We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights from the moment walking in to the moment we walked out the staff were so polite and nice. The room was tidy, there was clean towels and bedding. We didn't have a balcony but you can use the one in the dining room, which had a lovely view of the sea. We only stayed bed and breakfast but the breakfast was nice and the service good. We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marinerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    56
    72
    46
    40
See reviews for
23
103
42
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

I'm going to be fair with this review. We picked a cheap hotel and so expected a certain standard and quality. We booked four nights there but unfortunately couldn't stay the full four nights as the bed linen absolutely stunk of cigarette smoke. It was really off putting, I woke up in the middle of the night almost choking. I understand smoking is normal in hotels but it did make me wonder if the sheets had been washed. I also managed (in the freak weather Malta was experiencing) to get the only midge in Malta! I got bitten 16 times that night! The room would suit a group of 20 some things wanting somewhere to rest their heads after a hard night drinking it was just unfortunate that I was not that. Nothing against the hotel and the restaurant underneath was actually one of the best places I ate whilst in Sliema (reviewed elsewhere). Maybe a lick of paint to brighten it up and some air fresheners??

Room Tip: get a room on a lower level. Maybe non smoking if they do them. And let them know if room doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenar0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

What should one expect from a 3 star hotel?
Human sized bed? Helpful staff? Clean main room and bathroom? A bar of soap in it? Working lighting? This is something so basic that every hotel, even the uncategorised ones must have. Alas, Roma does not. It will forever be a mystery how they got those stars.
They may advertise as a budget hotel, but are nowhere near that level. Not unless budget is Maltese word for crap. I was unlucky enough and had to stay for six nights :( If not for the great company I had, it would have been the worst trip of my life.

Not to end a review in negative tone, I'll mention the only redeeming quality of this hotel. Its location is good :)

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Good budget hotel at good place. Dont expect too lot for this price. Refrigerator, heater, electric kettle. Breakfasts are ok. Stuff ok. Wifi at reception. The bus stop around the corner. A lot of restaurants and shops nearby. We loved the mornigs with the rising sun during breakfast. /Hopro_prg

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

we recently returned from malta having stayed at this budget hotel
i admit i was worried if it would be suitable.
however for the price and facilitites we were amazed!
the breakfast was good and although the room was basic there was heating and the beds were comfortable.
its close proximilty to all the amenities in malta made it very handy
i would recommend it and would stay there again

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vhyde03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

The worst hotel of my life!
Service - bad
Rooms - disgusting
Facilities - sub standard

It was so bad both me and my friend cried on our first night of a 2 week holiday. So, in the morning, we did the sensible thing in our desperation - moved to a proper hotel (albeit expensive, had no choice as only thing available at the time).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bengalitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

This hotel is sub standard. The lift was slow and had a mind of its own. The first room we were given, despite a sea-view was not up to standard in anyway. The bathroom was tiny and cramped, the shower was poor, the hot water luke warm at any time apart from first thing in the morning.The replacement room was bigger but had no comfortable chairs to sit in and like the first room. the bathroom frankly was inadequate and the shower curtains in both were old and shabby.
The breakfast was adequate and made pleasurable only by the friendly staff
This was the first holiday together for my partner and myself and it was very nearly completely ruined by the poor hotel.
It is, in my opinion, more of a hostel than a hotel. It is not even a Premier /Travel Lodge standard
However, whilst all the above comments are personal views and are subjective, there is one point that is not.

NOWHERE in all the blurb does it say that this hotel is not suitable for disabled people. This is a MAJOR OMISSION and possibly even against any trades description acts that apply.

To enter the hotel, you have to go up one flight of stairs to reception. There is an alternative entrance, up about 4 steps into a restaurant and then through a narrow doorway to where the lift doors are. The lift is small & narrow and can only take 3 people. If someone used crutches or a wheel chair then the hotel quite frankly is inaccessible.
LoCost holidays need to sort out their advertising blurb

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyC1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
Astra Hotel
Astra Hotel
#24 of 29 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sliema Chalet Hotel
Sliema Chalet Hotel
#18 of 29 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sliema Hotel
Sliema Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#16 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Property: Hotel Roma
Address: Ghar il-Lenbi Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1562, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Sliema
Hotel Roma Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing