We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Malta”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed four nights at the Palace and had a wonderful time. We had a great view facing the ocean. There is a fantastic asian reataurant on the top floor next to the outdoor roof pool. The staff were freindly and everything was just easy :) would definatly recomend this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nordickiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Nordickiwi

On behalf of all the team, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are so delighted to read that your stay at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,787 - 1,793 of 3,552 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at The Palace for a week at the end of October, never having been to Malta before, so it was a bit hit-and-miss on knowing whether Sliema and The Palace were in a good location - they were. We stayed in a room on the 1st floor over-looking the front entrance of the hotel, almost opposite the infamous church - the bells rang regularly, but they were lovely and very unobtrusive. The room was a good size and comfortable - no complaints. The staff were friendly and on hand if you needed anything, but otherwise remained unobtrusive. breakfast was good, but the 'hot' dishes were on the cold side, even very early in the morning. There was a decent supermarket around the corner for the required bottles of wine and chocolate and a pie shop next door for hot snacks. The main promenade was a 10 minute stroll away and there were plenty of restaurants to choose from in all directions - Surfside and Fresco's were favourites, but there were many more to choose from to suit all budgets. It was very easy to get to Valletta and all over the island - the ferry across the bay was a nice way to travel and buses were cheap, frequent and a great way to get all over the island.
I would recommend a day trip to Gozo. It would be easy to get there by public transport, although we opted for the convenience of an organised excursion. Valletta was gorgeous, although I thought the Malta Experience at 15 Euros each was expensive for what it was, so I would give it a miss. Dingli Cliffs were also a bit of a let down from the land - I guess they would be more impressive from a boat.
All in all, Sliema was a great place to be based and that's where I would choose to stay again having seen a lot of the island. I would also stay at The Palace again...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Maria M

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Palace was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is fabulous! The beds are amazing! The hotel staff wonderful! The only thing that was disappointing was the evening meal. The presentation was lovely but the choice did not tickle the taste buds especially the large prawns which were tasteless and powdery! However on the whole this was a minor detail! The hotel location is excellent and getting around is cheap and easy. Just go and see the lady in the arriva ticket hut on the front at Sliema next to the Valletta ferry. She is so funny and will tell you everything you need to know about where to go and how to get there. The surfside sports bar serves wonderful food at reasonable prices but beware the portions are enormous! Loved The Hole in the Wall and The Salisbury Pub (my husband a little too much) and theres Scotts Supermarket just down from the hotel. Back to the hotel and those bells!! They are wonderful and I can't see what all the fuss is about! Very atmospheric and I miss them! Thank you Palace for a wonderful time! It was our first visit to Malta and The Palace is a great ambassador. We shall return!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank LLongley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear LLongley

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with you presence.

I would also like to express our sense of appreciation for sharing your experience with other viewers on Trip Advisor. Your comments are valuable and important for us. Rest assured that as much as your praise, particularly towards the staff, has been extended to all concerned, your constructive comments will surely not be ignored. This has always been our objective, to listen, discuss and action because your opinion counts, and for this, we thank you.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed here for a week in November. Hotel and staff were excellent and helpful. Location great. Our room was fantastic with a large terrace overlooking Valletta and the harbour. Nearby church bells not a problem. We had booked a sea view room as it was our wedding anniversary but on arrival we were upgraded to an executive room. Everything was comfortable and spotless. Breakfast was very good with great choices. One small complaint was lack of freshly cooked poached or fried eggs each morning rather than hard boiled. The indoor pool was great. The outdoor one beautiful with great views. We enjoyed Malta and will return at some time. We would definately stay at The Palace again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor with fantastic view of harbour, ferries etc. The church bells were not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaraCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear TaraCoDown ,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with you presence.

I would also like to express our sense of appreciation for sharing your experience with other viewers on Trip Advisor. Your comments are valuable and important for us. Rest assured that as much as your praise, particularly towards the staff, has been extended to all concerned, your constructive comments will surely not be ignored. This has always been our objective, to listen, discuss and action because your opinion counts, and for this, we thank you.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We've been many times in Malta and during our previous visits we stayed in the hotels of San Julians.This time we chose Sliema and we were not al all dissapointed. We were really charmed by the peculiar historical spirit of this Maltese place, its narrow streets, old buildings and churches, very clear and clean sea. Though it was the middle of October the weather was nice and sunny and the sea was warm so we had a chance to swim.

Thanks to Tripadvisor we chose The Palace for our stay. We found the location of the hotel perfect - in the quite place in the heart of Sliema.It's a 5 minites walk from all what is necessary for a good holiday - the beach, the quay, plenty of cafe and restaurants offering Maltese, Italian and Mediterranean cuisine and the shopping area.

The holel itself is very nice and cozy with a relaxing atmosphere which is so important. It is well managed, the staff is very friendly and helpful. We booked superior room and we had a nice rather big room on the 7-th floor with a balcony and fine seaview. The room was comfortable and cleaned properly usually every morning. We appreciated it because unfortunately we had negative experience in the other Maltese hotels when we we back in the holel at 3 or 4 p.m.and the room was still uncleaned and it was very annoying. We never had such problems in The Palace.

The breakfast was standard for the hotel of this class. We booked the room with the breakfast only as we prefer to eat in different places and there is a lot of them in Sliema. But on Saturday we had dinner in the hotel (it was Fish night) and it was great. Well done fish and seafood and we really enjoyed it.

We knew it was not a beach hotel and we found a beach club quite near (7-10 minutes walk). .We really enjoyed our holiday and our stay in The Palace. If we come again to Malta we will choose The Palace again.

Room Tip: I recommend superior because the are on the highest floors and have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StrangerMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear StrangerMoscow,

On behalf of all the team, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are so delighted to read that your stay at The Palace and our beautiful island, has been such a positive and pleasant one.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed at The Palace for a week from 27th October having read reports on Trip ad visor. The hotel is ideally situated in Sliema and only a short walk to the long promenade heading towards St Julians or towards the town from which you can catch the buses or boats on daily excursions. We caught the ferry from here to Valetta which was 2.6 euros return.It is a climb up into the town so there is a mini bus which takes you up for only 1 euro which saves your legs as there is a lot to see in Valetta!
The local Arriva bus service is excellent and a day ticket only costs around 2.8 euros and you can use the ticket to get off and then back on. We spent a day travelling around the island and it represents excellent value for money. Also booked a trip to Gozo which was through SMS and cost 56 euros each which included lunch and the ferry plus a tour guide and entrance to the Megalithic temples of Gozo which are a thousand years older than the Pyramids and and 1500 yrs older than Stonehenge!
The Palace Hotel is 5 star but I would mark it down slightly for a couple of reasons. Whilst the breakfast choice is good,the food on occasions was only warm.The waiter service was also hit and miss. The room we were in was fine, on the first floor and opposite the beautiful church. I was concerned about reviews which mentioned the noise but to be fair,we never were disturbed when the bells rang. We ate at Temptasian on our last night and went for a set menu for 35 euros each which to be fair was too much to do justice to but was exceptional and worth the money. The views from the top floor are breathtaking. The outdoor pool was however too cold to use.Staff are exceptionally polite courteous and helpful and clean the rooms daily.
We tried a number of local eateries. Surfside represented good value. Il Merill is a lovely small bistro situated off a side street a short distance from Marks + Spencers serving traditional Maltese Food. Rabbit is the local delicacy and fabulous (provided you are not a Watership Down lover!). Favorite was Frescos Cafe + restaurant which is mid way between Sliema and St Julians and had a pork dish to die for and some lovely pasta dishes.
Weather was kind (a few storms and the first rain for several months apparently).
Overall, loved Malta and would recommend the Palace as being an excellant place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richardWooreCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear richardWooreCheshire,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for five nights and it was great. The room was superb with spectacular views across the harbour from our balcony. The service overall was outstanding. Every single member of the hotel staff was extremely well-mannered, helpful and supportive. The breakfast was served daily with a wide selection of hot/cold dishes, fresh fruit. The evening meals at ‘Tabloid’ and ‘Temtasion’ were superb. ‘The Palace’ is certainly the place we would like to come back again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Zina V,

On behalf of all the team, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are so delighted to read that your stay at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,031 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,886 reviews
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £79 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace is supplemented by six unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing