We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, could do better for a five star hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, could do better for a five star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We have stayed at this hotel before, on our last visit, the room we had was well located on the the 6th Floor, however the Aircon was not working in the room and the room temperature did not fall below 28 degrees C. We complained on three consecutive days, finally they changed the room, but not without somewhat of a fight.

The pool food was poor, soggy and over-cooked and expensive and not enough shaded seating.

However the views of sliema and Valletta are fabulous.

Room Tip: Ask for 6th Floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MHBlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,938
    925
    282
    78
    29
See reviews for
426
1,990
136
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Got a decent deal on this fine hotel and liked the stay very much. Hotel is not seafront but that doesn't matter when you see the views from the roof infinity pool! Hotel is situated on a quiet street across a chuch.and there is a grocery store just around the corner. You cannot hear any noice from the streets and other rooms. All the Sliema eateries are not far away.
The lobby and general areas are well cared for and you really feel like you are in a 5 star hotel. We had a superior room facing the sea. The room had a little balcony and plenty of room for two. The bathroom is open from the top which, at first, was a bit weird. The toilet itself is behind an other door so you get your privacy. Room had a bathtub and a separate shower. The shower is actually the only thing I could complain. You could really smell the mold from the shower stall and the fausets were all rusty. A 5 star hotel should not have these...
The food at the TempAsia restaurant at the roof is do die for! Defenately place to visit although a bit pricy. I still think it was worth every Euro! They have lot's of different orietal foods from shushi to Indian curries. The views from the restaurant over Sliema is as good as it can get. Fireworks topped the very nice dining experience. Also the bar at the street level is very nice. They even had real sugar cane spirits so Mohitos were as they should be.
The staff was helpfull and polite. We were early at the hotel so they gave us a room which was already ready for guests. It had an extra bed which we didn't need but it was removed as soon as we mentioned about it. The lady at the front desk preordered us a taxi to the airport the day before we were leaving. Everything went so smooth and easy.
This hotel is not for beach lovers but nore is Malta. We really enjoyed our stay there and would defenately go there again!

Room Tip: Get the rooms for top floors (4 and up). Only there you can get seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petri100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

The infinity pool is great during day and night. The top floor restaurant with Asian food selection is also worth checking out. This hotel was the first where no ear plugs were needed during nights which even raised the rating for this one. Our room shower was not so good, and it smelled quite badly when the air conditioning was not on, but maybe it was just this one room and this is the only minus side I found during our stay in June.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room from the sea side, there's a church very nearby on the city side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mepa_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Reservations Agent at The Palace, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at The Palace. We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your constructive comments on our services.

It is only through your feedback and suggestions that we keep improving our product to ensure expectations are met.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, we would like to thank you once again for helping us improve our product.

Yours sincerely,

Kenneth Fenech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Excellent hotel in Sliema on top of a hill. Great views from the rooftop swimming pool. Very good hotel restaurant, also with a great view and geat food. The themed rooms are very spacious and have balconies. In the winter the indoor pool is great and also has a sauna and steam room. Free wifi only in the reception area.

Room Tip: Don't go for the cheapest option, for a little bit more you get a great room. The rooms on the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Widya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Reservations Agent at The Palace, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Guests,

First and foremost thank you for posting your positive feedback about The Palace.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, you are encouraged to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. We will surely give our utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

Yours sincerely,

Kenneth Fenech
Reservations Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

The Palace hotel is a nice hotel. It has a lovely pool area on the top floor or the building, with really nice view of the city of Sliema. The rooms were nice but not 5-star. I feel that the hotel is perhaps living on old merits. I would rate this hotel 4 stars.

Generally The Palace crew need to work on the level of service. Especially the people by the pool area and in the hotel restaurants.

Room is noce and leaves space for an extra bed for a child. Balconies vary a lot! From being able to sit 4 - 6 people on the balcony to our, which was barely two people.

Ultimately a nice, decent hotel, but not five star.

Room Tip: You will need a view from the top floor, otherwise it will be into the surrounding houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annikajeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Reservations Agent at The Palace, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at The Palace. We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your constructive comments on our services.

It is only through your feedback and suggestions that we keep improving our product to ensure expectations are met.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, we would like to thank you once again for helping us improve our product.



Yours sincerely,

Kenneth Fenech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here for a night, then booked our 2nd night in another hotel in St. Julians which we regretted deeply. We should've stayed in The Palace.
It was a wonderful place, modern entrance, very friendly service and excellent service when we ended up with a twin room instead of the booked double. We got to choose from 4 other rooms when we asked if we could have another room.
The spa looked good, prices etc. We didn't have time unfortunately. There was a wedding on but that never bothered us. Comfy sleep.

Room Tip: They close their top floor when there are weddings on the rooftop. Which seems to be often in certai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmhermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Reservations Agent at The Palace, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to place some comments on our services.

We are glad to read we have met all of your expectations and we will keep doing our best so that we can keep improving to please all expectations.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, we would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Your Sincerely

Kenneth Fenech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarxien, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Wedding at Temptasian last week...food was delicious and different from most catering companies in Malta. Excellent setup of the venue both inside, outside and near the pool for the afterparty. The breathtaking view made the night even more magical. Service was brilliant as always. Stayed the night at the hotel and the rooms have all that you may need for a day! Breakfast good with a lot of selection! Visited the hotel many times, and I must say that I was never disappointed! Well done!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimtalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Reservations Agent at The Palace, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to place some comments on our services.

We are glad to read we have met all of your expectations and we will keep doing our best so that we can keep improving to please all expectations.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, we would like to thank you once again for your comments.



Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely,

Kenneth Fenech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
9.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing