We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in an amazing hotel where no requirement was an issue.”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in an amazing hotel where no requirement was an issue.”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I wanted to complete this review a lot sooner but was determined to complete even though I kept forgetting to do so. An absolutely lovely hotel situated in the heart of sliema which is located between st Julian's bay and valetta. The hotel provides exactly what you would expect from a five star hotel with fantastic facilities and the excellent roof top pool and bar. The Asian restaurant on the rooftop is to die for with excellent views especially when the firework displays were ongoing. Rooms of an excellent standard and the most impressive part of the whole stay was the helpfulness of the reception staff in particular Aimee who could not of done enough for us. The talk of the town bar downstairs was excellent and again the two barman were fantastic, friendly and extremely helpful. Overall I can confidently say we will be back in the near future and I strongly recommend visiting. I strongly recommend hiring a car especially when travelling to Gozo by ferry which was a particularly special place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenMaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear benMaynar,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.
We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Palace was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. I will gladly extend your praise to Aimee/Front Office-Reception and the Talk of Town bartending staff personally. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.
Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.
Sincerely,
Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,005
    976
    297
    79
    30
See reviews for
442
2,065
144
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,003)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

5 star to the reception services, they are very quick, helpful, responsive and welcoming people. You get a feeling they really know their job and they enjoy of what they are doing.
5 star to outdoor pool on the ninth floor, was quite torturing that we could not use it at this time of the year.
3 star to room cleaning, you get a feeling that there are areas that is not cleaned well which is included:wooden parts of bathroom setting, bathroom door, the bin in the bathroom.
3 star breakfast. Comparing to the price they charged for the breakfast, it was not that exclusive.
2 star gym room and indoor pool, there was no air in gym room.
5 star to the massage treatment (I recommend it strongly. It was the best massage treatment I have ever experienced in whole my life.)
4 star to the hotel location. We wanted to be in the center of touristic area, it was not that close as I expected but there were a lot of good shopping center near to the Hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Azadeh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel was perfect for our stay in Sliema, Malta. A few minutes walk from the shops, restaurants and harbour. Very clean and large room. Good wifi. Excellent breakfast. Very friendly staff. There is a rooftop pool that we didn't use, but it looked cool Everything you could want from a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happychaptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Ray288,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Very nice hotel, well appointed and far enough away from the throng to remain quiet, but not too far that makes you isolated. Staff are friendly and efficient. Food and drink prices were quite reasonable for a quality hotel. Never used the leisure facilities, but did have a look at the pool on the roof - spectacular.
Only 2 small gripes, we had a courtyard view room which was permanently dark, so avoid those rooms if you can, and the shower bracket only held the shower in a vertical position which meant you could not shower under it. You had to hold the shower above you which was very awkward.
But overall very happy for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Avoid the courtyard view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Doug R,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence.

I would also like to express our sense of appreciation for sharing your experience with other viewers on Trip Advisor. Your comments are valuable and important for us. Rest assured that as much as your praise, particularly towards the staff, has been extended to all concerned, your constructive comments will surely not be ignored. This has always been our objective, to listen, discuss and action because your opinion counts, and for this, we thank you.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The Palace Hotel has super facilities and great views across the area from the roof top pool. Despite a small problem with the first room we were given, the staff quickly and efficiently moved us to a much more suitable room overlooking the main street. This had a small balcony and views of the church just down the street.(no problems with the bells). The food was varied and well presented and the staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms facing outward are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Dan C,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your wonderful comments.

Sincerely,
Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This hotel rates itself as five star but would barely be four stars. I stayed here twice, one occasion for a week and the second for two days. The location is good if you want to be in Sliema. It was near my house so I stayed here while packing up to move house. I would not choose this hotel for a holiday though. There is very little atmosphere and the food both room service and the roof top restaurant is terrible
The rooms are a decent size but there is no privacy with the bathrooms being open at the top.
The breakfast is terrible, the room service is slow, the front desk are incompetent - took three attempts to book my room. I needed interconnecting rooms and this seemed to be too complicated for them to guarantee.
I would not recommend this hotel, stay at the raddison golden sands for the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PPumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Percy P,

On behalf of the management and staff I would like to thank you for sharing your experience at The Palace on Tripadvisor.com. We are extremely disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectation and would like to apologise on behalf of the management and staff.

Our aim is to provide, improve and achieve quality service on a daily basis.
Once again we apologise for the inconvenience caused throughout your stay hoping that the above feedback is to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at The Victoria Hotel, which shares many facilities with The Palace, and guests at both hotels can use any of the restaurants and bars open in Winter (The Penny Black and Copperfields in The Victoria and TemptAsian, Tabloid and Talk of the Town in The Palace.)

The Hotel now contains a newly refurbished Indoor Pool and Fitness Suite, on the seventh floor, in addition to the 9th floor rooftop infinity pool available to guests from both hotels via interconnecting corridors and lifts.

The refurbished and spacious gym, run by a British company contains good quality, well-maintained machines: two treadmills, a cross trainer, wave machine, sit back bike, punch bag, kettle bells, TRX suspension belt, and a range of weights, medicine balls and multi-gym. There is an area and mats for floor work and stretching and a water cooler with proper plastic cups. I have stayed in numerous 5 star hotels around the world and it is rare to find this standard of equipment in a hotel-based gym.

The indoor pool area opposite the gym is a warm and lovely place to relax with two small saunas and an effective steam room. Plenty of pool towels are available and towelling robes can be hired for 2.50 a day - only certain rooms in The Palace have robes and slippers included within the room tariff.

The roof top terrace with its infinity pool is closed in winter when the weather is windy (not to keep out guests from the Victoria as suggested in a previous review!) However it was open several times during our stay enabling guests from both hotels to enjoy the spectacular views and, on a couple of days it was warm enough pull out the sunbeds and chairs which are stacked away for winter, and enjoy a little sit in the sun.

The Management and Staff at The Palace, as at The Victoria, are extremely helpful and polite, and we have enjoyed excellent service and food in the TemptAsian restaurant with its picturesque panoramic views over Valletta,.

I have not seen inside the bedrooms at The Palace but I love the look of the Music Suite complete with drum kit and soundproofing. What a fabulous birthday treat for the drummer in your life!

Room Tip: For a treat for any budding drummers, go for the music suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirecat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear yorkshirecat56

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotels managed to meet your expectations. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Palace and The Victoria hotels.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,607 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,938 reviews
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,864 reviews
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,902 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing