We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion (3rd time at The Palace)”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Sliema, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Reunion (3rd time at The Palace)”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It was the third year in a row where it was decided to hold our annual Family Reunion at The Palace Hotel, in their beautifully designed "State Hall". It was a full blown buffet lunch, for around 80 people in total, which included a variety of Antipasti, Soup, a choice of pasta and a lovely choice of main course. As though that was not enough, the hotel even assisted with preparing different food for 4 people who suffer from food intolerance. Goes without saying that the food was excellent and the service was even better than that. Smiles all round from the staff who's patience was admirable :) A heartful thank you goes out to Darren, Rebecca, Vladimir, the Gabriella's and all the rest of the catering and floor staff. THANK YOU for making this yet another memorable event.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonAPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear AlisonAPM,

Darren, Rebecca, Vladimir, the Gabriella's and the rest of the crew here at The Palace are only too happy to know they made your third annual family reunion, held in The Palace's State Hall, one to remember with fond nostalgia.

Your glowing review on Tripadvisor is appreciated by all here at The Palace.

May we look forward to hosting you and your lovely family for more special occasions.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,989
    964
    294
    79
    29
See reviews for
439
2,044
142
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (992)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Good hotel in Sliema Malta, we will definitely visit again.
Staff excellent & always helpful. Breakfast buffet excellent with plenty of choice.
Chef prepares omelettes to fit your palate. Terrace rooftop & pool great place to sunbathe with exceptional views.Small refreshment facility serving wine, beer & coffees next to outdoor pool.
Spa area ok, need to have specific times that children can use pool, otherwise the idea of a relaxing spa is a misnomer.Gym basic for those who want to exercise. Massage treatments very good 35 euros plus. Depending on treatment required.
Try the Tempt Asian restaurant on 9th floor recommended for food &views
Hotel is up a hill from harbour so less able may need a taxi/ transport.

Room Tip: Valletta facing rooms have the views, but the church bells may affect light sleepers. They ring nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalterTrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear WalterTrump,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.

We like to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay and also what they would like to see or change.

Your feedback is very useful to us.

We look ahead to hosting your next visits to The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zejtun, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Had a great Sunday buffet lunch on a family occasion. Food was great and the organisation was impeccable despite being a big group (around 40 people). Thumbs up espescially go to Stephen and Rebecca for their organisational skills and their excellent hosting capabilities. Thanks to both and also to all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Ian S,

Sylvain, Rebecca and the rest of the team here at The Palace are happy to know that your Buffet family event went well. To us this simply means service well rendered and your satisfaction is our pleasure.

The review you placed on Tripadvisor is also much appreciated.

We trust we will see you back for other happy and relaxing occasions at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here for a week. On our first night we were impressed with our room, it was very spacious and clean. The downside was the noise from the church clock opposite, which bongs every 15 minutes! When we mentioned it the next morning we were transferred to another room at the back, which wasn't quite as nice and had no sunlight, but at least it was quiet.

Beds are huge and wonderfully comfortable, so were the pillows. As mentioned by other reviewers, breakfast is fantastic, with a great choice of fresh fruit, cheeses, cold meats, hot food, pastries etc.

Staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located, a 10 minute downhill walk to the harbour and ferries to Valletta.

Freebie toiletries were just shampoo, bath gel & soap, all quite neutral smelling, so if you're a fan of luxury toiletries, take your own.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Val D,

Your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at The Palace is most appreciated and acknowledged.

All comments and suggestions made by our guests are discussed at Management level as this reflects what our guests enjoy and expect from us here at The Palace.

We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We've just returned from our third stay at the Palace, which again lived up to our expectations. The hotel was very full when we arrived, and unfortunately we weren't able to check in until the published time of 3 p.m.. But once in our room, it was of the usual high standard, with very comfortable beds, spotlessly clean, and with an ample supply of toiletries. The housekeeping service is still very efficient, and all staff are without exception charming and do everything possible to help their guests.

The breakfasts were just as wonderful as I had remembered, made even better by free flowing sparkling wine. We ate in the Tabloid on three occasions, and the standard of food was excellent. My husband celebrated his birthday whilst we were at the Palace, and a beautiful cake was delivered to our room. We found a special offer coupon on the hotel website which gave us a free meal at the TemptAsian for anyone celebrating a birthday during their stay at the hotel; my husband's birthday was on a Wednesday, which was the Indian special meal in the restaurant, and I was surprised that we were still allowed to use the voucher towards the cost of what was already a reasonably priced meal. The food and service were faultless.

I used the indoor pool a couple of times, and had it completely to myself, which was lovely. We were directly opposite the church, but once the windows are shut at night, really didn't find the bells at all intrusive.

The hotel has now started to charge for car parking, but this is only 2 Euros per day, so is not a significant amount, and well worth the convenience of being able to park within a few footsteps of the hotel.

It was another perfect stay and I'm sure we will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Growlybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Growlybear,

Your third stay at The Palace is enough testimony of the service we are providing you.

I thank you for your extensive and positive review on TripAdvisor and i assure you that your compliments are much appreciated across the board here at The Palace.

I also extend best wishes to your husband on the occasion of his birthday and it is good to know that The Palace served to make his special day a memorable one.

We look forward to having you back at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed in the hotel with our parents. The hotel is located in the heart of Sliema very close to the harbour and High Street. There is plenty of shops and restaurants around.
Our room was decent size, very comfortable with balcony and view over Valetta's harbour. The bed was huge, bigger than King Size, the mattress was very soft, linen as well. The room was clean every day, but if you want your linen to be changed you need to place special card on your bed. The towels were replaced every day.
We had breakfasts there, the hotel offers Scandinavian table with big variety of food. Also there are few restaurants in the hotel. We had dinner in TemptAsian restaurant which was OK. We can recommend the soups served there but don't order "Prawns, prawns, prawns" if you love prawns! You will get more batter and breadcrumbs than prawns. We also had dinners in A Lounge which again offers big variety of food to be chosen.
There are 2 pools in the hotel, both highly occupied by parents witch children. There is a gym where children were playing! Forget about chill out! We had pleasant stay overall.

Room Tip: The bells from the local church wake you up over night if you sleep with open windows. A/C available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magdar709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear magdar709,

We would like to thank you for submitting your review of your recent stay at The Palace on Tripadvisor.

Hopefully you will return to The Palace for other stays to find that it is to your full satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zabbar, Malta
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed at The Palace for one night after a wedding at TemptAsian (what a wonderful day - yummy food and great staff!!). The hotel is modern and clean. The decor is beautiful. Most of the staff are polite and smiley. The room is well furnished and modern.The bathroom is clean with excellent water pressure and hot water.

The highlight however is the breakfast! Excellent cold and hot selection. Helpful staff with often replenished tea and coffee. Yummy croissants and pain-au-chocolat with chocolate fondue! Heavenly! To make it perfect, sparkling wine also available :)

Only suggestions for improvement: more English TV channels would be nice, as would be shampoo and conditioner available in the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P-and-J-Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear P-and-J-Malta,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your short stay at The Palace and that the wedding at Temptasian lived up to your expectations.

All comments and suggestions are most welcome, and rest assured that your feedback will not go unnoticed.

Should you need any help making further reservations or booking at The Palace, please do not hesitate to contact us. Our staff will be only too happy to help you out.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,545 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,903 reviews
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,836 reviews
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Onthebeach, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing