We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Killala, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just back after spending a lovely week in the Palace Hotel Sliema. Great hotel, ideal location and wonderful staff-especially Thomas and Andrew. We would highly recommend this hotel-so look no further if you are heading off to Sliema-Enjoy.

Steve and Bernie
County Mayo

Room Tip: Stayed on 5th floor -really quiet and chilled
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Steve D,

A big 'thank you' from all at The Palace for kindly placing your review about your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We look ahead to hosting further relaxing stays at The Palace in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,973
    951
    288
    78
    29
See reviews for
432
2,025
141
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (980)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great location. Hotel was within easy walking distance to seafront, restaurants, shops and ferry and bus service to Valletta, but in a nice, quiet location. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful. We would definitely choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: only quibble concerns breakfast--not quite as much choice for those of us used to Israeli hotel brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Sharon S,

Thank you for placing your positive comments about your stay at The Palace on Tripadvisor.

We love to hear what our guests have to say about their experiences at The Palace.

Looking forward to having you back at The Palace again soon.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I often visit Malta and always stay in Sliema, but have the last couple of times I have been I have stayed at the Palace and will continue to do so as I Love this hotel !, it's family friendly, clean, central, the food is great, the pools are great, the rooms are beautifully kept, there is a lovely atmosphere all around the hotel and the staff are excellent, especially Jonathan the hotel manager ! he always makes a point of checking if everyone is Ok, he is always on hand with advice on transport, the best places to visit, eat and where to find anything you may need - I would higly recommend a stay at this hotel !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Kerry H,

Jonathan and management and staff here at The Palace would like to thank you for your complimentary review placed on Tripadvisor following your stay at The Palace.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

We do hope to see you back at The Palace again soon.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent marvelous 4 days at this hotel. We received a large room early in the morning.
(before check in hours) and also the staff helped us in arranging a late check out (at 22:00)
The hotel is a very nice 5* hotel , good location, very quiet and clean with a very dedicated staff, who is willing to help any time, even without asking.
Breakfast was wonderful, tasty with large variety of food.
We highly recommend this 5* hotel and for sure we will come back.

Room Tip: High floor , not to the church side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear michal M,

I thank you for the lovely review you posted on TripAdvisor regarding your four day stay at The Palace.

We are truly honored to read your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back for further breaks at The Palace, be they long or short.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is ideally located for easy access to the esplanade providing easy walking to shops and restaurants including the Point Shopping Mall and all the usual high street shops. Our room balcony provided stunning views of Valletta. The Hotel is very clean and comfortable and all the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. The breakfast is very good with an extensive choice covering all tastes. We stayed half board and found the evening menu to be acceptable with a good choice of dishes. On one occasion none of the main dishes on offer were to our taste. However, the restaurant manager intervened requesting the chef to prepare a dish of our choice at no extra cost which was very nice. The pool terrace on the 9th floor was uncrowded and an excellent location to rest on comfortable loungers and laze way the day reading and catching a few rays (bliss). One thing to be aware of is that rooms are not available until 3pm. We arrived at the hotel at 9.45am and had to wait 5 hours for our room which was a bit of a pain as we were feeling very tired having been up since 1.30am. We had a lovely holiday at the Palace and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Go high as due to surrounding buildings your views from the balcony would be restricted. 5th floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Stephen B,

Thank you for placing your positive comments about your stay at The Palace on Tripadvisor. We love to hear what our guests have to say about their experiences at The Palace.

As regards to the rooms we will pass your comments to the House keeping Manager.

Looking forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I have not stayed in this hotel myself as I live Malta, but needed to find a good hotel to recommend to a lot of my clients, friends and family members visiting the island this spring. I'm always extremely careful when recommending something - it feels worse if someone else has a bad experience because of a hotel I suggest, than if I was the one staying there myself. Therefore, I checked out the hotel in every way I could, and also had extensive and VERY positive contact with them (especially with Mr Andy Tanti) before I - suitably impressed - went ahead and recommended it. The thing is, they surpassed all that I had hoped for by FAR! And in ways that REALLY matter...

I have gotten detailed feedback from dozens of people and every single one said the hotel was brilliant. The location, in the middle of Sliema, provides the perfect starting point for exploring all of the island. Some of the Superior rooms have a gorgeous view of Valletta, and although this comes with the proximity of church bells which chime every 15 minutes, everyone who stayed in those rooms thought it absolutely worth it. Only one thing did not impress a few people, and that was the buffet restaurant, Tabloid, on the ground floor. But there's an abundance of restaurants nearby, as well as the "TemptAsian" on the hotel's top floor, which everyone praised.

Two of my clients, a very sweet Scandinavian couple, had the misfortune of the husband getting terribly sick (a nasty stomach bug, they later found out - entirely unrelated to the hotel) three days before they were due to leave. And THIS is where the hotel went from very professional to simply incredible, genuinely caring and personal! The wife told me how everyone at the hotel helped out and was immensely thoughtful, WAY beyond the call of duty. Everyone, she said, from the doorman to the cleaning lady, to the reception staff and the breakfast staff, went out of their way to help and make them feel at home. The doctor who was called by the hotel (when the couple realized, the day before they were due to leave, that he wasn't going to get better without help) was also top notch.

I know the couple's gratitude is immense, but I think mine matches it... The care, warmth and concern that was shown by EVERYONE at the hotel meant that the couple felt they had a truly wonderful trip. Recommending The Palace Hotel was the best thing I could possibly have done and there is NO doubt I will continue to do so for future visitors here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Incat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Incat,

We thank you for kindly finding the time to write in your thoughts about the stay at The Palace.

You wrote quite extensively and all Management and staff at The Palace are extremely appreciative of this.

We all look ahead to welcome you and your friends back at The Palace in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful first stay at the Palace. Lovely room, very friendly, helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble. Would definitely recommend. Speak to Thomas for great restaurants & visit Vladimir in Lounge 360 for 2 for 1 cocktails!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear MS51,

It is most gratifying to know that your first stay at The Palace lived up to your expectations.

On behalf of all the staff I thank you for placing your positive comments on Tripadvisor.

Should you require any help with making reservations for your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact us. We will be only too happy to help you out.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,464 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing