We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter break”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“winter break”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We leave the palace in the morning and must say we have been extremely happy with our stay. we came for a good rest after Christmas and new year were busy for us and that is just what we got. At first we were worried as they put us in a lovely opposite the church where we could hear the bells but on request they moved us with no problem at all to a room which is probably the quietest we have ever stayed in. The beds and pillows are a tad too comfy ( if that is possible !!! ) because you can just lie in them forever.The staff are very welcoming and helpful and always with a smile, not the robotic this is a job type.The food is very good in all the restaurants and you must try the Asian experience, the manager here and the staff are great, over the week we have bumped into him several times and he always spent time talking to you telling you about the island and general conversation, superb customer skills for a young man. A short walk down the bank and you are on the sea front with miles of flat walking next to lovely views of harbours, churches and wonderful old buildings. There is lots if you want it and you can just laze about in the hotel by the pool or in the spa, we had the double massage which was good.
We went on a trip to Gozo as we wanted a guide to give us information, this was a very long day but interesting especially the Santa Maria church where people go to pray for their lives and if they get well they leave a personal item ( with permission ) .
We will come back to this hotel as they truly deserve their 5 stars we knew we had chose well when we had the coffee it is the best in the world and my favourite ....ILLY.
Everyone here is doing a great job to ensure you enjoy every minute. THANK YOU ALL

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Raymond Paul D,

So glad and honoured to hear your choice of accommodation to unwind was The Palace and that you did not regret your decision in the least.

Customer care in all its entirety is of tantamount importance to all at The Palace across the board and your words mirror our pride and passion in all we do.

Marc, the Manager at Temptasian Rooftop Asian Fusion Restaurant and his team will be well pleased to know you felt so welcomed.
There is much culture and history on our little Mediterranean island and we like to enlighten visitors with as much knowledge as they would like to learn. this general information is part and parcel of our job and we include it diligently in our daily endeavours to keep pour clients happy in all respects.

As for Talk of Town, where you had your coffee, that is a popular meeting place for young and old, local or foreign. All are welcome to enjoy the relaxed but buzzing atmosphere at this outlet be it for a quick coffee or for an evening aperitif before enjoying dinner at Tabloid or Temptasian.

Our indoor facilities area, housing the indoor pool, sauna and spa, has just been refurbished, and patrons have reacted favourably to the new changes. This and other positive feedback from all, including yourself, here on TripAdvisor is the best motivation we could desire.

Our goal is always to keep achieving clients' full satisfaction.

Looking forward to the possibility of hosting you once again.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,987
    962
    293
    79
    29
See reviews for
438
2,041
142
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Our first trip to Malta & we hit the jackpot with our choice of hotel, it was fantastic. All the staff were great,.Our room was perfect, we paid for a upgrade from a comfort room before we arrived which if you can is a good idea as you then get a balcony & with luck a sea view .The bed & pillows were perfect, a fantastic nights sleep. The bathroom was clean & modern , but water flow in Malta is very low so no power showers. The indoor pool was very clean & the steam & suna rooms all worked fine.The outdoor pool looked great, but too cold to swim in in January. You get great views so take your camera .We were on a room only basis & did not use the hotels dining rooms ,as we were out & about all days,but they did look good . If we visit Malta again we will book to stay at the palace again.Thanks for a great holiday

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garland36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Garland36,

Certainly we read of your satisfaction during your stay with us here at The Palace 5-Star Hotel with great pride and also humility since we consider ourselves honoured to have been your choice selected for your visit to Malta.

Quality, a welcoming manner and an extremely high standard of service are of paramount importance to us, ensuring satisfied clients and possibly, returning clients.

Whilst thanking you for having found the time to submit your preview, on behalf of all the Management and Staff, I look forward to having the pleasure of re-welcoming you and hosting you again at The Palace Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We went to Malta for a long weekend as a surprise 50th for a good friend and all three couples booked into The Palace. The central location of the hotel meant easy access to Valletta, St Julian's and the Silent City Mdina. The promenade is a 10 min walk away as is the ferry to Valletta.
The hotel staff are all exceptionally friendly and courteous and nothing seemed to much trouble, one of our friends arranged for the hotel (at no extra cost) to have a birthday cake delivered at midnight to the birthday boys room ( they caught the last flight from Heathrow and arrived at the hotel at midnight).
Only feedback for the hotel is:
The overall decor of the hotel was nice though some parts could do with some refurbishment e.g. The bath in our room felt like you could stand through it, it was wearing that thin. On the first night we where kept awake by the noise of the air conditioning unit as the wind had got up outside the air con conduits made dreadful noises all night, appreciate the hotel can't affect the wind but might be worth looking at the positioning of the external air con units on the roof.
Also please note if your room has a balcony at the front facing the pretty church the bells ring all night every 15 mins be warned !! ( the hotel should advise customers of this fact in advance)
Otherwise an great hotel, the food was very good, bar areas also good and would recommend and like to stay there in the summer to try the roof top pool and bar.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies facing the sea and the pretty church, be warned the bells ring every 15 mins th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear David P,

Whilst wishing your friend belated birthday wishes, we are only too happy to hear of your impromptu long weekend here at The Palace.

As for the midnight pastry delivery, we have our own, very talented and able pastry chef, and nothing is too much to ask of her or any of the other staff, as long as it makes our clients happy.

As for your comments and suggestions regarding some of the decor etc, these are what we welcome too, besides the praise, as it is only in this way that we can know first hand what our clients think and desire.
Our Maintenance Manager and his crew will certainly be informed and the issue discussed in order to improve the state of things.

May we welcome and host you again soon at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend took me away for a 2 week stay and choose Malta, The Palace Hotel.

When we arrived the staff were very accommodating and friendly.... Mario showed us to our room....

As we were there a while I wanted to know a few things and get out and about in our Hire car.

This is where Super Mario comes in.,, he is on the concierge at the hotel whom turned out to be a very reliable font of knowledge of not only Malta but of the things to do and see. Not just tourist trips but local things he had figured from getting to know us what we may enjoy. I then basically planned our trips/days out etc off the back of his recommendations. All of which were excellent.

It turned out that Mario also saved the day/evening of our New Year's Eve and only because of him were we able to get in last minute. @The HayWharf. What a night stunning venue and excellent hospitality. Great way to see in 2014!!! don't think many tourists would/have found there yet!

Sliema and the Palace is a very cosmopolitan area/hotel and whomever had the vision/foresight to put the hotel there knew what they were creating. It's a charming and elegant hotel with a fab vibe and friendly atmosphere.

Get to the 9th floor and there is #temptASIA. We were lucky enough to have the Christmas Day Buffet up here which was fantastic setting and exquisite food!

Thoroughly enjoyed my time in Malta and looking forward to going back and seeing our friend Mario....

Cheers Malta/Mario for making our time so special!! See you soon!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Fjk911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Fjk911,

We cannot thank you enough for your glowing praise, especially in our Front Office Manager's regard, Mario.

We not only offer pleasant, 5-star accommodation but also tips and hints on how to enjoy what our country has to offer. Mario will be so pleased to know he was of such a great help to you during your stay here at The Palace.

The Temptasian Rooftop Asian Fusion Restaurant is a must if you are visiting Malta and it is an immense favourite with locals and visitors alike. Christmas festivities there were thought out meticulously, as with all other outlets within The Palace Hotel complex, and you may rest assured that your pleasure and satisfaction is all the reward we could wish for, be it whole dining at The Temptasian or enjoying a drink at Talk of Town.

On behalf of all the team, I thank you whole heartedly for leaving your wonderful comments here and finding the time to do so.

The Palace brigade look forward to the pleasure of seeing you here once again, especially Mario the Concierge.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We went to The Palace, for four days this week. On first glance this was a lovely hotel. While it took a while to sort the room, they did upgrade us to a higher floor as it was my birthday and we appreciated this. The room was spacious and well maintained though must admit the tv channels could have had more choice. It's located on a quiet street but is still central to Sliema harbour. As it was literally less than a 10 minute walk away.

The Spa facilities were also very nice, being able to book a same day appointment. The indoor pool and steam sauna facilities were also fine, though the steam and sauna took a bit of a jiggle to get going and there was no one at the desk when we went to pool.

One of the best things about the hotel was definitely the restaurant Tempt Asian on the 9th floor. Excellent service, wonderful views and the food was absolutely amazing. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShermyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear ShermyS,

It is great to read that all in all your stay at The Palace was a pleasant one.

Whilst enjoying your praise, I will discuss your suggestions with my staff and will certainly follow up on them.

The indoor pool and spa area has just been refurbished and I am glad to hear you availed yourselves of the facilities offered.

As for the Temptasian Roof Top Restaurant, it is a favourite eatierie with many, being one of a kind on several counts, especially when it comes to ambience, position and last but not least, culinary experience at its finest.

Your time in submitting this review is much appreciated by all the staff here at The Palace.

Hoping to have the pleasure of hosting and welcoming you at The Palace once more and soon.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We spent five nights at the Palace the third week of November and found the hotel to be well-presented and very clean. The staff were excellent and couldn't do enough to help you. We arrived around lunchtime and were aware that our check-in time was 15:00: the lady on reception told us that we could leave our cases there, go and explore (we grabbed some lunch) and our cases would be taken up to our room for our return.

When we were shown to our room, we found that it did not have a balcony as we had assumed it would (we booked a deluxe room). We called the lady on reception who within 10 minutes had found us another room that was absolutely wonderful - large, spacious, well laid out and the balcony offered a great view of the nearby church and further over to the sea and on to Valetta. The church bells caused us not a minute's loss of sleep as we never heard them with the balcony doors closed.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, and we could not fault the breakfast. There was an extensive selection of fruits, cereals, continental-style meats and cheeses, etc., as well as the more traditional cooked breakfast selection, of which there were always around eight choices and seemed to be checked and replaced on a regular basis.

We would definitely stay there again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank By-T0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear By-T0r,

Your comments reflect our efforts to please and satisfy our customers in any way possible and we strive to outdo ourselves in this regard.

Our Front-Office staff are always ready to help so it is not surprising, but very pleasant, to hear that your request to upgrade your room was met and we like that your room lived up to your full satisfactions.
The layout of every area of the hotel is very meticulously thought out, cleanliness and hygiene are of the utmost importance and food and beverage among our top priorities.

Our staff will surely be very pleased when informed of your comments.

We await the pleasure of welcoming you once again at The Palace. Thank you for submitting this review.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I spent a week in the Palace with my girlfriend over the New Year holiday. Overall it was a very enjoyable stay and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a superior rooom on the 6th floor. which was well equipped.. We could sit on the balcony even in January especially in the morning when the sun was shining in our direction. The bells on the adjacent church rang all night but I did not hear them when the door to the balcony was closed.
I liked Sliema with its long promenades and there were plenty of restaurants to sample. We went on the blue hop on hop off bus and spent a couple of hours in the wonderful Mdina as well as spending a day in Valetta which we went to by ferry (a 5 minute trip).
. On New Years Eve we went to the banquet in the Palace. The food was excellent with a huge range. There was a band playing followed by a disco but there was little atmosphere on the dance floor.
There was a good choice for the breakfast with a man serving tea and coffee continually circling the restaurant.
We used the small indoor swimming pool on the 7th floor which was quite empty soon after 7AM but filled up later.My partner had a body massage in the 8th floor spa and was quite impressed.
Now to the negatives which one would not expect in a 5 star hotel. We had arranged an airport pickup through the hotel. The man who drove us had a poor manner and gave a bad initial impression. I must say that we were driven by the same firm back to the airport but this driver was very friendly,
On taking a shower on the night of arrival I noticed thay the water was draining extremely slowly from the bathtub. We reported this when going to breakfast the next morning and was told it would be dealt with soon. We again reported it when we were going out a couple of hours later, When we returned in the late afternoon it had not been fixed. I went to the front desk again and this time a maintenance man came quickly and fixed the problem immediately.
We dined one night in the TemptAsian restaurant on the top floor. The food was very good and the 50% reduction on food prices with a voucher we were given when checking in was most welcome. However we had booked a table earlier but our booking could not be found and we were given a table with a view of a room where staff members were smoking which was disappointing as we hoped to have a panaromic view from on high.
Overall this is a very good hotel with many favourable points and I would be happy to return there but with a little more effort it could be an outstanding 5 star.premises,

Room Tip: The higher floors have a view of the sea in the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strongbow18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Strongbow18,

On behalf of the management and staff I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us at The Palace on Trip Advisor. It is with such constructive comments that we would be able to achieve better. Our aim is to provide and improve quality service on a daily basis.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with and shall certainly forward your positive comments to my colleagues within the other departments.

With reference to the taxi service upon arrival we have informed the third party company that such attitude is certainly not accepted. A five star service should start from the arrival at the airport until the arrival to the airport on the day of departure.

We also apologise for not being prompt in attending to your maintenance inconvenience. All maintenance reports are to be attended on the same day.

Whilst we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food at TemptAsian we apologise for not confirming the reservation as per procedure. With regards to the remark of smoking the management confirms that no staff are allowed to smoke in public areas but are only allowed to smoke in specific designated areas within the hotel. Drastic action is taken to ensure that all employees abide to the health and safety regulations which are applied by the Malta Tourism Authority.

Once again I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to welcome you back at The Palace on your next holiday to Malta.

Best Regards,


Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,534 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,895 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Onthebeach, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, Lastminute, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing