We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Temptasia - sadly a disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Julian's, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Temptasia - sadly a disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Following recommendations we decided to spend the evening in the Temptasia restaurant, which is located at the top floor of the Palace Hotel. The view from up there is unrivaled but the overall experience we had tonight was unfortunately disappointing.

First of all, don't go there if you haven't reserved a table. Although there were plenty of tables unoccupied the entire evening we were told that there were no free seats for us in the dining area. So we were led to the lounge area and got our own little romantic gazebo with pretty couches, which was nice. However it was clear that we were not priority guests. That was how we felt the rest of the evening, which turned into the night because we waited more than an hour for our food. Furthermore, we were pretty much ignored most of the time and we spend quite some time with our glasses empty and nobody asking us wether we wanted more to drink. This is of course no major issue, however in a restaurant of such renown one would expect the personal to be more attentive.

The food was alright. The chicken was quite tasty but the rice tasted as if it had gone cold some time ago and was put into the microwave prior to serving it. The sizzled fish was partly burned. All in all the portions are very small for the money you pay and the time you have to wait. I must say, this experience was not the best we had in Malta. There are much nicer restaurants on the island that are worth a visit and are much less expensive. We will not return to Temptasia, sadly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,952
    940
    286
    78
    29
See reviews for
429
2,003
139
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (968)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We booked a couple of rooms at this hotel at the last minute via Travel Republic. Arrived with the three kids on a hot August evening and initial impressions were good - cool stylish reception which smelled delicious, and a cold drink offered whilst we waited. Only problem - no trace of our room booking and the hotel was completely full! Travel Republic uncontactable, the undaunted duty manager proceeded to phone round every hotel in Malta til he secured two adjoining rooms at 5* hotel, at a heavily discounted rate. He then hopped into his car to guide us to the other hotel. If this is the kind of service you get as a non-guest it must be great to stay there! We will definitely book again, but not via Travel Republic!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiddywrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I decided to organize a romantic day for my girlfriend and I choosed this hotel which has the most beautiful pool of Malta!!
I decided to get the package including food water and wine (95€ for two people) including the day by the pool, a private gazebo (have a look on the joint photos) and the lunch for two with sushi platters and the choice for the main and desert from the menu, that's really not expensive!
There we met a waiter name David who was really helpful from the beginning till the end he took very good care of us and we could confirm his professionalism when we saw him taking care of everybody around as well.
The other staff as well was very professional, the food was good and we got the day that i was looking for - a very nice romantic day by the pool!
I recommend it to everyone who is looking for this kind of day!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremdu78200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

Firstly, let me start with the positives. Stunning rooms, however when you upgrade for a balcony your view is run down buildings.
Staff were OUTSTANDING. Their customer service was 5* all the way. Defusing what could be small issues in the most professional kind and generous way.
The spa....i had a massage... As a qualified therapist myself im always judgemental. This was without doubt, the best massage i ever had. And the price was amazing. 60e full body massage + scalp massage. It did say you get a hand treatment but this never happened... BUT... That did not stop me from booking another massage a few days later.

Food - below average. Poolside food - not good.

Cooktails - unreal. Price - brill for 5*

Overall experiance - Great.

Would i come again... Most def :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We - me, my wife and two children - booked into The Palace Hotel and upon arrival were upgraded to the Palazzo Capua, an adjoining building with a number of elegant suites (not sure how many other guests realised it's there). Our two suites were conveniently together and we were delighted with them. For two people in each, they were extremely roomy and have massive balconies. And it was a nice touch, because when we've travelled before, we've had to ask for two rooms together if a family suite was not available - it showed that the staff were on the ball before our arrival.

We arrived late in the evening, but the reception staff and Abdul were very helpful. In fact, throughout our entire stay, every member of staff was polite, always working with a smile, including Rose who immaculately cleaned up our rooms each day (the boys' room was a tad messier than the girls').

Both rooms were well equipped - huge TVs, not that we watched them very much (although bizarrely my daughter fell in love with The Discover Channel?) - and we loved the big pillows - so comfortable. I wanted to bring mine home, but it wouldn't fit in the case ;-)

The 9th floor pool is quite a feature of the hotel, providing views of Malta on either side of the hotel, including panoramic views of Valetta. We thought the pool might get too busy, but actually it was perfect. A little on the 'cool' side, but welcome when the temperature is in the early 30s. There is also a smaller pool on the 8th floor, which is tiny, but actually quite fun.

Having eaten so much at breakfast (lots of variety, including food that we hadn't considered eating at breakfast before), our appetites waned during the day, but not enough to ignore the ice cream. Our son was especially happy when, for his FIVE scoops (you normally only got one), the waiter declined his payment - so his FIVE scoops were FREE! How to make a boy happy (I'm still waiting for the return of the 1.8 Euros).

We were half-board and had intended to eat at TemptAsian on the 9th floor, but were very happy with the main restaurant - lots of choice, lots of food and Maltese rose wine, which was very refreshing. We had intended to eat out of an evening too, but the food at the hotel was too good to resist.

The hotel is just a five minute walk from the town - downhill, then uphill back. It's also just a short walk from a supermarket, which was great for bottled water, snacks, etc.

As we were in Malta for just the week, we mixed our time up by sunbathing, swimming, shopping and taking a couple of excursions (the round Malta excursion is great, especially the beautiful crystal clear waters of Comino, but if it's hot take plenty of liquid as it can be very warm aboard).

One highlight of our holiday was the amazing thunderstorms. They coincided with the festival fireworks, and to be honest were better than the firework displays - I've never seen such lighting so constant, like paparazzi in the sky taking pictures of the night sky.

In summary, we had a great holiday in Malta made all the more special by our stay at The Palace, and more specifically the palatial Capua Palazzo.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here for my brothers wedding, from check-in to check-out we had a most amazing stay. The hotel was fantastic, especially the pool area on the 9th floor.

On our first day, we rented a gazebo for the day by the pool, this included lunch and wine and was worth every penny. The buffet breakfast was good, lots of choice and everyday there was something different in the hot buffet, even the juices changed daily...really nice. We ate in the bar & found the food to be really nice, especially liked the poolside food....the burgers were huge:)

Room was fantastic, really comfy bed. We went for the upgraded room with balcony, the bathroom was amazing and was lovely sitting out in balcony. Rooms were cleaned everyday and were spotless.

Spa, I got a few treatments done in the spa, the massage was fantastic and at only €60 for 65minutes was well priced too.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, they have an office within the hotel for booking taxis and day trips and also have free internet use in the lobby.

Location - Less than five minute walk to pier where there is a swimming area fully lifeguarded, but around 30-40 minute stroll to the main strip.

Room Tip: If booking a room with balcony, ask for higher floor to get the view....our room was on 1st floor, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

When we arrived to the hotel we got a very warm welcome, we had checked in and was asked if we would like our bags taken to the room.

we got to the room was very nice big room we were on the 7th floor with a view of the sea to right but a big building to left but didnt mind after a long flight and late night couldnt wait to get to bed. got in and no word of a lie it was the softest bed i have ever got in to with the same with the pillows.

in the morning we had got up to have breakfast which was all different types of food some of the hot food we got was cold so didnt get it the next day but its a buffet area so can help yourself.

we then went to the 9th floor to the pool area which in the rooms you get tokens and they give you towels for the deck chairs very nice the pool is gorgeous we an amazing view.

on our last day there check out was at 12 and the receptionist gave us tokens to still get the towels and go to the pool area if we wanted to. we also could keep our bags in a room till we had to leave. what i thought was a nice touch was on the 7th floor the receptionist said we could still use the showers and the indoor pool area to freshen up before we went to go home.

all in all a very nice hotel and would love to return again.

Room Tip: ask for the 7th floors to the right and the back of the building or you will get a big building faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,412 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing