We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay overall, with some housekeeping mishaps. (More 4 star hotel, not 5).”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Our stay at the Palace was mostly pleasant; however, housekeeping were slow, and unresponsive on many occasions, which could get very irritating; especially, when in spite of knowing that our deluxe room was based on three paying occupants, there were always only enough amenities provided for two guests!

However, we were pleased to receive a room on the floor which we had requested with our initial booking.

Noteworthy members of staff who were very helpful, and hospitable, and made our stay a warm and memorable one, were: David, Clayton, and Lawrence, from Talk of Town; Adriana and Aimee, from Front Desk, as well as, Godwin, and manager, Mario Messina.

Lastly, it is worth mentioning that the Marion Mizzi Spa, at the hotel, is brilliant. The staff are very professional, and provide a very good service!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 739AAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP29Malta, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear 739AAV,

On behalf of the management and staff I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us at The Palace on Trip Advisor. You have been kind enough to value and share our services.

We would like to apologise with regards to the housekeeping inconveniences caused. It is certainly not acceptable that we were not providing enough amenities on a a daily basis. I confirm that such inconvenience was discussed during our operations meeting to ensure that it is not repeated.

On the other hand I have personally forward your comments to all of my colleagues within their department.

Whilst we look forward to welcome you back at The Palace please do not hesitate to contact me for future reservations.

Best Regards,


Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,938 - 1,944 of 3,596 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

This was meant to be a five star hotel, and the facilities are there to qualify for five stars, but breakfast hot selection was in hot servers only, the bacon was all watery and white and in clumps, the poached eggs were just put in the hot servers so were solid, once the fresh wholemeal bread was gone, it was never replaced, the tea and coffee was served by the waiting staff pouring a cup out when requested!!! We did ask the manager why there isn't a chef cooking station, he did say if requested they would cook you omelettes fresh, but his was never advertised.
We did try the buffet evening meal, however we did need to remind the staff that the hot servers were empty at 8pm, we don't think this is acceptable, staff should be on top of refilling food.
The tea and coffee making facilities, you got two tea bags a day,we had to ring for milk every day, and room service always brought cream,even though we were trying to be persistent in asking for milk.
We did complain to the manager who was very pleased to receive our comments, but nothing was done about it, apart from receiving a €150 refund as we had paid €300 to upgrade our room as on arrival even though we had booked a deluxe room we were given a room on the second floor which looked out to a courtyard!!!
These seem very petty complaints to me, but could easily be put right, staff seem to be very pleasant, but the management need to get on top of these small problems.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP29Malta, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Christine c,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your constructive comments on our services.

It is only through your feedback and suggestions that we keep improving our product to ensure expectations are met. I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that your comments have been discussed during our weekly operations meeting and have taken the necessary actions accordingly.

With regards to the allocation upon arrival we confirm that the room booked upon reservation stage was a Comfort Room. As per your constructive comments there is a supplement should you wish to upgrade your room to either a Deluxe room or a Superior Room always depending on the availibilty of the day.

Hoping that the above feedback is to your satisfaction we look forward to welcome you back at The Palace to show what The Palace 5 star service truly consists of.

Regards,


Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Maybe we've been spoiled because we have stayed in some truly amazing hotels in the last couple of years but I was disappointed by the Palace. The sign outside says "The Palace A 5 Star Hotel". Well a hotel gets the five stars by providing services and facilities and the Palace certainly has all the facilities but the service is just not up to my definition of 5 star. All the way through from breakfast to the rooftop pool area the service was just plain slow.
Breakfast has a pretty reasonable selection but there is no option to have a fresh cooked fried egg or omelette or pancake. Tea and coffee has to be practically begged for. Clearance of finished dishes is sporadic at best.
In the week we were there one of only two lifts was out of action on five days and it wasn't always the same lift, they seemed to take it in turns not to work.
The pool area is nice and the staff are quite friendly but how about coming round asking if customers would like a drink or bringing cold refreshing towels when it is really hot.
One night we ate in the Temptasia restaurant as this is one of the highest rated restaurants in Sliema. The meal was very average with both our main courses massively over seasoned.
The information in our room told us that the car park is complimentary for guests but we found a charge for it on our bill. When we queried this we were just told that the hotel was taken over by a new company in March and now there is a charge. This just compounded our feeling that the hotel doesn't value customer service highly enough.
Five doors up the road is a little pub called the Salisbury Arms (see review). One man there serves behind the bar, takes food orders, waits tables, remembers what you drank two days ago. He truly knows what customer service is all about.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP29Malta, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Neil J,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your constructive comments on our services.


It is only through your feedback and suggestions that we keep improving our product to ensure expectations are met. I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that your comments have been discussed during our weekly operations meeting and have taken the necessary actions accordingly.

It is certainly unacceptable that the service provided was not to your satisfaction considering that it was slow all throughout your stay. With reference to the breakfast we confirm that we do not provide a live cooking station for eggs and pancakes but we would also like to confirm that the management has just invested in a new daughnut live cooking station and will be in operation as from this coming week.

The management wishes to bring to the attention that the Salisbury Pub situated up the road is just a 20 seater pub.

Hoping that the above feedback is to your satisfaction and look forward to welcome you back to show what The Palace service truly consist of.

Best Regards,


Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Had a wonderful time at the palace. The staff were very welcoming and the room was very stylish and comfortable. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you need a bit of class whilst travelling or to unwind. The spa was also very nice.

Room Tip: Would recommend the deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP29Malta, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Nicole G,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to hosting you again.


Regards


Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

I had a reception booked here. The food was superb and everything went perfect. All my guest were happy and all enjoyed the beautiful hall food and wine. Thumbs up to the event organizers and the staff!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Dear Lorraine B,

On behalf of the management and staff I would like to thank you for sharing your comments on trip advisor.

We are pleased to hear that your event was a successful one and we certainly look forward to host future events with you. We are all so thankful for your organisational skills in getting such event organised.

I shall ensure that your comments are forward to my colleagues within both the Events and Food & Beverage department.

Regards


Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My discovery of Malta was a beautiful surprise!!! I was in Sliema Island in The Palace Hotel in May 2013. It is an excellent place to enjoy beauty and comfort at the same time! Fantastic swimming pool, exclusive restaurants, great location and very friendly stuff. Micaleef Justin helped with all trips and theater tickets for me and my two friends. I would recommend to stay in this Palace Hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Dear Elena O,

On behalf of the management and staff I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us at The Palace on trip advisor.

We are extremely glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I shall personally forward your comments to my colleague Justin within the Front Office department. Justin has been an integral part of our Front Office team for the past year and a half and has excelled since than.

The management is also pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our 360 view of the Island as well as dining experience within our outlets.

We certainly look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Do not hesitate to contact me personally for future reservations.

Regards,


Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
jonathanpisani@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My husband and I and our 20yr old daughter have just stayed for a week in this hotel. We wanted 2 rooms next to each other and this is just what we got with an adjoining door which was great. Although we were only on the 3rd floor in what they call a 'comfort room' we had a lovely view of the harbour although it also over looked the road but this was not a problem, great for people watching! We were also facing the church bells which I know other reviewers have found a problem but I can honestly say the chiming did not bother us at all and I we never heard them at night with the windows closed.

The rooms were clean and spacious and my daughters twin bedded room was more spacious than our double room. The air con worked well and we managed to stay cool at night despite the heat wave Malta was experiencing! The infinity pool on the 9th floor was perfect after a day sight seeing with a good bar service for food and drink.

We were on a B&B basis and the breakfast was excellent and set you up for the day, fantastic choice. We only ate once in the Hotel in their TempAsian restaurant on the 9th floor which gives you a beautiful view and the food was excellent and reasonably priced. There is not much atmosphere in the main restaurant which put us off eating there. The service at the bar is not the speediest but the staff are all very friendly.

Transport wise they can arrange taxis and trips very easily or give you advice on the busses and where to go and what to see if you need that. We arranged a taxi and early morning call when we left early morning and it made departure very stress free.

All in all a great hotel and I can highly recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a balcony facing the harbour and sea view and yes the higher the floor the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tillytoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Dear Tillytoodles,

ear


Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

With reference to the main restaurant I confirm that we have recently refreshed the outlet by giving it a warmer look for the evening meals.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to meeting you and hosting your with us again.


Yours sincerely,


Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,079 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,969 reviews
1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
1.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £76 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace is supplemented by six unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing