We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't do it!!!”
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Don't do it!!!”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The worst hotel of my life!
Service - bad
Rooms - disgusting
Facilities - sub standard

It was so bad both me and my friend cried on our first night of a 2 week holiday. So, in the morning, we did the sensible thing in our desperation - moved to a proper hotel (albeit expensive, had no choice as only thing available at the time).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bengalitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    57
    73
    50
    41
See reviews for
23
109
42
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This hotel is sub standard. The lift was slow and had a mind of its own. The first room we were given, despite a sea-view was not up to standard in anyway. The bathroom was tiny and cramped, the shower was poor, the hot water luke warm at any time apart from first thing in the morning.The replacement room was bigger but had no comfortable chairs to sit in and like the first room. the bathroom frankly was inadequate and the shower curtains in both were old and shabby.
The breakfast was adequate and made pleasurable only by the friendly staff
This was the first holiday together for my partner and myself and it was very nearly completely ruined by the poor hotel.
It is, in my opinion, more of a hostel than a hotel. It is not even a Premier /Travel Lodge standard
However, whilst all the above comments are personal views and are subjective, there is one point that is not.

NOWHERE in all the blurb does it say that this hotel is not suitable for disabled people. This is a MAJOR OMISSION and possibly even against any trades description acts that apply.

To enter the hotel, you have to go up one flight of stairs to reception. There is an alternative entrance, up about 4 steps into a restaurant and then through a narrow doorway to where the lift doors are. The lift is small & narrow and can only take 3 people. If someone used crutches or a wheel chair then the hotel quite frankly is inaccessible.
LoCost holidays need to sort out their advertising blurb

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyC1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We spent Christmas eve there. Our room was spacious and clean but very basic. There was a TV with a kettle and mugs. It is a budget hotel and we only paid €38 (last minute special) for bed and breakfast (continental) so we could not ask for more. It is well situated and there are restaurants and bars within walking distance. In fact there is a restaurant right on the doorstep which you have to go through to get to the very slow and small lift to take you up to reception. The breakfast area had a sea view and the staff were friendly. You may want to request a sea facing room if you book early enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adeline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Fairly decent accommodation for its price, with friendly staff. However, no sign of Fire Doors anywhere in the building, meaning the single stairway and adjacent lift would be a good chimmney in the event of a fire.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

A budget hotel (49euros a night) but for this you get a clean room with TV, fan and balcony (sea view). there is no air con, so open the windows and let the fan do the work. Rooms are cleaned every day and fernch towels provided. Staff could not have been more helpful and I would certainly return. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, who gave good advice on place to eat. Great location for buses, restaurants and shopping. It's not a luxurious hotel, but if you want somewhere clean and comfortable to stay: this is it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or sea view. There are five rooms on floors 2 -8. Ask for rooms endi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We were on a diving course in Early May 2012 for 2 weeks and wanted a place to stay in Sliema.

It was exceptionally hot about 26C during our visit

We were paying about £20 a night for a room with an ensuite, kettle, fridge and breakfast included.

The rooms were clean, the bed is made every day, fresh towels and soap provided. There is no bath, only a shower,which is a base with a plastic shower curtain. I am well built and there is not a lot of room in the shower however there was pleanty of hot water.

There is no air conditioning however there is a ceiling fan, which we used to put on to max.

You need to provide your own tea or coffee for your room, which was not a problem. The cups are cleaned by the maid

The dining room is on the first floor with a balcony where you can have breakfast and look out over the sea. There is plenty of fresh bread, ham, cheese, orange juice and tea or coffee.

There is also WiFi in the dining room and you can sometimes access it from your room.

The staff are friendly and very helpful in terms of assisting you regarding trips, taxis and place to eat.

When we were leaving he had an early start and the taxi turned up 15 minutes early. The reception staff fearing thet we would miss our flight when up to the room to ensure we were up and ready.

The hotel is in an excellant location in Sliema, with bars and eating places within walking distance.

It is NOT the Hilton however for what you pay it is clean and excellent value. Thanks to the staff for making our stay pleasant and enjoyable

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FINLMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Just back from great week in Malta stayed at the Roma first class service and very friendly and helpful, would recommend this to anyone looking for value for money accommodation , we had a room with a sea view and balcony, plenty of coffee and fresh bread for breakfast, first class!!!! Rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and beds made. Would'nt hesitate to return!!! Steve and Julie Norfolk

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
Astra Hotel
Astra Hotel
#21 of 28 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sliema Chalet Hotel
Sliema Chalet Hotel
#19 of 28 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#13 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sliema Hotel
Sliema Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Property: Hotel Roma
Address: Ghar il-Lenbi Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1562, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Sliema
Hotel Roma Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing