We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic rooftop pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic rooftop pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I spent a long weekend here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are extremely helpful & keen to ensure guests are happy. The pool is lovely if a bit chilly, poolside food is average but huge portions & convenient if you want to stay in the sun. Breakfast is excellent- huge range of options as is the evening buffet. Sliema itself is not a pretty spot but is handy for the ferry to Valetta & the many bus or boat tours.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loobylooLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear loobylooLondon

I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,938
    925
    282
    78
    29
See reviews for
426
1,990
136
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

first trip to Malta, Palace reccommended by travel agent on personal experience. We were not disappointed, service and accommodation were first class. Staff, especially Amanda and Agnes were super efficient, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. In all, a very enjoyable holiday, we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, we intend to return in the near future

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Dave T

I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Recommended by friends who had stayed there before and told us to go for one of the higher floors which we did. Better views and less disturbance from church bells. The staff service was excellent and they all wanted you to enjoy your stay. Location good in Sliema and hotel not far from the Sliema passenger ferry which is a cheap(€1.50 single) and easy way to get to Valetta. Room which was a superior room was fine. The hotel breakfast was really good value as you could choose what you wanted and have as much as you like. Food was tasty and cooked nicely or if cold laid out nicely. Didn't eat in for supper as plenty of interesting restaurants nearby. Made lots of use of the infinity pool and sun lounges on the roof (floor9), really special. Overall a hotel where you know you are staying in Malta, be well looked after and relax. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher the better for scenic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear barry H,

On behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Palace was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Spent a week here enjoying the October sunshine and could fault the place. We were given a free upgrade to a superior room which was spacious and benefited hugely from being higher up and so having a view over the hospital out to the sea. The rooftop pool and evening lounge bar were a lovely place to spend time.

A huge selection of food was available at breakfast, including freshly made pancakes and waffles. And no shortage of serving staff either!

Located in the middle of Sliema you're a 5 minute walk away from the seafront to the north or south. The northern side is nicer for a relaxed walk and maybe a drink, but the south side has wonderful views of Valletta even if you get stopped every 2 minutes with offers of cruises.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EatingAndWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear EatingAndWalking,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Recently returned from a family holiday at the Palace. From the helpful reception when we arrived at 3am right through to the KinderEgg for our daughter on departure, the experience was excellent. Booked through Expedia, our "comfort" room looking onto an internal courtyard/light shaft may have lacked a view, but was spacious and very comfortable. The selection and quality of the breakfast buffet was very good - chocolate fondue too moreish. Indoor and rooftop pools very clean and well maintained. But above all, attention to customer service was first class - senior staff spending time with customers to check that everything was to their satisfaction, and all staff keen to deliver. We had no issues, but am sure that if we had they would have been dealt with. The "Talk of Town" café was good value in the evening, as was the Penny Black in the adjoining Victoria Hotel. Convenient location for Tigne waterfront and Sliema ferry. Would be delighted to return.

Room Tip: Inward facing "comfort" rooms lack view but blissfully quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WGBurgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear WGBurgess,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Palace was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attard, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Choosing Temptasian as a venue for my husband's surprise party was the best choice! The ambience is one of a kind, the food was superb and staff are very friendly, smiles all the way and everyone is so helpful. Well done to all and special thanks goes to Mr Sylvain Azzopardi - Events Manager for making the surprise party a success! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Helen B,

On behalf of the TemptAsian team, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that your experience was a positive one and that we managed to meet your expectations.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future reservations at TemptAsian. All the Food and Beverage Team and Kitchen Brigade will surely give their utmost to give you the 5-star service which we constantly strive for.

Looking forward to meeting you and hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I am maltese living abroad and each time I go back to Malta to visit friends and family I love staying in nice hotels and try different ones! I must say this is the best hotel I've stayed in since 10 years going back home (Malta).The hotel is really clean,the stuff really kind smily and helpful,rooms spacious and modern.
When we arrived in the beautiful lobby we where welcomed by the receptionist who was really friendy and an ice cream as a welcome was offered. The room was even better of what we where axpecting (rooms are better then the pictures) with a nice view and really well cleaned! The cleaning lady Maria was really nice and helpful always asking if we needed anything! Room was done at least twice a day!
The pool with a very nice view was clean and really relaxing, waiters espacially Zsolt was really nice,kind,polite and friendly and really a hard worker!! The restaurants really beautiful and really good and fresh food. In this hotel you don't even need to go around everthing is in the hotel and really relaxing the Spa is wonderful. Situated in a very good place in Sliema (5mins to the sea,5mins to the shopping centre,5 mins for the bus by walk)
Honestly as a maltese I would recommend this hotel and as a tourist I would as well and next year I deffintaly go back here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keidem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear keidem,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
9.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Prestigia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing