We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AN EXCELLENT START TO OUR GOLDEN WEDDING CELEBRATIONS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AN EXCELLENT START TO OUR GOLDEN WEDDING CELEBRATIONS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We were staying at the Palace to start celebrating our Golden Wedding. Although we know Malta well we had not stayed at this hotel before. We found the staff very friendly, polite and professional and we are extremely pleased with our stay. The food was of good quality and more than sufficient with 3 broad choices of venue coupled with varied menus and wine lists.
Our air-conditioned room was large and well furnished with doors leading onto balcony which provided panoramic views over Sliema and the mediterranean. An off-hand remark by a serious member of staff said that this is the best hotel in Malta, in our experience this comment sums up our own experiences.

Room Tip: Speak to Hotel management direct but higher floors avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephineS148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,929
    924
    280
    78
    29
See reviews for
425
1,981
135
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (961)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Got bumped to the Palace hotel for two nights due to overbooking at Le Meridien. Arrived late evening after dark and first impressions of the room ( number 439) were good, in that it was nicely furnished although too small for a five - or even a three star- hotel. The air conditioning turned out to be very noisy which did not make for a good nights sleep. The real surprise came the next morning when we realised just how dark and dismal the room was. the windows fronted on to an enclosed atrium almost entirely devoid of daylight, requiring the room light to be on at all times. This meant that the curtains had to be closed if any privacy was required e.g when getting changed etc. Upon checking the floor plan, it also transpired that the room was approximately half the size of any other room. We were very unhappy with the room and spent the absolute minimum of time there. As we were already required to move hotel after two nights we decided not to request an additional room change and we also understood that there were no other rooms available.

The rest of the hotel was great. Really enjoyed the infinity pool on the roof and the asian restaurant was really special. All in all, this could have been a very enjoyable stay, but certainly not possibe in room 439 (or the equivalent room on each floor) My advice - do NOT accept it.

Room Tip: Do not accept any room ending in 39 or indeed any room facing into the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Here for a work/academic trip very recently. Sliema - indeed much of Malta, is pretty built-up, and if you are looking for the real Mediterranean island beach experience, Sliema is probably not the place to stay. However, if staying in Malta for business, or as part of a 'two-centre' trip - eg Sliema/Valetta + Gozo, the Palace is ideal. My room was large, with a great bed, free internet access, decent TV, nice bathroom - all the 'usuals', which sadly are not always so 'usual', judging by my recent European travel experiences.
Reception staff were very helpful, and an early breakfast on the Terrace, opposite a lovely old church, takes a bit of beating. Infinity pool on the roof is small, and probably not the place for a day's sun-bathing, but fantastic for an end of day wind-down after sightseeing or working.
Location - a few minutes' walk from the Sliema 'front', with smart shops, and the Valetta ferry, boat-trip departure points, is great.
Would certainly stay there again if the opportunity arose.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room higher up - for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewickChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Returned a week ago from this hotel after a great 7 day stay. The hotel is beautiful, and lives up to its 5 star status. You won't find friendlier or more helpful staff anywhere, everyone from the reception staff, restaurant staff, concierge & housekeeping/cleaning are a credit to this hotel. The food is first class and the rooms are excellent. Although situated in a commercial/residential area, it is only a short walk to the harbour with its shops, bars & restaurants. Hopefully, we will be fortunate enough to return to the Palace soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed at The Palace in October last year, but there was no discussion where to stay when we are next in Sliema – The Palace of course, where we will be next month
Our first stay was made all the more enjoyable by the helpfulness of the staff, from management downwards.
Reception staff in particular were helpful in booking theatre tickets, taxis and recommending places to visit etc, nothing was ever too much trouble.
We would recommend requesting a room on a high floor for the best views. Our room was spacious and modern with the most comfortable beds we have ever come across. Hotel definitely deserves its 5 star rating.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We have just come home from our third stay at The Palace. We agree with the last Reviewer – it is a very sophisticated and serene environment to stay in.

It was lovely to see the same staff again, to receive the same welcome on our arrival and to experience the same quality of service throughout our stay.

They have also maintained the same consistent standard of cleanliness and facilities – in the rooms, bar, pool and restaurants.

Similar to our previous visits, we felt very well taken care of during our stay. We left feeling refreshed and restored – everything we want from a hotel break.

The more we explore and travel around Malta the more we are convinced The Palace is in the best location – not directly on the sea front, but in a peaceful town setting with interesting views yet still only few minutes from the sea, shops, transport and restaurants.

From conversations with staff and management over several stays we are impressed how the Palace team carry out their work and service with integrity. They are always willing to do the most they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

And we also discovered during this stay a delightful family run restaurant called L’Artist in Triq Tigne (not too far away from the hotel) which serves excellent rib-eye steaks and local fresh fish.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roncas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed in The Palace from 22nd till 25th of September 2011 and were generally happy with the hotel. They have a lovely roof terrace with an infinity pool and a view of the sea.
However I would not say it is a 5-star hotel.
The service was uneven - excellent by majority but chaotic, even if well meaning, by others. The rooms were very nice and the breakfast was ok. But the food was appalling - do not eat lunch or supper there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiirik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
9.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing