We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

hi we arrived at the airport in Malta and after customs etc,we met our prearranged driver and were immediately whisked away to our hotel,when we arrived we checked in and were taken up to 2nd floor by the doorman,upon entering our room we were pleasantly surprised with how airy the room was,nice bath and shower room,also 5ft bed with excellent airconditioning....next morning we went for breakfast and it was very good,lots of different breads,cheeses,fruits,cakes,plus the normal eggs,bacon,fried ham and cold ham etc also a chef on hand to make omelets.5 mins away from hotel is the harbour where you can get a ferry to Sliema or take a trip around the harbour and visit Gozo and many other places...all in all a nice relaxing holiday.....forgot to mention nice pool on roof with food availiable.....

Room Tip: all rooms look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear davisville,

Your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at The Palace is most appreciated and acknowledged.

We always go through our guests' comments with considerable interest as your feedback keeps us informed regarding what our guests like or dislike.

Looking forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,572 - 1,578 of 3,624 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Spent a week at the Palace and and can only say we had an amazing time. Our room was on the 4th floor and was spacious and clean and had a wonderful views of the sea and towards Valetta. The church bells chimed every quarter of an hour and added to the character of the place. Still not sure exactly what they meant!!
Thanks to Dorianne and Andrew who were both very helpful. We will definately consider returning to the Palace.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor and above give the best views and go for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hols45794246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear hols45794246,

Dorianne,Andrew the front desk team and the rest of their colleagues, management and staff here at The Palace would like to thank you for your complimentary review placed on Tripadvisor following your stay at The Palace.

We all look ahead to welcome you back at The Palace in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a really very enjoyable stay at the Palace Hotel in Sliema.

Our room (Superior) overlooked the ‘skyline’ of Sliema and onwards towards Valletta, which was a wonderful sight during the day, at dusk and in the evening.

Our room was spacious with a comfy bed, generous sized bathroom including a shower cubicle and a bath, a small sofa, ample storage and writing desk. Our balcony was large enough to accommodate two sun loungers, two chairs and a table with relative ease. The room was kept immaculately clean and tidy by Rosa on a daily basis with towels etc being replenished/renewed without having to ask.

Breakfast was excellent, typical mixture of English breakfast choices, Continental with cold meats etc, wide choice of juice and coffee and tea etc etc

Evening meal was buffet style with cold and hot choices, soup, pasta and a wide range of desserts. The evening meal was often themed (eg Italian, Maltese, Fish) and varied between ‘ok’ and ‘exceptional’.

We did eat in the TemptAsian restaurant on the 9th floor which was actually exceptional – see separate review.

The Hotel staff were welcoming, smiley, cheerful, helpful and polite.

The rooftop sun terrace and infinity pool was a great place to be if you could get a sunbed - I sort of informed the impression that not necessarily all the occupants of the said sunbeds were actually Hotel residents which if so is rather irritating as this area is one of the selling points points of the Palace Hotel. When we did manage to get a place we were treated to panoramic 360 degree views in pleasant surroundings with a cooling breeze.

The Hotel, as indicated by other reviewers, sits in a slightly elevated position to the surrounding area however we personally did not find this too much of an issue. Certainly all aspects of the seafront and town were easily accessible from the Hotel and within relatively short walking distances of the ferries, buses, shops and restaurants etc.

We saw many Hotels as we traveled around Malta and in our opinion the Palace Hotel, although in the 'city' was the most ideally placed to access everything Malta has to offer (which is considerable)

However, whilst I am not sure what constitutes a 5 Star Hotel in Malta, our view would be that perhaps the Palace Hotel is not quite there yet by British and other international standards, they just need that little bit extra, not a lot but just that little bit more - a typical example is, as also said by others reviewing the Palace Hotel, the coffee and tea in the morning. Some times you are served within a moment of sitting down yet other times you almost have to go and help yourselves! I know this is only a small issue but I think it demonstrates that the Palace Hotel is maybe just not quite there as a 5 Star establishment.

When writing a review it is difficult not to make any slightly negative comments the stand out issues of that review and I wish you to read the positive aspects above as our overriding impression is that the Palace Hotel is a really great place to stay, somewhere we enjoyed being throughout our week in Malta and somewhere that certainly made us feel welcome and relaxed.

I guess the acid test is would we go back to the the Palace Hotel if we visited Malta in the future and would we recommend the Palace Hotel to friends if they were to visit Malta? The answer a definite Yes!

{Whilst this hotel may not be quite there in terms truly providing a 5 star level of service etc I am somewhat surprised at some of the comments in other reviews which almost sound like a totally different establishment but I appreciate one can only comment on one's own experiences.}

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing towards Valletta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear traveller082,

I thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Your honest feedback is appreciated as is your time and effort in placing your comments on this site.

You wrote quite extensively and all Management and staff at The Palace are extremely appreciative of this.All comments and suggestions made by our guests are discussed at Management level as this reflects what our guests enjoy and expect from us here at The Palace.

Looking forward to having you back at The Palace again soon.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Staff so friendly and helpful excellent service . Stayed for a week end break and it was fantastic good food , comfortable enjoyed every minute . Will definitely book again maybe 2 nights was too short.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingbliss14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear travellingbliss14,

On behalf of all the staff I thank you for placing your positive comments on Tripadvisor.

Should you require any help with making reservations for your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact us. We will be only too happy to help you out.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we got a bad impression, the exterior and lobby is extremely old fashioned and do not come close to a 5 star hotel. We had to bring our own luggage to the room, walking past hand written posters and tacky leaflets in the lobby area we finally arrived in the room in which was not very clean at all, and there were all sorts of hairs on the floors, I say no more! The shower smelled horrible and at some point stretched throughout the whole room.

Ordering room service was impossible as no one picks up the phone, and I had to call housekeeping three times before they actually sent anyone to come clean the room. The mini bar was supposed to be complementary, but on our last night we got a bill for everything we had had from it. Also, in order to get towels by the pool you have to present them with tokens they leave in the room, really? It was a joke!

I could really go on and on about all the negatives, for example there are many bottles in the mini bar that needs to be opened with a bottle opener, but there was none in the room. They sell cigars in the downstairs bar, yet they do not have cigar cutters! Even the body lotion they provide in the rooms smelled like wet towels, I had to wash it off! The balcony offers no privacy as it is only a separation wall on one side, and on the other side it is very close to the next-door balcony.

The drinks were horrible and the food was to the point of being inedible; we tried the TemptAsian restaurant the first evening, and let’s just say we went to bed a little sick and very hungry that night!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travellife85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We just stayed for two nights in this hotel. But we will surely visit again! The most thing that makes this hotel amazing is the staff. They are so friendly and helpful and always with a smile. A special thanks goes to Jonathan Pisani that helped us a lot and gave us good info on the hotel. We had a huge terrace with the room and we were very surprised on how tidy we found our room after breakfast! The maid also collected our shoes and put everything in order WOW!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimi111287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear mimi111287,

Jonathan and management and staff here at The Palace would like to thank you for your complimentary review placed on Tripadvisor following your stay at The Palace.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

We do hope to see you back at The Palace again soon.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Hotel well situated to get around Sliema and Valetta. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Amazing swimming pool on the top floor with view of Valetta, but quite crowded as shared with the Victoria.
We were however very disappointed in our room of which had just a window looking into an inside court. So could not see outside or get fresh air, felt like we were in a cellar!!! this was not mentioned when we booked and paid in advance for our room staying 10 nights, we asked to change but where told it was an extra 30€ a night.
Air conditioning unable to change the temp without it going berserk banging and rattling so had
to leave it on 16°
Bathroom well in need of renovations, lighting very dim especially as the room had no natural light!!
and very noisy with the ventilation coming on with light switch. Bath cracked and plumbing old.
We enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would return if it wasn't for the room not having an outside window.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baud D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Baud D,

We would like to thank you for taking this opportunity to review The Palace and providing us with feedback concerning your stay.

The Maintenance Manager and his team will be informed by your constructive comments regarding the air-conditioning system and the bathroom facilities and I can assure you that issues will be tackled.

As regards to the room we are disappointed that it didn't meet your expectations.

We look forward to host you again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,095 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,011 reviews
1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £88 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace is supplemented by six unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing