We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN UNEXPECTED FIND...”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“AN UNEXPECTED FIND...”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We didn't stay at this hotel as we visit regularly on business and so stay at an apartment. Often I look for a gym and good places to eat and chill out. After a lousy arrival to a dirty apartment… cold and damp due to March weather and the air con refusing to blow warm air… plus a visit to probably the dirtiest hotel gym in Sliema; what a relief to actually find 5* luxury.

This is an unfair statement slightly… as I did find others eventually…. but The Palace was the perfect place at the perfect time to chill out; get warm (chill and warm in the same sentence!). A friendly and welcoming place that has a brilliant outdoor and covered terrace if you want some fresh air and/or smoke (I don't/partner does).

There is this really cool red telephone box where people leave books to share; the proviso is that you swap books so take as many as you leave.

Good coffee; nice cake; excellent choice for lunch. Easy menus in the evening if you fancy a snack… platters of vegetables with hummus, cheeses etc…. The buffet dinner at E25 pp is worth a visit if you have a good appetite; it's a little wasted on myself. But offers a great selection of salad for starters with lots of fresh fish; soup; a selection of about 8 main hot dishes from pasta to rabbit stew or beef goulash; cheese and dessert a plenty. Gets busy so worth booking.

Friendly staff; good atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Sally E,

I am glad to hear that The Palace provided a safe haven from what you describe as unsuitable accommodation arrangements.

This was a good thing as you discovered the 5-star service with a smile which is our trademark here at The Palace.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your partner back for more pleasant stays at The Palace in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,031
    988
    302
    80
    30
See reviews for
451
2,088
146
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,014)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed for fours nights off season (only £60 a night) for the Malta Marathon and could not find fault with this hotel at all. The location is great, service was exemplary, staff were friendly, the room was large, spacious and luxurious with a sea view and was kept exceptionally clean during our stay. We loved the roof top bar too and were just sorry that we didn't take the opportunity to dine at the restaurant there too. Maybe the only thing that I would pick on was the lack of a jacuzzi bath at the pool, other than that it was perfect. We would definitely return to this hotel if we were to visit Malta again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grubs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear grubs77,

We thank you for the glowing review regarding your recent stay at The Palace.

You have availed yourselves of most amenities and services on offer during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back, that way you may re experience The Palace's 5-star service and try out Temptasian Rooftop restaurant for the ultimate dining experience.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel Manager,
info@axhotelsmalta.com





Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Very good food.Happy smiling and very helpful staff in all areas of the Hotel.Good central position for harbour and sea.Will certainly come back next year.Weather wasn't brilliant very windy and cold for a few days and then we had sunshine and managed to get a room where we had sun on our balcony for most of the good days

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Carole H,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed some sunny weather and the impressive views from the terrace of your room during your stay at The Palace.

We thank you for placing your positive review about this stay at The Palace on TripAdvisor and we look forward to hosting you on more stays with us here at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Just returned from a short break at the Palace & first time to Malta. On arrival we were met by really helpful staff, who allocated our Superior room straight away although we arrived early. However before being shown to our room were advised of all the Island attractions and the best way to see them whilst enjoying our welcome drink!! The room on the fifth floor and over looking the harbour was excellent. Large & comfortable with two Queen size beds. Whilst the bathroom was a little on the small size it was more than OK.
Following morning we experienced the Palace breakfast!! Where do I start as it had absolutly everything you could want and the sausages & bacon were real english!! This evening we had a nightcap in the bar and again the staff were very friendly and attentive. Prices were very good for a 5* hotel (so went back most nights!!)
Whilst Sliema is quite quiet the Palace has an excellent position within easy walking distance to the sea front & ferries. Overall we were really impressed with the Palace and would certainly recommend & will definately return in a year or so.
Finally a must! The Palace has a Pan Asian resturant on the 9th floor which we cannot recommend strongly enough, it was fantastic, the food & service could not be faulted. They have a Thai & Indian chefs but the menu also includes dishes fron China & Japan. For an Hotel resturant it was not overly expensive (£65.00 per couple including wine) This resturant is popular & used by many non residents so if going on Fri/Sat itis advisable to book at reception.

If you want to get around use the buses 1.5 euros for a day ticket!! definately go to Mdina & Rabat.

Room Tip: Book a superior room, as for harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWOngar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear GWOngar,

Thank you for the glowing review and the 5 stars you gave about your stay at The Palace here on TripAdvisor.

Your words prove that we have reached our goal, whilst always striving to achieve more as we move ahead.

Among the services on offer that you mentioned, there is The Temptasian Rooftop Asian fusion Restaurant. This is among the top venues on the island, whereby one may enjoy a unique dining experience while marvelling at the views of the historic Valletta Grand Harbour and Sliema promenade.
We are only too pleased to hear you tried it and left satisfied.

We definitely look forward to the pleasure of hosting you on your next visits to Malta while staying at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Our room was not ready when we arrived so we checked in and went for lunch. When we returned at 3.30 our room was still being prepared so even if we had arrived after 3.00 to check in we would not have been able to get into our room, but we were offered an alternative room on the 6th floor, it didn’t have much of a view but we could see over the top of the adjacent buildings to the sea. The room was big and clean, and had a good size balcony.
The Palace is not a five star hotel but if you get a cheap deal it’s in the ideal position for a base to discover Valetta. The hotel is clean, the staff are happy and friendly and the rooms are large, but the bed’s too soft, the shower is only good for kids and people less 1.5m tall and the toiletries are very poor quality. The tv has only news channels and the picture/sound quality is not good, but the free wifi was good and available all around the hotel.
Breakfast was mediocre but there was plenty of it, so if it’s quantity you’re after you’ll be ok, we didn’t use the restaurant so cannot comment, but all the places we chose to eat around Malta were good quality and value.
As it was we got a cheap deal at a reasonable hotel in a good position for a short break so I think we got reasonable value.

Room Tip: Low floors do not have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Jimb27,

While thanking you for placing your review about your stay at the 5-Star Palace on TripAdvisor, allow me to say that we are sorry to not have completely lived up to your full expectations.

Having said that, we welcome any feedback from our guests and whatever is said is always put on the table for discussion by the Management Team.

Allow me to add that the TV service is being totally upgraded, with the new system having channels for all ages and tastes.

The bathrooms too are being slightly upgraded, in order to make them even more comfortable to use.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Palace in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Out of season stay so generally quiet throughout Malta. Yes there are church bells but with 365 plus churches on the island what do you expect? They did not disturb our general sleep pattern. All islanders are friendly so staff in hotel are eager to help and are attentive. Andy and Dorianne are particularly friendly and wish to improve services. Room was large and comfortable. Food at breakfast very good for all palates.
Only downside would be the hill from coast for the infirm or unfit individual albeit only a short distance. However would revisit at a moments whim.

Room Tip: Higher floors (6 and above) have beautiful views of harbour and coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear steve c,

In your preview regarding your recent stay at The Palace you mentioned amongst other things, the peaceful surroundings once inside the hotel.

Our aim is focused amongst other factors, on providing a haven from life outside, guaranteeing tranquillity, relaxation and all sanctuary required in making a holiday all the more enjoyable and pleasant.

Breakfast at Tabloid Restaurant is enjoyed by many and we appreciate your kind comments regarding this service.

Your positive feedback will be passed on to all relative staff, especially Dorianne and Andy.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Palace Hotel, Sliema, is in an ideal position - 10 minutes from Sliema front, and the same from the ferries. Either way, it's a little bit hilly, but not excessively so. The hotel is really nice - elegant foyer, helpful staff. We had booked a deluxe room with Low Cost holidays, but decided to upgrade to a superior room (by email) at a cost of 25 euros a night. It was well worth it. We were on a higher floor, with a huge and elegant room, with a terrace with sunbeds and a terrific view over the roof tops and across the harbour to Valetta. We thought we'd try out local restaurants, but having walked our legs off all day (particularly in wonderful Valetta) we ate in the Talbot restaurant in the hotel each night. They offered a 25 Euro buffet which had everything you could want - hors d'oeuvre, soups, fish, meats, fruit, desserts, and wonderful cheeses. Breakfast was similarly good. Watch out for taxi drivers and buggy rides - make sure that you fix a price before taking up any offers. The bus service was incredible - a seven day ticket cost 6.5 Euros!! We did both the north and south tours, and found them very good for seeing all the island and getting your bearings. The 'Medina Experience' in Valetta was over-priced, but the sacred hospital and the war museum were well worth a visit. All-in-all, if you've never been, Malta is a most interesting (and enjoyable) experience (as is The Palace!).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank ken22091938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear ken22091938,

How lovely to read that your stay at The Palace lived up to your expectations.

I cannot thank you enough for placing your positive feedback on TripAdvisor. Your complments shall be shared with the respective Head of Departments.

May we look forward to the pleasure of having you back at The Palace for yet another pleasant stay in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,965 reviews
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,969 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,963 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing