We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Salisbury
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't do it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed here because we booked through Airmiles in 2011. Whilst we were prepared for dated decor, this hotel was not only difficult to find but disappointing. We came out of season & parking was very limited. Our stay here was the blot on an otherwise lovely trip to Malta. We were very thankful it was just one night.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JenCSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    56
    73
    46
    40
See reviews for
23
103
42
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Englland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We were very disappointed with the standard of this hotel, our main problem was no air conditioning.When we booked this hotel earlier in the year it was described as having air condtioning in every room. Now there has been a disclaimer in this hotels advert to say only ceiling fans are now provided. These were far from adequate, noisey and useless. We asked for another fan which was provided but it was like sleeping in a wind tunnel. After two sleepless nights as the temperatures in the evening were 24degrees plus we managed to book into the Park Hotel just down the road which was lovely it was like another world. Thankgoodness this move managed to salvage our holiday which we eventually enjoyed.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank superdupergran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

There sat an extremely bad-tempered old man at the reception. When we checked in, he threw the room key over to us. The air conditioner was broken. It was very hot and humid in Malta, the guest staying next door was sleeping on the balcony. There are army style beds and lumpy sofa bed in the room. In the bathroom without bathtub, we couldn't find shampoo. After we bought shampoo and body shampoo, no soap at all. They didn't clean up coffee cups and garbage can. When we asked laundry service on Tuesday, they promised laundry would be returned by Wednesday, but we could only get them back on Friday afternoon. When we complained, a person who seems to be the owner made an excuse that a woman who we asked the laundry had made a mistake but there was no apology at all. At breakfast, eggs and yogurt were charged. This hotel does not have the "hospitality" that should be offered at any hotel. Our stay in Malta was destroyed by this unbelivable hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hidetoooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

This was the third time I have stayed at this Hotel, located in a prime position on the Sliema seafront with beautiful sea views, swimming from the rocks opposite and diving school on the doorstep.not five star accomodation but clean comfortable rooms with crisp white sheets and plenty of hot water. Staff were very helpful and friendly and I wouldn,t hesitate to recommend the Roma to anyone looking for an affordable holiday. Excellent restaraunt kiosks with open air tables a stones throw away, especially the Tanti Palmiere where the service was swift and the food excellent. Hard to fault the area, Hotel or eating places nearby and I will be booking again for October 2011.

Room Tip: any of the rooms with a seaview would be my choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AliBali53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

Good points:
Very cheap at this time of year - other guests mainly language students.
Spacious room. Balcony with sea view.
Manager pleasant and helpful so we did not like to complain too much.
Bad points:
Balcony right on busy, noisy street had a large crack in the walls.
Rubbish piled up on car park opposite hotel never moved.
Tiny bathroom. Shower with plastic curtain that stuck to your body! Poor quality fittings, paintwork etc. Frankly grubby.
'Double' bed was 2 singles pushed together.
Kettle socket not live and tea, coffee etc not provided.
TV had a 2 pin plug shoved into a 3 pin socket!
Breakfast dull - 2 types cereal, cheese and ham, bread and jam.
Surly reception staff (not Maltese) who clearly resented any requests or complaints.
Cold water went off 2 evenings running so you could not flush the loo!
At this point we checked out early - stayed 3 nights instead of 8. Moved to Paradise Bay Hotel which was fine.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkOma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

Arrived late to an "inside room". Hot and airless, first light showed window opened into a noisy alley. Room smells so ask for alternative, moved to a balcony room at 10e extra. Great view but HOT. Little air movement even with balcony door open. Hotel designed for aircon but it is broken so replaced with ceiling fan. Staff friendly, breakfast OK but this Hotel does not deserve 2 stars let alone the 3 Bellair (Air Malta) claim. Stay somewhere (anywhere) else. Oh yes, if you do arrive very late the entrance is the unmarked door between the 2 restraunts, The lighted sign has broken.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PN-m0prn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

After reading reviews I didn't expect much from this hotel,and wasn't sure to book it or not.Now I wish I hadn't! Room quite basic,with safe box ,which was broken and no use of it at all. There was kettle with cups,but no coffee or tea or anything. Bathroom interior looked out of date and worn with 2 small pieces of soap only on arrival day,they weren't replaced for the rest of my stay,had to go to reception to request them. And upon check-in I was asked to leave key whenever I would go out,what I didn't do anyway,cause it could be very inconvienant! Sea view from balcony looked good and even better on the day of departure!
I am coming back to Malta some time next year but DEFINATELY won't be staying in hotel Roma ever again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
Astra Hotel
Astra Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sliema Chalet Hotel
Sliema Chalet Hotel
#18 of 29 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#16 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sliema Hotel
Sliema Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Property: Hotel Roma
Address: Ghar il-Lenbi Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1562, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Sliema
Hotel Roma Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing