We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, ideal location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, ideal location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Wonderful 1 week stay on Malta island (couple & 5 year old), the Palace Hotel in Sliema is a relatively new hotel in a typical Maltese neighborhood with lots of old buildings around. The location is very central (ca. 300 meters to the ferry to Valetta capital and the town centre), and we loved going over to Valetta, and also spending one day on the Gozo sister island.
Hotel service is very friendly, in particular the concierge service - the concierge was very helpful and pro-actively came up with ideas for outings etc.
Great spa facilities & treatments, with a really nice indoor pool and a lovely outdoor roof top pool with a great view on the area.
5 stars on Malta are probably 4 stars in other countries, mainly due to 2 areas: breakfast variety and service relatively low, and rooms (bathroom not 5 stars quality), while rooms quite spacious, and beds comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 20Ella13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear 20Ella13,

On behalf of all the team, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are so delighted to read that your stay at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,938
    925
    282
    78
    29
See reviews for
426
1,990
136
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

we got an upgrade to an executive room as we were on honeymoon. this was a plus as I had mistakenly paid a really high rate thinking I was booking for three nights when it was in fact two nights. the room was very swish though there's no good views at this hotel as its surrounded by other buildings. indoor facilities disappointing = indoor pool cold, steam room not working and saunas cool and over crowded. pool deck area is lovely with lovely views and pool. food is great - great selection at breakfast though my hubby said the full English wasn't nice - I had antipasti . it is a very nice hotel but there is a coldness about it - its not as relaxed atmosphere as other hotels we stayed in.
the restaurant temptasian was lovely.
bottom line I wouldn't rush back, preferred le meridian - spa facilities there much better with lovely views. maybe my review would be better if i'd paid less, but that was my fault (and expedia's)

Room Tip: chance your arm for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laursabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear laursabella,

I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence. Furthermore, we would like to thank you for sparing some time to post your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers.

Your constructive comments will surely be discussed during the weekly operations meeting. Your comments are truly valuable for us because it is through your direct feedback which enables us to address and rectify certain situations, naturally whenever possible.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely hope to have the privilege of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,
Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

First trip to Malta and therefore this hotel. I viewed the Trip advisor comments carefully prior to booking and also since, to glean tips. I employed these tips when following up my booking and it was worthwhile to do so.

I feel there is some confusion about what makes a five star hotel. My understanding is that the stars are awarded based upon facilities available and not whether you will be carried on angels shoulders around your room.

The hotel has everything you need for a long weekend or city break. Children were few on the ground and that was a bonus, as there is little to occupy them here.

The lobby is attractive and rooms are a few years in to a modern re-fit. There are signs of wear and I'd suggest a routine preventative maintenance patrol for the rooms.

Ours was a "superior" and is was worth the marginal extra cost. However, the shower had a mind of it's own, a couple of tiles - in clear view, were cracked (therefore mouldy), a couple of lights were blown, the drains were pungent and certainly the A/C was a mysterious whining beast offering little benefit. We also had the dubious benefit of two all seeing eyes, red IRD sensors in the room. They helpfully glowed when I rolled over in bed, just to remind that turning is dangerous occupation and not to be undertaken while asleep. At least I guess that was their role? I have actually no idea what they were for, but they did undermine my sense of security because if you need anti-theft devices 7 floors up, what the heck kind of mad-men break in to hotels there?

The styling is nice / contemporary, the bed was huge and soft, the wifi excellent. TV channels were hopeless and frankly a little cost would see a worthwhile package available. In fact, ditch the "adult" option and lay on some sensible sports channels, or Sky news and not the wretched BBC World.

Food was plentiful and served in a buffet for all meals. I think four nights is plenty to see all they offer, however, the TemptAsian offered a great alternative. Reasonable price and good flavours.
The bar menu and food was very good and I think the prices were reasonable, as indeed were those elsewhere on the island. Not cheap but cheaper than UK.

A set of instructions for the flash coffee maker would be helpful.

So, this is a pleasant hotel with lots of amenities that generates a high star rating. The Spa is great and the staff were faultless in their manner and professionalism.

I would stay there again and my advice is to consider what you expect for the price. If you want pampered perfection, pay for it at a boutique resort. If you want good quality across a short stay, you won't be disappointed.

Oh, and what bells? Genuinely only heard them while outside no the balcony.

Room Tip: Superior rooms and go high for best views. Very short walk in to Sliema centre/seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear CatterD

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with you presence.

I would also like to express our sense of appreciation for sharing your experience with other viewers on Trip Advisor. Your comments are valuable and important for us. Rest assured that as much as your praise, particularly towards the staff, has been extended to all concerned, your constructive comments will surely not be ignored. This has always been our objective, to listen, discuss and action because your opinion counts, and for this, we thank you.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I spent a long weekend here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are extremely helpful & keen to ensure guests are happy. The pool is lovely if a bit chilly, poolside food is average but huge portions & convenient if you want to stay in the sun. Breakfast is excellent- huge range of options as is the evening buffet. Sliema itself is not a pretty spot but is handy for the ferry to Valetta & the many bus or boat tours.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loobylooLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear loobylooLondon

I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

first trip to Malta, Palace reccommended by travel agent on personal experience. We were not disappointed, service and accommodation were first class. Staff, especially Amanda and Agnes were super efficient, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. In all, a very enjoyable holiday, we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, we intend to return in the near future

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Dave T

I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Recommended by friends who had stayed there before and told us to go for one of the higher floors which we did. Better views and less disturbance from church bells. The staff service was excellent and they all wanted you to enjoy your stay. Location good in Sliema and hotel not far from the Sliema passenger ferry which is a cheap(€1.50 single) and easy way to get to Valetta. Room which was a superior room was fine. The hotel breakfast was really good value as you could choose what you wanted and have as much as you like. Food was tasty and cooked nicely or if cold laid out nicely. Didn't eat in for supper as plenty of interesting restaurants nearby. Made lots of use of the infinity pool and sun lounges on the roof (floor9), really special. Overall a hotel where you know you are staying in Malta, be well looked after and relax. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher the better for scenic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear barry H,

On behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Palace was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Spent a week here enjoying the October sunshine and could fault the place. We were given a free upgrade to a superior room which was spacious and benefited hugely from being higher up and so having a view over the hospital out to the sea. The rooftop pool and evening lounge bar were a lovely place to spend time.

A huge selection of food was available at breakfast, including freshly made pancakes and waffles. And no shortage of serving staff either!

Located in the middle of Sliema you're a 5 minute walk away from the seafront to the north or south. The northern side is nicer for a relaxed walk and maybe a drink, but the south side has wonderful views of Valletta even if you get stopped every 2 minutes with offers of cruises.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EatingAndWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear EatingAndWalking,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
9.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing