We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Palace, an excellent choice”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Palace, an excellent choice”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I went at The Palace with my husband for a relaxing wkend for his 52nd Birthday.The service was excellent, The hotel was very clean, the Staff were very helpful and the food was very good, especially the Fish Night. We are looking forward to visit again sometime. Thank you all.


.
..

Room Tip: Our comfort room was very nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmanuelaSaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear EmanuelaSaid,

On behalf of all the team, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one

Looking forward to serve you again.
Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,975
    951
    288
    78
    29
See reviews for
432
2,027
141
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the years and find it to be of a consistently high standard with comfortable air-conditioned rooms and friendly/helpful staff. We had a wonderful view of Sliema and beyond from our balcony with a bigger vista to be enjoyed from the top floor pool deck!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Jayna M,

On behalf of all the team, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are so delighted to read that your stay at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for six nights and it was wonderful. The rooms was excellent and there stunning views across the harbour to Valetta from our balcony.. The hotel staff were very polite and helpful. A buffet style was breakfast was served daily with a very good selection of hot and cold dishes also a lovely fruit selection too. it was a very central location the seafront was about 5 minutes walk. where you could catch the ferry across to Valetta, also trips around the different harbours and various bus routes and tours..

Room Tip: overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biggiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Biggiles,

On behalf of all the team, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are so delighted to read that your stay at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here but think there is plenty of room for improvement. Call me picky if you like but the standard rooms do not have double beds only singles that they will push together. We upgraded the room to get a double at another 25 euros a day. The bath towels in the room were 3star quality. Our room on the eighth floor had a good see view. The only trouble with the room was it was below the Asian restaurant and they cleaned the floors at around 2:00am moving the furniture to do so. The food was good and the staff friendly service some days was a bit hit and miss. Would we return yes we would so don't be put off by us

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Iram01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Iram01,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with you presence.

I would also like to express our sense of appreciation for sharing your experience with other viewers on Trip Advisor. Your comments are valuable and important for us.Your constructive comments shall be shared with the respective Head of Departments and will surely not be ignored. This has always been our objective, to listen, discuss and action because your opinion counts, and for this, we thank you.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Wonderful 1 week stay on Malta island (couple & 5 year old), the Palace Hotel in Sliema is a relatively new hotel in a typical Maltese neighborhood with lots of old buildings around. The location is very central (ca. 300 meters to the ferry to Valetta capital and the town centre), and we loved going over to Valetta, and also spending one day on the Gozo sister island.
Hotel service is very friendly, in particular the concierge service - the concierge was very helpful and pro-actively came up with ideas for outings etc.
Great spa facilities & treatments, with a really nice indoor pool and a lovely outdoor roof top pool with a great view on the area.
5 stars on Malta are probably 4 stars in other countries, mainly due to 2 areas: breakfast variety and service relatively low, and rooms (bathroom not 5 stars quality), while rooms quite spacious, and beds comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20Ella13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear 20Ella13,

On behalf of all the team, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are so delighted to read that your stay at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

we got an upgrade to an executive room as we were on honeymoon. this was a plus as I had mistakenly paid a really high rate thinking I was booking for three nights when it was in fact two nights. the room was very swish though there's no good views at this hotel as its surrounded by other buildings. indoor facilities disappointing = indoor pool cold, steam room not working and saunas cool and over crowded. pool deck area is lovely with lovely views and pool. food is great - great selection at breakfast though my hubby said the full English wasn't nice - I had antipasti . it is a very nice hotel but there is a coldness about it - its not as relaxed atmosphere as other hotels we stayed in.
the restaurant temptasian was lovely.
bottom line I wouldn't rush back, preferred le meridian - spa facilities there much better with lovely views. maybe my review would be better if i'd paid less, but that was my fault (and expedia's)

Room Tip: chance your arm for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laursabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear laursabella,

I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence. Furthermore, we would like to thank you for sparing some time to post your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers.

Your constructive comments will surely be discussed during the weekly operations meeting. Your comments are truly valuable for us because it is through your direct feedback which enables us to address and rectify certain situations, naturally whenever possible.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely hope to have the privilege of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,
Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

First trip to Malta and therefore this hotel. I viewed the Trip advisor comments carefully prior to booking and also since, to glean tips. I employed these tips when following up my booking and it was worthwhile to do so.

I feel there is some confusion about what makes a five star hotel. My understanding is that the stars are awarded based upon facilities available and not whether you will be carried on angels shoulders around your room.

The hotel has everything you need for a long weekend or city break. Children were few on the ground and that was a bonus, as there is little to occupy them here.

The lobby is attractive and rooms are a few years in to a modern re-fit. There are signs of wear and I'd suggest a routine preventative maintenance patrol for the rooms.

Ours was a "superior" and is was worth the marginal extra cost. However, the shower had a mind of it's own, a couple of tiles - in clear view, were cracked (therefore mouldy), a couple of lights were blown, the drains were pungent and certainly the A/C was a mysterious whining beast offering little benefit. We also had the dubious benefit of two all seeing eyes, red IRD sensors in the room. They helpfully glowed when I rolled over in bed, just to remind that turning is dangerous occupation and not to be undertaken while asleep. At least I guess that was their role? I have actually no idea what they were for, but they did undermine my sense of security because if you need anti-theft devices 7 floors up, what the heck kind of mad-men break in to hotels there?

The styling is nice / contemporary, the bed was huge and soft, the wifi excellent. TV channels were hopeless and frankly a little cost would see a worthwhile package available. In fact, ditch the "adult" option and lay on some sensible sports channels, or Sky news and not the wretched BBC World.

Food was plentiful and served in a buffet for all meals. I think four nights is plenty to see all they offer, however, the TemptAsian offered a great alternative. Reasonable price and good flavours.
The bar menu and food was very good and I think the prices were reasonable, as indeed were those elsewhere on the island. Not cheap but cheaper than UK.

A set of instructions for the flash coffee maker would be helpful.

So, this is a pleasant hotel with lots of amenities that generates a high star rating. The Spa is great and the staff were faultless in their manner and professionalism.

I would stay there again and my advice is to consider what you expect for the price. If you want pampered perfection, pay for it at a boutique resort. If you want good quality across a short stay, you won't be disappointed.

Oh, and what bells? Genuinely only heard them while outside no the balcony.

Room Tip: Superior rooms and go high for best views. Very short walk in to Sliema centre/seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear CatterD

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with you presence.

I would also like to express our sense of appreciation for sharing your experience with other viewers on Trip Advisor. Your comments are valuable and important for us. Rest assured that as much as your praise, particularly towards the staff, has been extended to all concerned, your constructive comments will surely not be ignored. This has always been our objective, to listen, discuss and action because your opinion counts, and for this, we thank you.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,469 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Onthebeach, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing