We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic "5 Star" Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic "5 Star" Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here in September for 9 nights to celebrate a special occasion. I can honestly say it excelled our expectations. A fantastic luxury hotel in a great location. The staff were very attentive and friendly. A special note to highlight Amanda the guest relations manager who could'nt have done enough to make our stay special. The hotel, the room and hotel facilities were of a very high standard and the roof top pool area is one of the nicest places to relax. The views from this area are stunning. I could not finish the review without highlighting the breakfast which is extensive and every day had different and delicious food options. If I had one small niggle I would suggest the hotel gets more english TV channels. That said it did not affect a great break in a wonderful hotel.
Local places to eat - A great "mid price" up market local fish restaurant is the Barracuda which is in St Julians , about a 15 minute walk. There is also a great sushi restaurant just around the corner. For a quick bite there is a great Lebanese street food takeaway with filled pittas & amazing salads

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms face the outside & comfort rooms face the inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Olly G,

I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Palace was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,929
    924
    280
    78
    29
See reviews for
425
1,981
135
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (961)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at The Palace, Sliema for a week in October. There was myself, my husband and our 5 year old son.
After reading some of the reviews on TripAdvisor I was worried about the room we may be allocated due to booking it through Expedia. I emailed the hotel who responded fastly and put my worries at ease.
When we got there we were greeted by the reception staff who were efficient and friendly. It appears we were upgraded free of charge to a bigger room with three big beds... No roll out bed for our son which we thought we would have. The room was on the second floor (262) and had a small balcony (again something we did not expect) No complaints from the room, it was big and extremely clean. Housekeeping visited everyday with fresh towels and bedding if requested. The beds were super comfy.
We stayed bed and breakfast and we were impressed by the variety of food. The staff again were very friendly, especially Joe who made us feel welcome and treated our son to a hot chocolate each morning. The food was delicious. Something for everyone.
The inside pool was unfortunately being up graded so was out of order. However we were able to use a pool a short distance away free of charge. The outside pool on the top deck was amazing, the views were amazing. However the pool was freezing cold.
The food available in the day from the pool menu was delicious.
I unfortunately was eaten alive by Mosquitos whilst out and about and my legs were a real mess (still are) but the hotel manager Michelle made sure I was ok and sorted out ice for me.
Overall must say this hotel was an amazing place to stay in a great location.
Thank you everyone at the palace. X

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Azzo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Azzo83,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Both myself and my husband stayed at the palace for two weeks between 24th September to the 8th of October we where there for my husbands 50th birthday also to see how beautiful Malta is we where not disappointed . The hotel is situated on the top of an incline but is not to difficult to get to and from. It is a fantastic hotel where the staff are always willing to help you with any problems or questions you may have. The hotel management should be very proud of there staff. The room was good we did not have much of a view but this was ok you are only in there to sleep, the bed is very comfortable and the room is cleaned daily it could do with a few more English channels to watch. The facilities in the hotel are fantastic from the infinity pool to the spa and temp Asia we tried them all and would recommend them, we stayed on a half board basis, breakfast is fantastic with loads of choice the buffet in the evenings could do with being hotter and have more choice of where to eat you are ok if you like fish not a lot of meat choices apart from that we have had a great holiday. On my husbands birthday we where given a cake and wine which we thought was lovely from them. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Choose a floor above level four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEBBIE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear DEBBIE R,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have just returned from Malta having spent 4 nights at the Palace. Overall we really enjoyed it. The hotel is situated in a quiet area andthe nearby church bells did not disturb us at all. The staff we very friendly especially our bedroom maid she was very helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We had a terrible smell in our bathroon though which we did report and not sure it was dealt with adequately. The hotel in my opinion is a 4star, but would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claireypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Claireypat,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Palace was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed at The Palace recently in room 736 which was lovely with sea view from balcony and separate bath and shower. All the staff were extremely efficient and very pleasant especially the young men working on the roof bar who were exceptional. The food was excellent with a huge choice for breakfast.t We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

Room Tip: 736 is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alleynejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear alleynejane,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Palace was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

My mum and I had been traveling around Europe for a month, and had 4 nights at the palace.
The beds were comfortable, the rooms spacious, and staff were very friendly.
The pool and bar on the roof were a lovely way to unwind and relax and the restaurant on the rooftop was beautiful with spectacular views.
We found that the breakfast was a little expensive if you are not a big eater, however there is a wide range of beautiful food available. One man who works in the breakfast area serving tea and coffee (joe) is very sweet and helpful and handled some whining guests very well, defiantly an asset to the hotel.
We treated ourselves to some spa treatments which were very relaxing and rejuvenating.
The only downside would be that of a morning you do get hear the staff setting the sun beds up on the top floor (dragging from one place to another) and that there are not a lot of English speaking channels available to watch. (Minor but if you like to watch tv at night, could be annoying)
Would defiantly stay here again, we were very happy with the service, room, food, location and feel of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kykaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Kykaly,

I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Palace was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a restful week at the Palace Hotel Sliema. We booked through the hotel, having a Deluxe room, the triple treat dining and breakfast. The room was a very good size , with a large balcony and pleasant view to the sea. The room was maintained very well on a daily basis. My only crumble would be the paintwork was a bit scuffed and chipped in places, the tiles were mismatched in the toilet and the bath a little crazed in the tub. Things which make the hotel a 4.5 not 5 star. What does make it a 5 star is the staff attitude and politeness. They are all extremely attentive without being obtrusive, which shows a bit of class and could be adopted by some of our hotels back in the UK.

The food in the Tabloid was very good, with a wide variety of choices at breakfast. We had a buffet meal one eve which was very pleasant and well presented. The TemptAsian was hyped up I think. The waiter was thrown by the fact I was vegetarian. The set meal on the Triple treat dining did not cater for that,so the meal went a bit wrong. The staff also forgot about us at one point so the service compared to the rest of the hotel let them down. I did not enjoy the third meal at the Victoria hotel,mainly because it felt like a retirement home and the meals were very bland.

There are plenty of excellent restaurants in the neighbourhood, so were we to return we would only go B&B.

The spa was also very well run and I had a great value for money massage and facial. Well worth trying. The indoor pool was out of action despite the website saying completion for the 30th Sept before we left the uk. Not that it mattered as the weather was brilliant and the infinity pool great.

Would I recommend this hotel..yes for the staff and ease of getting into the town. Just a few bits of painting and maintenance would make it a true 5 star

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ralphsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Ralphsmum,

I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
9.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and TravelUp so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing