We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection from start to finish”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Palace for 2 weeks starting 17th June. We are regular visitors of Malta as my husband has family there and have to say that this is the the best hotel we have stayed at.

Room:
The room was very modern and spacious. We had a large flat screen TV and good storage for clothes etc. The bathroom was a sufficient size with good range of shampoo, shower gels and so on which were always stocked daily. Our housekeeping lady I think her name was Marisa was brilliant. She always left the room spotless and if we needed anything we would leave her a little note. She would always provide us with exactly what we asked for.

Pool:
The pool was always spotless as was the pool area. The sun loungers are plenty full and very comfortable. I also have to mention the view from the pool as it was amazing. The pool was lovely and cold which believe me was a blessing as this time of year.

food:
We went half board and had no complaints. There was a brilliant selection for breakfast. Also the evening Meal was always tasty and to the highest of standards. It was also convenient that if you had plans to eat out in the evening, you could change your evening meal to lunch at the talk of the town which is a restaurant attached to the hotel. We also had a meal at the Temptasian on the rooftop which was beautiful. This is not included in the half board but you get 12 euros off each.

Staff:

Reception were very helpful and polite. Andrew the porter was lovely and always stopped us for a chat with a smile. I have to mention the fantastic bar staff Joevin and Mark. They were so funny and very easy to get along with. The cocktails they made were amazing especially the Mojito's. I have to say it was these two that kept us coming back to bar...They are truly a credit to the hotel ..BRILLIANT!!

Last but not least I also have to mention the Dorianne the guest relation officer. She not only approached us to ask us if we were enjoying and if we need anything but really took time to chat to us about Malta and was genuinely interested in what we had to say. Thank you Dorianne for your time you are also a credit to the hotel.

Mrs & Mrs Weaver
All in all i really cant understand anyone complaining about this hotel and will certainly be booking to return next year. Thank you Palace for an amazing holiday.x

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael19692013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Michael19692013,

Marisa, Dorianne,Andrew,Joevin & Mark and the rest of their colleagues, management and staff here at The Palace would like to thank you for your complimentary review placed on Tripadvisor following your stay at The Palace.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,477)
There are newer reviews for The Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,456 - 1,462 of 3,477 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed in The Palace for business in June and found the hotel very comfortable.
Set as a 5* I would consider it more 4* really, but the rooms were very large and included all amenities. Sadly they only seem to do twin beds in Malta generally instead of doubles or kings size beds.

However, gym and pool facilities were excellent and the roof top infinity pool is particularly impressive.
A little on the expensive side, but for the peaceful nights sleep especially on an island like Malta I would say it was worth it.
They even gave me a breakfast to take away with me as I left the hotel very early in the morning.

Overall a worthwhile stay and in a good location situated close to the coast in Sliema.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Oliver H,

Thank you for placing your comments about your stay at The Palace on Tripadvisor. We love to hear what our guests have to say about their experiences at The Palace.

All comments and suggestions made by our guests are discussed at Management level as this reflects what our guests enjoy and expect from us here at The Palace.

We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I suppose everyone has a place on this planet were they keep coming back as it just feels "right". That's Malta for me.

The Palace has everything what One might wish for in order to relax and re-charge their batteries before going back to their "regular" life.
Brilliant team which makes you feel very welcome and comfortable, amazing food (hats off to the kitchen team!), spacious rooms with great beds guaranteeing soundless sleep and amazing views. All of the above made me eager to start planning a proper holiday at the hotel shortly after my way too short recent stay.

With regards of some of reoccurring comments:
The hotel is located on a slightly steep hill, however if one is prepared to walk a bit more there's plenty of small side streets and some don't require hiking skills. :)
The oh, so infamous church bells are hardly to be heard so wouldn't worry much when booking a room.

I would also like to take an opportunity to post special thanks to (in no particular order): Aimee, Jonathan, Mark, Pauline and Paul for not just being as great as they are but also for having an excellent memory and remembering someone despite a year long gap between the visits. :)
Thank you and hopefully see you soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MartakW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear MartakW,

Aimee, Jonathan, Mark, Pauline and Paul the rest of their colleagues, management and staff here at The Palace would like to thank you for your complimentary review placed on Tripadvisor following your stay at The Palace.

We always go through our guests' comments with considerable interest as your feedback keeps us informed regarding what our guests like or dislike.

Looking forward to having you back at The Palace again soon.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

hi we arrived at the airport in Malta and after customs etc,we met our prearranged driver and were immediately whisked away to our hotel,when we arrived we checked in and were taken up to 2nd floor by the doorman,upon entering our room we were pleasantly surprised with how airy the room was,nice bath and shower room,also 5ft bed with excellent airconditioning....next morning we went for breakfast and it was very good,lots of different breads,cheeses,fruits,cakes,plus the normal eggs,bacon,fried ham and cold ham etc also a chef on hand to make omelets.5 mins away from hotel is the harbour where you can get a ferry to Sliema or take a trip around the harbour and visit Gozo and many other places...all in all a nice relaxing holiday.....forgot to mention nice pool on roof with food availiable.....

Room Tip: all rooms look good
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear davisville,

Your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at The Palace is most appreciated and acknowledged.

We always go through our guests' comments with considerable interest as your feedback keeps us informed regarding what our guests like or dislike.

Looking forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Spent a week at the Palace and and can only say we had an amazing time. Our room was on the 4th floor and was spacious and clean and had a wonderful views of the sea and towards Valetta. The church bells chimed every quarter of an hour and added to the character of the place. Still not sure exactly what they meant!!
Thanks to Dorianne and Andrew who were both very helpful. We will definately consider returning to the Palace.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor and above give the best views and go for a superior room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hols45794246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear hols45794246,

Dorianne,Andrew the front desk team and the rest of their colleagues, management and staff here at The Palace would like to thank you for your complimentary review placed on Tripadvisor following your stay at The Palace.

We all look ahead to welcome you back at The Palace in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a really very enjoyable stay at the Palace Hotel in Sliema.

Our room (Superior) overlooked the ‘skyline’ of Sliema and onwards towards Valletta, which was a wonderful sight during the day, at dusk and in the evening.

Our room was spacious with a comfy bed, generous sized bathroom including a shower cubicle and a bath, a small sofa, ample storage and writing desk. Our balcony was large enough to accommodate two sun loungers, two chairs and a table with relative ease. The room was kept immaculately clean and tidy by Rosa on a daily basis with towels etc being replenished/renewed without having to ask.

Breakfast was excellent, typical mixture of English breakfast choices, Continental with cold meats etc, wide choice of juice and coffee and tea etc etc

Evening meal was buffet style with cold and hot choices, soup, pasta and a wide range of desserts. The evening meal was often themed (eg Italian, Maltese, Fish) and varied between ‘ok’ and ‘exceptional’.

We did eat in the TemptAsian restaurant on the 9th floor which was actually exceptional – see separate review.

The Hotel staff were welcoming, smiley, cheerful, helpful and polite.

The rooftop sun terrace and infinity pool was a great place to be if you could get a sunbed - I sort of informed the impression that not necessarily all the occupants of the said sunbeds were actually Hotel residents which if so is rather irritating as this area is one of the selling points points of the Palace Hotel. When we did manage to get a place we were treated to panoramic 360 degree views in pleasant surroundings with a cooling breeze.

The Hotel, as indicated by other reviewers, sits in a slightly elevated position to the surrounding area however we personally did not find this too much of an issue. Certainly all aspects of the seafront and town were easily accessible from the Hotel and within relatively short walking distances of the ferries, buses, shops and restaurants etc.

We saw many Hotels as we traveled around Malta and in our opinion the Palace Hotel, although in the 'city' was the most ideally placed to access everything Malta has to offer (which is considerable)

However, whilst I am not sure what constitutes a 5 Star Hotel in Malta, our view would be that perhaps the Palace Hotel is not quite there yet by British and other international standards, they just need that little bit extra, not a lot but just that little bit more - a typical example is, as also said by others reviewing the Palace Hotel, the coffee and tea in the morning. Some times you are served within a moment of sitting down yet other times you almost have to go and help yourselves! I know this is only a small issue but I think it demonstrates that the Palace Hotel is maybe just not quite there as a 5 Star establishment.

When writing a review it is difficult not to make any slightly negative comments the stand out issues of that review and I wish you to read the positive aspects above as our overriding impression is that the Palace Hotel is a really great place to stay, somewhere we enjoyed being throughout our week in Malta and somewhere that certainly made us feel welcome and relaxed.

I guess the acid test is would we go back to the the Palace Hotel if we visited Malta in the future and would we recommend the Palace Hotel to friends if they were to visit Malta? The answer a definite Yes!

{Whilst this hotel may not be quite there in terms truly providing a 5 star level of service etc I am somewhat surprised at some of the comments in other reviews which almost sound like a totally different establishment but I appreciate one can only comment on one's own experiences.}

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing towards Valletta.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear traveller082,

I thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Your honest feedback is appreciated as is your time and effort in placing your comments on this site.

You wrote quite extensively and all Management and staff at The Palace are extremely appreciative of this.All comments and suggestions made by our guests are discussed at Management level as this reflects what our guests enjoy and expect from us here at The Palace.

Looking forward to having you back at The Palace again soon.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Staff so friendly and helpful excellent service . Stayed for a week end break and it was fantastic good food , comfortable enjoyed every minute . Will definitely book again maybe 2 nights was too short.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingbliss14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear travellingbliss14,

On behalf of all the staff I thank you for placing your positive comments on Tripadvisor.

Should you require any help with making reservations for your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact us. We will be only too happy to help you out.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,760 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,988 reviews
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,055 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,011 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £83 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace is supplemented by six unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing