We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* Malta”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, united kingdon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“5* Malta”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just returned from a 10 day holiday at the Palace Hotel Sliema. We had a fabulous holiday and was sorry to come home. Malta is a fabulous island so much to see and do, easy and cheap to get around and you will not meet nicer, friendly people than the Maltese people. Our base was the 5* Palace which we loved its ideally placed just being a 5 min walk from the seafront which is lovely to walk and has lots of bars and restaurants. The hotel is also a short walk from the the harbour front where you can get all the boat trips and also catch the fantastic little ferry which takes you to Valletta for only 1.5 euros each. You can also get buses on the front to anywhere on the island and they are also very cheap. We could not fault the hotel the room we had which was a de-luxe room on the 2nd floor was spotless and spacious with an extremely large bed and a lovely balcony which over looked the back of the hotel and we could also see the sea, being at the back no problems with the Church Bells as well. We went on a half board basis and found the food to be of a very high standard. The breakfasts where varied and all you could want and lovely Joe came around topping you up with coffee or tea all the time. Dinner was superb we enjoyed every meal we had. All the food was fresh and well cooked and good selection, we really enjoyed the fish that was served and all the fresh salads. We also ate in the TempAsian restaurant on the 9th floor which was first class. What makes this hotel though is the staff, all so friendly and could not do enough for you and all knew you after a couple of days. Thomas was lovely on front of house, Little Salema in the restaurant (sorry if I have spelt your name wrong) who looked after us so much, David and Joe in the Talk of the Town Bar and our lovely cleaner Georgia. We also used the Penny Black Bar in the sister hotel which you can walk to via the first floor. Both Joe and Martin in the bar looked after us well. Joe makes the best Pimms in Malta.
We hired a car via the hotel which was good value we had this for two days and visited the North of the Island, Mosta, Midina and Dinkley Cliffs. All well recommended to go, it was a bit hairy though trying to navigate back to the hotel through Sliema and all the one way streets but we made it in the end.
If you like to walk there are lots of lovely walks, you can walk along the seafront to St Julians and Paceville which is beautiful have a nice lunch and then bus back, also right next to the hotel is a small bakery where you can get pea or ricotta cheese pasties for lunch which are to die for. We will definitely be back, we hardly had time to take advantage of the roof top pool so that will be for next time.
As a closing note - Dorianne the guest relations manager was a such a gracious and lovely lady, every time she was on duty she came to find us and to make sure we had all we required and a chat and also arranged for a complimentary birthday cake and wine for my husband to be served in our room. 5* all the way for us

Room Tip: Ask for the back of the hotel to avoid the Church Bells
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear anne g,

Your extensive and positive review regarding your recent trip to Malta and your stay at The Palace is a delight to all of us here at The Palace.

On behalf of all members of management and staff, including those you mentioned by name, being, Joe, David, Salema, Thomas, Dorianne and last but not least Georgia, are only too glad to know they were instrumental in rendering your stay at The Palace a memorable one.

Should you need any help or require information to book your next stay kindly do not hesitate to get in touch. We would be only too happy to help.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com


Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,003
    975
    297
    79
    30
See reviews for
442
2,063
144
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,001)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Palace for 4nts for my birthday with two of my girlfriends. Our stay was wonderful the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful especially Thomas the concierge. He arranged for a bottle of red wine in our room for my birthday he did promise a cake also but not sure what happened to that lol! The buffet dinner in the restaurant was brilliant good wide selection of choices every night. The lunch time menu was great. Lunch were always served hot and good portions.
We had a great room with brilliant views over the harbour. Loved our suite
The spa area was also good with the rooftop swimming pool.
Hotel was good location we were able to do a lot of tours in the short time
We use the hop on an hop off bus which Thomas arranged with pick ups for us with minibus from the hotel which were always punctual
Good night life in St Julians. We also took the ferry to Gozo We visited the capital Valetta.
Overall a pleasant shotbreak and would recommend The Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelleySims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear ShelleySims,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent short stay with us at The Palace.

Thomas the concierge is always more than happy to accommodate as are the rest of the staff here at The Palace, no matter what the case may be.

We all thank you for submitting your positive review on TripAdvisor. and we look forward to welcoming back.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel Manager,
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just returned after spending a week here. Was surprised that Thomson Holidays had downgraded this hotel to a 4 star, on the guest questionnaires they received. We felt that it deserved its 5 star rating.
Check-in was straightforward but we were given the wrong room this was quickly rectified the next morning we were given a complimentary upgrade for the inconvienence. Room 844 looked out over the town close to the church with its random chimes day & night!
The room was spacious and cleaned daily, towels and linen changed at your request. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choices. We ate in the Talk of the Town Cafe Bar in the hotel which served delicious food. The hotel does a buffet dinner at night which is good value at 25 euros per head.
The outdoor pool is well maintained and there are plenty of sun loungers pool towels are provided.
Easy access to Sliema Town and the ferries and local buses.
All in all a good place to stay with friendly courteous staff on hand at all times.

Room Tip: Go for the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dollymix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear DollymixOssett,

We thank you for placing your comments about your stay at The Palace on TripAdvisor.
Yor feedback is much appreciated by all and as your words testify, nothing is a problem for us as your satisfaction is our guaranteed pleasure.

We look forward to having back as our esteemed guests for further pleasant stays at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here a for a week in an 8th floor room with balcony (superior room) and very much enjoyed it. The taxi from airport booked with prestige Cars via the hotel was waiting for us on arrival. Check in was efficient and quick. Our room was spacious, comfortable with a lovely view over the roof tops to the sea. Fully stocked mini bar (at relatively reasonable prices), desk and chair and separate armchair/lounger. Hair dryer in bathroom which, as somebody else mentions, was a rather good model. If I had any quibbles it was that a vanity area with seat and plug socket in the bedroom would have been useful. But that is a trivial point.

The bed was so comfortable that I still miss it. Soft, firm, really, really comfortable. The air conditioning was a bit hit and miss at times when we stayed - I found it a bit cold at night on a few occasions and had to turn it to a warmer setting. Easily resolved.

The room was cleaned to a high standard every day and a couple of minor queries with mini bar and towel were resolved very quickly. All staff were very pleasant, welcoming and efficient. Thomas the Concierge was always very helpful and nice to speak with.

There was a very good choice at breakfast and it was all of a high quality. The scrambled eggs were very tasty - I wouldn't normally have the same breakfast in a hotel every day but at The Palace I really liked their scrambled eggs, grilled tomatoes and fruit toast.

We ate at TemptAsian once and it was excellent - again, the staff were great (so welcoming and efficient) and the food was perfect. We also ate in the bar off the ground floor lobby twice and that was also of a very high standard and fairly reasonably priced (for the standard of hotel).

We didn't use the indoor pool and the outdoor pool was still closed due to the time of year. However, both areas looked very pleasant and would be nice to utilise once the weather is warmer.

It is in a very good location for Sliema - slightly hilly but not too bad. Supermarket and local shops nearby for extra water etc.

All in all, it was a very pleasant and relaxing stay and I would certainly stay at The Palace again.

Room Tip: Better views from the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbbUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear bbbbUk

We would like to thank you for taking this opportunity to review The Palace and providing us with feedback concerning your stay.

We are very pleased that you had such a satisfying and fulfilling stay and that you enjoyed many of the facilities and services that we offer such as Prestige Cabs and Temptasian Restaurant.

We are also very pleased that our staff were able to provide such excellent service throughout your stay.

Here's to welcoming you back at The Palace for several more pleasant stays.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a gem of a hotel, staffed by the friendliest and most helpful people. The rooms are a good size, spotless and airy. The breakfast and dinner buffets are plentiful, varied and so fresh and tasty, and who knew that Malta (and especially Gozo) wines could be that nice! At every step the staff are attentive, helpful and full of smiles. I agree with a previous review that Temptasian is wonderful, and would definitely recommend a visit even if on half board. We visited in April, when the weather was warm, but I suspect that if you can eat on the terrace in summer, it would be an even nicer experience. Loved the infinity pool. The only issues, although nothing spoiled the holiday, are that the pool bar does not open until May/June, despite the fantastic weather. Also the hotel is a few hundred yards from the front, although its position does actually mean that you can walk easily to both sides of the headland. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear 44Jon,

Your comments on Tripadvisor are much appreciated by all the team at The Palace.

With reference to the pool bar, this operates seasonally, that is, during the warmer months of the year.

The rest has been satisfactory for you and that gives us much pleasure.

We do look ahead to welcoming you back for further pleasant stays at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel Manager,
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

When my friend and I arrived at the hotel, we were warmly greeted the staff were helpful at all times. The amenities were excellent. The hotel was spotless and our room exceeded our expectations. We used the treatment rooms for a massage which was very good, the swimming pools were clean with plenty of places to relax. The food prices in this hotel were not too expensive as so many five star hotels can be, which meant you could enjoy more time in the hotel. The hotel is near to the shops and restaurants and the bay itself. We would definitely go back to this hotel.
Jennifer D and Sandra F

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear jennifer d,

I thank you and your friend for the complimentary review placed on TripAdvisor following your stay at The Palace.

We are so glad to know that it lived up to your expectations

Looking forward to hosting you on other stays with us at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel Manager,
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Thanks to all the staff for making my holiday so enjoyable. The hotel is even better than it was in 2011 and I cannot wait to return. The food is very good and I particularly enjoyed Sunday lunch and dinner in the TemptAsian Restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Anne B,

It is certainlyencouraging that you feel The Palace has improved since you last visited. And it is in our plans to keep improving and building on what has been achieved so far.

That way you will see even more improvement on your next visits to The Palace. We look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel Manager,
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,602 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,938 reviews
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,864 reviews
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,901 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Onthebeach, Expedia, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing