform you that from 2016 the hotel is now completley refurbished and freshly desgined.

Should you consider to return to Malta, we would be happy to welcome you again at the 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites to exceed your expectations.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,267)
There are newer reviews for 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

The hotel is well situated and 30 seconds from bus stops for just about anywhere.As a single I had an internal room with a double bed in a room only big enough for a single bed, making it very claustrophobic. the room was cleaned to a good standard, with fresh towels daily.
I had reported a broken drawer which was repaired immediately, the staff were polite and obliging.
If this hotel had better facilities for those who like a comfortable lounge in which to relax in the evening, this would have made up for the disappointing room, as it happens the are many hotel nearby with this little extra.
I am a lover of good food so may I suggest like-minded travellers to only book the "Bed and Breakfast" option.
The Gzira / Sliema area is always a nice location, being so close to Valletta, and having sunshine everyday in February only enhances any winter stay in Malta.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrotherTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
115owner, General Manager at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review,

Glad to read your praising to our staff who work very hard to give our guests the best possible experience once in our Hotel.

It is important to note that 115 The Strand Aparthotel offers different type of rooms, including Harbour View.

Our foyer In the reception area is decorated in a very cozy atmosphere .

There is also a public area TV ,which in house guest can use.

we also we have sofas were you can relax and read a book from our library which is suited on 6th floor floor.

Regards

Sebastiano Romeo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I travelled to Malta in the February half term with partner and daughter (8y). We had not been to Malta and took a chance on the Hotel, which turned out to be a bargain. We paid just under £100 for bed & breakfast for a week for all three of us, and certainly would not complain.
We arrived an hour before we could get into our room so left our cases and went for a walk and a coffee along Sliema Harbour promenade. On our return to the hotel unfortunately it was at the same time as around 30 Italian language students, so it was a fight to get to the desk to get the keys to the room!
The room was lovely, clean (and cleaned every day with clean towels each day), basic and great for the base we intended it to be. There was a sofa bed for my daughter and two singles for partner and myself. The walk in shower was large and had obviously been re decorated recently.
The breakfast was fine, a mix of continental hams/salami, breads, egg, beans, sausage etc., yogurt, muesli & cornflakes.
The restaurant is on the top floor (8th) and has an amazing view from the outside dining area.
On the was back down in the lift on the second day, the lift opened at the 6th and 5th floor. We had heard some banging as we were getting ready in the morning, but hadn’t realised that the entire 6th and 5th floor was gutted, the windows were out and it resembled a builders yard. If it hadn’t been for the lift opening at these floors we would have been unaware of the extent of the renovations. There was obviously some noise from around 8am but we were up and getting ready to go out for the day so this wasn’t a problem for us. The staff had done a fantastic job of keeping the floors that were being used clean and tidy. We were on the 7th floor.
during the week we went on a 3 harbour cruise - amazing views of Valetta. North trip on the open top hop on hop off bus, stopping at the Glass factory where we watched the glassware being made, and then into the craft village. We went to Valletta on a few occasions and to Mdina both of which were fab. We walked miles around the coastline during the week which was a great experience.
Hotel pros & cons
Pros: The staff in the restaurant were very helpful and friendly especially Maurizio.
The hotel was in a fabulous location with amazing views.
The rooms were clean and tidy.
Cons: An amount of noise through the day whilst renovations were taking place.
The mirror was nowhere near the electric socket, making it somewhat difficult for drying/styling hair.
The view from the back of the building (our balcony) wasn’t pleasing to the eye unlike the front, but just a minor comment not a complaint.

Room Tip: If at all possible ask for a room at the front of the building to take advantage of the views of the...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dippys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with the best service possible and I am glad to know that you experienced just that. I'm sure that the rest of our team will be delighted to read such a great review.

It would be a pleasure to host you once again in the near future at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites as we have also renovated the property.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I booked a long week-end on a budget to go and meet a friend who lived there.
The room was acceptable, though a bit noisy with foot traffic late evening.
Breakfast was included and there was a variety on offer, all you can eat basis.
I had no complaints until the very end.
I asked for and booked a taxi to the airport but it was a surly staff member who took me in what i think was his own car.
If this was the case the hotel should review this practice, as the taxi i got from the airport on arrival was a very pleasant introduction to the island, with a very talkative and informative local professional taxi driver. The return journey in the hotel staff members own car was disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ODear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear Guest

We really appreciate the time you've taken to give us feedback on your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for your lovely comments we apologise if the stay was not to your full expectations.

We at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites do our utmost to ensure our guests are comfortable in their rooms, in fact we have just renovated the whole hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again on your next trip to Malta.

Kind regards

Bridget Bonavia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

he Strand first asked for a deposit weeks after taking the booking, it's web site indicated that all apartments had sea views. On our arrival 6pm on the Sunday evening the apartment that we were allocated had only 1 window facing other rooms the only light coming from a 6 foot square of sky at the top of this tunnel. The hotel could not offer us an upgrade until the Wednesday. We accepted the room on this understanding. On the Monday we was disturbed at 10pm when between 50 to 70 Italian students (aged 15 - 19) arrived at the hotel and started screaming and running around the hotel. After about an hour the noise continued I went to reception and complained their leaders and the receptionist explained that they had just arrived and would get the students to quieten down. 45mins later the noise continued, another trip to the desk to complain was greeted by a disturbed receptionist who agreed to call security who tried to quieten down the noise for a short while it was peaceful until it started again, and continued into the early hours of the morning. In the morning I spoke to the manager who apologised and explained that they had just arrived, I said that over 2 hours to get settled in was unacceptable, especially as the hotel had signs asking guests to keep noise down. This in it's self was a bit of a joke when the builders start banging at 8am till 4pm.
After speaking to the On The Beach Rep the hotel managed to find us an upgrade on the Tuesday which cost a further 15 euros a night. This was not a problem as the apartment had stunning views over the harbour, more importantly there was another room between the bedroom and the corridor where the students seem to congregate knocking on each other doors at all times of the night and early hours of the morning. From talking to other guests, staff we found out that the students are staying at this hotel and others in the area regularly as there is a scheme where the Maltese government offer benefits to the hotels to take these students.
On a plus the staff at the hotel were always pleasant. However a
I would warn any visitors to the Strand 115 to double check all booking details before booking and to find out if there are any students staying at the hotel during your stay and if the building work is still in progress.

Room Tip: Check if there are any students staying at the hotel before booking, and book a room in the front of...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baylodgePenzance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Thank you very much for taking your time to review your experiences.

We are very sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. I will pass on all your comments to the prospective departments so that we can work out all the issues mentioned in your review.

We do hope that we are given another opportunity to proof a better service especially since we have recently renovated our hotel.

Thanks & Regards,

Bridget Bonavia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I took a short break in Malta from 25th Feb to 1st March 2014 and stayed at 115 The Strand Hotel Sliema.
The Hotel is very well situated with the Med. just across the street from the Hotel entrance which allows you to walk safely in any direction.
The Hotel room was neither large or small but was very clean with comfortable beds and a flat screen tv. BUT it was mostly a PAY TV system (BBC news was free) The bathroom was also very well cleaned but not well maintained -- there were 3 light bulbs above the mirror 1 was on 2 were out when this was pointed out to the chamber maid she said she would report it (nothing happened) I went to the desk and reported it the receptionist noted it in her book but nothing was done the bulbs were NOT replaced during my 5 night stay.
The worst aspect of this hotel is the dining room especially at breakfast its chaos not a great selection of food queues at every station lack of basic equipment -- spoons knives forks plates etc etc.
The worst thing about it was the Tea / Coffee machine which seemed to always be breaking down or if working poured the water out past the cup on one side and the milk out past the other side. By trying to move the cup you might have got half a cup of tea and to try to fill it up again you had to repeat the process which caused a queue and with little space everything else was affected -- Orange juice Water cups etc etc all in a small space.
In my opinion this is a BUDGET hotel with upgrading of floor 5 in progress which meant workmen chipping walls at 7-30 in the morning and workmen with wheelbarrows in the lifts trying to move floor tiles ect from ground floor up to floor 5 and with lifts that only held 4 people at a time it was awful during peak periods
One redeeming factor was the 8th floor breakfast room had an outside eating area with a great view out over the harbour

Room Tip: Try floor 5 when upgrading is completed
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wingnut08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget B, Director of Sales at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear Guest

We really appreciate the time you've taken to give us feedback on your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for your lovely comments we apologise if the stay was not to your full expectations.

We at 115 the Strand Hotel & Suites do our utmost to ensure our guests are comfortable in their rooms, in fact we have just renovated the whole hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again on your next trip to Malta.

Kind regards

Bridget Bonavia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

First of all, the rooms are not like in the pictures, the difference between what we have booked and the truth is absolutely unacceptable...
Noises in the corridors until 3.30 o'clock in the morning...No reaction from the staff despite of complain.
The two lifts out of service for 2 hours...pleasant when your room is on the third level!
Terrible experience!!!

Room Tip: No good rooms !
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
115owner, Manager at 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Dear Sir / Madame,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We would like to inform you that from 2016 the hotel is now completley refurbished and freshly desgined.

Should you consider to return to Malta, we would be happy to welcome you again at the 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites to exceed your expectations.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,234 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,988 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites

Address: 115 The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1027, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range: £29 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites is perfectly situated on the Sliema Seafront, close to various bus stops and the Sliema Ferries, allowing easy access to some of Malta's hot spots. What's more, this superior three star hotel is within walking distance of Sliema Centre Shopping hub and the Sliema promenade which is very popular for its cafes, restaurants, shops and bars to relax and soak up the sun. Enjoy browsing the web free of charge in our medium sized lobby which offers a 24 hour reception desk, or enjoy a snack and a coffee served from our café between eight in the morning up to late in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your 115 The Strand Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
115 The Strand Aparthotel Hotel Il Gzira
115 The Strand Sliema
115 The Strand Hotel Sliema
115 The Strand Hotel And Suites Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing