We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good one in Sliema”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
warsaw
Level Contributor
185 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Good one in Sliema”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Palace is probably one of the best choices in Sliema, and despite it's not directly at the sea promenade the location is super.

+ amazing views from room (was on 7th floor)
+ balcony
+ big room, lots of space
+ big bathroom, had both bath and shower cabin
+ nice fitness / spa
+ very good breakfast
+ staff very helpful
+ coffee machine at the room
+ wifi

Why not full 5?
- room needs renovation, stains here and there. Toilet as well would need little upgrade
- nice coffee machine but cups didnt match to it
- spa area wasnt clean (lots of towels here and there, and floors didnt seem to be washed for some time)
> lacks attention to detail what 5 stars should definately have

Safety choice anyway, and beats most of the hotels in Malta for sure!

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mokoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear mokoma,

Your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at The Palace is most appreciated and acknowledged.

All comments and suggestions made by our guests are discussed at Management level as this reflects what our guests enjoy and expect from us here at The Palace.

We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,989
    964
    294
    79
    29
See reviews for
439
2,044
142
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (992)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is the 3rd time we chose to stay in this hotel and this time it was a little special - we were getting married. The hotel kindly upgraded us..... what a room and what a view ! Many of our guests also stayed in the hotel and were equally impressed, so much so that some are already planning a return visit. The breakfasts are good with much choice, the rooms modern, spacious and clean, and the views from the rooftop swimming pool are stunning. The service from all the staff was top notch. Special mentions for Dorianne, Thomas and Andrew who were particularly welcoming. Thanks to the Palace for making our wedding week one we'll never forget !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Bea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Dave_Bea,

It is most gratifying to know that your third stay at The Palace lived up to your expectations again.

Dorianne, Thomas and Andrew and the rest of their colleagues, management and staff here at The Palace would like to thank you for your complimentary review placed on Tripadvisor following your stay at The Palace

We do hope to see you back at The Palace again soon.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in July 2013 on a business trip.

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are outstanding with fabulous views across the city.

The beds are extremely comfy and I had a great nights sleep here. The air conditioning is particularly useful and it quite quiet as well so will not disturb your sleep.

The bathroom was great and was extremely spacious and had both a bath and a separate shower cubicle.

I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Alice M,

Thank you for placing your positive comments about your stay at The Palace on Tripadvisor. We love to hear what our guests have to say about their experiences at The Palace.

We always go through our guests' comments with considerable interest as your feedback keeps us informed regarding what our guests like or dislike.

Looking forward to having you back at The Palace again soon.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Have just returned from a glorious week on the beautiful island of Malta, staying at the Palace Hotel Sliema.We were celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary so wanted somewhere special to stay. The Palace ticked all the boxes and lived up to all our expectations and dreams.From the moment we arrived we were given a lovely warm welcome and made to feel special by the friendly staff,two members in particular stood out for us and they were Justin and Agote on the front desk they sought our every need and nothing was too much trouble.Justin in his professionalism and pride in his work and empathy towards his guests,his actions and attentivness made such a difference to our stay.Agote also made our stay memorable and on one occasion we had booked a day trip to Sicily which called for a 5.30 start in the morning,we had totally forgotton about breakfast and while we were waiting in reception for our transport Agote rushed into kitchen and made up two breakfast boxes for us.Its these little touches that make a hotel personnal and sets it apart from others.Overall it was a fantastic week and we will definitely be back to The Palace, this is largely down to the professionalism and dedication of all the staff.A big thank you to all concerned.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view if possible and higher up the better as the views of the sea and Sliem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear DaveSomerset,

Justin & Agote and the rest of their colleagues, management and staff here at The Palace would like to thank you for your complimentary review placed on Tripadvisor following your stay at The Palace.

We all look ahead to welcome you back at The Palace in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The minute I arrived at the hotel the friendliness shon through .being greeted and helped from taxi.to the reception.
The roof top pool speaks for itself when you see it for thr first time....

Definitely will return......hopefully sooner than later

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Richard H,

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

We do hope to see you back at The Palace again soon.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our first visit to Malta and we could not have picked a better location and hotel. All Staff (particularly reception and PR ) were very friendly and attentive. We upgraded to Executive Room on level 7 and the city/sea views and rooms were excellent. We'll worth the extra expense. My wife and I had half board and the meals were very good ----- the Asian restuarant on the 9th floor is a must !! Would recommend this hotel and it's facilities if you are considering a visit to Malta. DL

Room Tip: Level 6 and above for Valletta and sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carjen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Carjen2014,

It is most gratifying to know that your first stay at The Palace lived up to your expectations.

On behalf of all the staff I thank you for placing your positive comments on Tripadvisor.

Should you require any help with making reservations for your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact us. We will be only too happy to help you out.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very nice hotel that was very clean and had very friendly staff. Rooms were spacious with a balcony over looking Valletta. The rooftop infinity pool is lovely (but cold!) with ample sunbeds, all with padded loungers. The temptAsian restaurant in the hotel is excellent. The breakfast was ok but I would of expected more of a 5 star hotel. Service wasn't the best in some areas- breakfast - you could wait 10 mins before being offered tea/coffee. Bar - had to ask to be served and waited a long time (30 mins) for snack food on 2 occasions. Pool bar staff don't come round to offer a drinks service which is a missed opportunity. An issue with no pool towels one day!! Great location, 5 min walk to water/range of restaurants. Overall very good hotel which has the potential to be a very good 5 star if some minor changes were made. Nice spa in hotel with good offers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Julie M,

Many thanks for submitting your positive review about your stay at The Palace on Tripadvisor.

We apologise for the service given at the bar, your comment will be discussed with the F&B department in order to improve our service.

Looking forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,545 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,903 reviews
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,837 reviews
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Onthebeach, TravelUp, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing