We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Palace Hotel Sliema Malta”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This is the third time I have stayed at the hotel and each time the experience has improved.
Good sized rooms, attentive staff, good food served in lovely surroundings. The Asian restaurant is especially superb with wonderful views. The swimming pool is a delight with lovely views.
Alec

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards Valetta especially wonderful in the evening when sitting on the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alec2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,435 - 2,441 of 3,595 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

The hotel misses out on a true 5 star rating on some minor issues, but the staff are among the best I have encountered anywhere in the world. Everyone was consistently polite, helpful and charming, which makes such a difference. We were in the hotel for a week and would not have had such a great time without their help.

The hotel has two pools, indoor and outdoor, steam room and sauna all very well maintained. The outdoor pool on the 9th floor is an infinity pool with stunning views over Sliema. There is also the TemptAsian restaurant on this floor which is excellent. Unfortunately the waiters in Malta dont seem to be trained very well and have a very laid back approach to serving you, but the food is well worth it. Be warned that portions in Malta are enormous, one starter between two is more than enough and main courses are generally huge too. We shared the set meal for two and were struggling to eat it all.

The breakfast at the Hotel is outstanding, all tastes are catered for and they ring the changes on a daily basis, I havent seen a better buffet selection anywhere.

The lounge bar and small restaurant are also very pleasant with a nice outdoor terrace.

The rooms are very spacious and the beds comfortable. The wardrobes are built for midgets though and if you are there for a formal do and have a long dress and suit you will have nowhere to hang them. There is almost no noise between rooms, but the big downside is the bells. The Hotel is located by 3 churches and the bells go off every 15 minutes out of synch, so at midnight you get 36 chimes. If you sleep with the window open you will struggle to get a good nights sleep. If you have the window closed then you have the central air con which sounds like a low flying jet, but is the easier option for sleeping.

The Hotel location is great within easy walking distance of the sea, shops, restaurants, etc.

There is free internet access in the lobby. To have it in your room is very pricey, but sometimes they may give you a complimentary voucher.

I dont understand why Hotels do not do themselves a favour on the goodwill front by providing arriving guests with a bottle of water free of charge, it costs almost nothing to do, 10 cents max, but they insist instead on charging 4 euros for a bottle of water dated 4/12/09! So annoying, anyway just walk 50 meters down the road and you can buy a 2 litre bottle for 80 cents.


Overall the hotel was excellent, the staff outstanding and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the bells
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shrillyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Great hotel in a very convenient position. Room was large and well-equiped. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I like to thanks Sylvain Azzopardi, Events & Banqueting Manager, for the professional way he organized this wedding at The Palazzo Capua Hall.
Excellent & friendly service, with very good quality food Presentation.
Highly recommend,
Alex Spiteri

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1alexs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We really had a greta weekend break, enjoying delicious bfast and nice time at the top roof pool. We really enjoyed evenings at the top roof 360 Lounge....lovely drinks with great views. Thanks :)

Room Tip: Deluxe room was very nice and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisMicallef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We had a really lovely stay at this hotel. Back from the busy promenade yet close to everything. Staff were very pleasant. The highlight of our stay here was the rooftop restaurant 'TemptAsian'. Charles and the staff could not do enough for us and the food was out of this world! All of this for a very reasonable price so we would definately recommend a visit. We loved it so much, we went twice in 5 days! Finally, thanks to Martin at the rooftop pool lounge, he was very friendly and helpful and great with some local knowledge for us to explore. Steve and Denise from Chester.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

A friendly welcome when we arrived was repeated in all other aspects of the hotel. We were offered an upgrade to the room we were in since the room we had requested would result in looking over the central atrium of the hotel so not much daylight so we went for a room overlooking the town. Quiet room although the air conditioning did keep switching on and off every few seconds through the night. The double bed we had was made up of two single mattresses which was not too comfortable.
Breakfast was excellemt with a different menu each day for the cooked elements. Eating out on the patio was a delight even though you do sit alongside the street. A short walk down the steet brings you to the Sliema seafront with plenty of restauraunts. We did not eat in the resteraunt at night because of this. The La Cuccagna on Amery Street was excellent value and we even got a taste for the local liquor.

Room Tip: Eat at the La Cuccagna on Amery Street. Ask for rooms with an outside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajplap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,076 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,964 reviews
1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
1.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £76 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace is supplemented by six unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing