We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay at a Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Stay at a Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very nice and the staff is professional and friendly. The rooftop pool is beautiful but it was too cold to actually use it. To me the location was not ideal but was not terrible either. I would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Andy G

I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,938
    925
    282
    78
    29
See reviews for
426
1,990
136
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

My husband and I just stayed in the Palace Hotel for our honeymoon. Upon arrival, we were given a drink and shown up to our room. We had been upgraded, so the room was so beautiful. The view took in Valletta and the three sisters. While I wouldn't recommend TemptAsian, I do recommend this hotel. The bed was very comfortable, the pool gorgeous, the staff helpful, and the stay was great overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Mattie W

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit to Malta. All the team will surely do their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Looking forward to meeting you and hosting your with us again.

Sincerely,
Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

The Palace Hotel is a lovely hotel with a few tweeks needed to get it to the 5 stars they so proudly show off on the nameplate . We are seasoned travellers and stayed at many 5 star hotels but everyone's opinion of a 5 star is different ,so we set the benchmark of a UK 5 star and gauge from there .
The palace is just in the 4 star category with 3 star food .
The Food : We stayed half board and would advise to go B&B and eat out as it works out at €50 per couple plus drinks to eat in , extra if you want to eat in the rooftop restaurant ( which was always busier ,what does that tell you ) . The rooftop restaurant is good but not fantastic as per the hype ,it is in comparison to a decent takeaway .
Lunches were ok if you wanted to stay in hotel , however when asking for rice to go with the chilli instead of chips we were told that the rice was kept in the rooftop restaurant and someone would have to go and get it ???? Rice only in one kitchen !!! C'mon .
Rooftop setting :
Setting is great with amazing views , the infinity pool is nice but small , but hey you are on a rooftop , ideal for cross channel swimmers ie it's freezing , your body is numb in 5 mins , however good for people watching , trying to get in without flinching or screaming that's if they get past knee height .
Indoor Pool Area :
This area is a good place to relax , this pool is cold but sufferable , the steam room was under repair when we were there and the sauna (s) are two little boxes big enough for three people (just) sitting in a row staring out a little window like a prison camp solitary box , sorry but we burst out laughing at this ! ( 5 star ? )
Gym :
The gym is new , basic and could do with a rack for safe use and storage of the barbell & discs
The multi rack has cheap handles and grips .
The Room :
The room was of a good size & clean , en-suite was tight ,height of shower was a bit low as I'm 6'2" &105kg so cramped for me . Air con noisy and poor circulation , fine if you want to sleep over at patio doors as this was the coolest area of the room .
Staff :
Staff were helpful , friendly , especially the lads at the downstairs bar /cafe

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adarga7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Adarga7

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence. Furthermore, we would like to thank you for sparing some time to post your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers.

We would like to thank you for your constructive comments which will surely be discussed during the weekly operations meeting. Your comments are truly valuable for us because it is through your direct feedback which enables us to address and rectify certain situations, naturally whenever possible.

Other than extending our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused, and because we truly care, I would kindly like you to contact me directly, hence to discuss the matter further.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely hope to hear from you in due course. Furthermore, we sincerely hope to have the privilege of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.


Sincerely,
Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

It's our first choice for Malta, and we were not disappointed. Two balconies, delightful staff, ideal location, and a good breakfast. There's something about breakfast al fresco in November. The only negative was that the sauna and steam room were u/s on one day.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Keith W

On behalf of all the team, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are so delighted to read that your stay at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 7 nights and was satisfied but not blown away by the experience. Checked in to room and it is quite big but basic, tv did not work and request for a double wasn't met, this was rectified upon a call to reception. Air condition was terrible didn't cool the room at all upon querying were advised this was now for heat not cool, so a fan was provided instead. Ac also very noisy. Tv was fixed next day. Facilities are very good especially the indoor pool and fitness centre, which is full of brand new equipment. Infinity pool on roof very good but very cold. Location is good for ferries, buses etc to explore the island. Checked out and was advised I'd been overcharged which was then refunded by the excellent Astrid on reception who also found my sunglasses!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LL181184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear LL181184

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with you presence.

I would also like to express our sense of appreciation for sharing your experience with other viewers on Trip Advisor. Your comments are valuable and important for us. Rest assured that as much as your praise, particularly towards the staff, your constructive comments have surely not be ignored and have been shared with the respective Head of Department. This has always been our objective, to listen, discuss and action because your opinion counts, and for this, we thank you.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed in the Texture Suite and, as soon as we opened the door, we knew we were staying somewhere special. The room was large, comfortable and stylishly decorated. At one end the wall was entirely glass affording incredible views over Valletta. The glass slid open onto a massive terrace from which there were 180-degree views - the open sea in one direction, Mdina in the other and Valletta in the middle.

The bathroom was also very good, although the water pressure in the shower could have been better. The church bell across the road tolls regularly, which I thought was great, and a tuneful reminder of where I am.

Breakfast was also top-quality and included sparkling wine, cooked breakfast, numerous meats and cheeses and a chocolate fondue.

I will be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurerol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear adventurerol

I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Palace was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Just back from lovely holiday staying at The Palace. The staff are friendly and efficient dealing with questions quickly they work so hard at the front desk. The hotel is in a good location about 5 mins walk from the ferry to Valetta and shops. The 9th floor rooms are large with big bathrooms and a great view over the harbour to Valletta. All in all it is a really good hotel . O.K. a few things need improving such as the towels which are very small, one of our balcony chairs had seen better times, our bed was very small for such a large room and the tv has very few channels. However, I would recommend the hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManleyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear ManleyLondon

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with you presence.

I would also like to express our sense of appreciation for sharing your experience with other viewers on Trip Advisor. Your comments are valuable and important for us. Rest assured that as much as your praise, particularly towards the staff, has been extended to all concerned, your constructive comments will surely not be ignored. This has always been our objective, to listen, discuss and action because your opinion counts, and for this, we thank you.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
9.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing