We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“School reunion St. Aloysius College Class of 1979”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Sliema, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“School reunion St. Aloysius College Class of 1979”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a fantastic BBQ evening for our school reunion - 35 years since we left school. Everything from the hotels side was excellent and what we were promised was punctually delivered. The food was really good and abundant and the staff really helpful and courteous . The 50+ guests all commented very positively.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Chris M,

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace we would like to thank you for submitting such a positive review about the recent event held at The Palace on TripAdvisor.

It is gratifying to see that the event was a successful one and your expectations were fully met.

We look forward to having you back at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,031
    988
    302
    80
    30
See reviews for
451
2,088
146
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,014)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Whilst staying at the Victoria/ The Palace hotel we experienced a disappointing start but this was quickly resolved by the lovely operations manager who understood our first issues and rectified the situation. Once issues were resolved , there was absolutely no denying that our holiday improved. ALL staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Always had service with a smile !

In addition to this , the facilities at the hotel were impeccable and the food amazing.

The location was incredible with easy access to all amenities you could ask for whilst on holiday .

Definitely would recommend this hotel in the future to anyone visiting Malta .

Thank you to all staff involved for making the holiday relaxing and pleasant experience .

F.B & L.B

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flick20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Flick20,

The Operations manager and the rest of the management and staff here at The Palace would like to thank you for your complimentary review placed on Tripadvisor following your stay at The Palace.

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

We do hope to see you back at The Palace again soon.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Palace Hotel for 10 days we returned home on the 9th July. We think the Palace is a lovely Hotel. Most of the staff were ever so friendly.Especially Mario on the front desk. He gave us so much good advise and nothing was to much trouble.He was such a friendly person, also Andrew always had a smile and always helped us with any questions we had.They are a credit to this Hotel.A lot of people complain about the bells ringing every 15 minutes as the Church is opposite. Our room was facing the church and I am a very light sleeper and they never bothered me. The breakfasts were very good. Plenty of choice and Tom comes up to you every morning and tops up your tea or coffee.You can have as much as you want.We didn't eat in the Restaurant in the evenings so we cannot comment.We did eat in the Talk of the Town bar attached to the Hotel the food was excellent.We found some good Restaurants along the sea front there was alot to choose from. The swimming pool area is amazing it is on the roof of the building. The views are fantastic. We never had any trouble finding a sunbed not like other places we have been to when you have to put your towels on the bed early in the morning to make sure you get a sunbed. The only downfall to this Hotel is it is on a hill. It was no problem for us but if you are elderly you would find it a bit of a struggle. No problem going down but it is the climb back up. I would advise anyone to stay at this Hotel one of the best we have ever stayed at and would certainly return. Wayne and Karen Shaw from Guernsey

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is much better than a standard room. the higher you go the better the view.The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WKShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear WKShaw,

I thank you for the 5 star review you have submitted on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at The Palace.

We are so glad to know that your stay has lived up to your full expectations and rest assured that all the staff and Management, including Mario,Andrew and Tom whom you mentioned, are extremely appreciative of your complimentary words.

The Malta Tourism Authority has an launched a 'STAR Awards' scheme where guests can nominate any member of staff who has excelled in his or her level of service and hospitality. To nominate of particular member of staff kindly log in to star-awards.visitmalta.com. By submitting a nomination, you can also win a holiday for two, subject to terms and conditions.

We look forward to seeing you back again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have stayed in this hotel several times now and it was always great. However, we just returned from our latest stay which was 5 days. The roof top terrace with the infinite pool and the amazing view on Valetta is said to be open until 7.30pm and the hotel claims that they serve food until 6. However this is not the case. from my 5 days we tried to relax by the pool 3 of those days and the others we were out and about. The staff started rolling away the sun beds very loudly every time we were there at 5pm and stopped serving drinks at 5.30 as well as food. If you want to stay by the pool, there is no way to order anything after 6pm although its open until 7.30pm (according to the opening hours sign). The staff were making a lot of noise, dragging all the sun beds, tables and chairs away and building up for the events that followed (chairs, tables, etc). They switched of the music at 5 and made everyone feel VERY uncomfortable. This happened every day we were there and people were basically told in a nonverbal way to leave. When we complained and said that from our 5 days, we were not able to spent the afternoon at the pool to relax, which we paid a lot of money for, the Hotel Manager said that there was an indoor pool as well (wow how great when its 30 degrees outside) and a tiny other outside pool with couple of sun beds (which are always taken) and a bad view onto a building site. We were offered only a drink for compensation.

It seemed like the hotel rents out the rooftop and takes no consideration of its hotel patrons, which pay a lot of money to enjoy the view of Valetta by the infinite pool in the afternoons and evenings.

If you are as fair skinned as me and cannot sit in the sun during the day but only in the mornings and in the evenings, I cannot recommend this Hotel as a place to relax and tan.

In addition the service in the 'talk of town' bar has decreased very much. Although it was not crowded it always took them ages to take our orders and serve us. It used to be much better there.

VERY disappointed by the whole experience this time.

Room Tip: we stayed on Level 6 and had an amazing sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and what a lovely hotel it was to stay in. The room we got was really big and spacious , had a nice big balcony and over looked a lovely garden area. The room location was really quite , and it is quite insulated so not much noise got in anyways. The beds were so comfy and are equipped with huge big comfortable pillows to ensure a really nice stay. Breakfast was more than adequate, and they had a large range of things to suit all different appetites- also as a tea drinker, it was nice to have someone constantly re filling your cup! The staff at this hotel were amazing. In particular Thomas! They could not have done enough for us, always trying to help us out, book trips, taxis etc and really tried to help us get the best trip possible and see all the sights! I would certaintly reccommend this hotel and if I was to return to malta, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Lyn M,

Thomas, and the rest of his colleagues, management and staff here at The Palace would like to thank you for your complimentary review placed on Tripadvisor following your stay at The Palace.

Your words are very motivational and encourage us to move ahead and always aim high when providing a high standard of service to our esteemed clients

The Malta Tourism Authority has an launched a 'STAR Awards' scheme where guests can nominate any member of staff who has excelled in his or her level of service and hospitality. To nominate of particular member of staff kindly log in to star-awards.visitmalta.com. By submitting a nomination, you can also win a holiday for two, subject to terms and conditions.

We all look ahead to welcome you back at The Palace in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here for business for 10 days, hotel is opposite a church and the bells ring every 15 minutes 24/7 so only suited to those who are heavy sleepers. Motion detectors in rooms kept me awake as they came on every time I moved in bed, totally wrong location for them.
Had pre requested a room away from the bells, my room was the closest to the church and above the outdoor hotel bar/cafe so no peace at all! Hotel seemed to just ignore my request and the hotel did not seem to be full so I am sure there were other rooms I could have had. They charged my credit card twice for my stay, yes twice and my company had already paid, when it was credited I incurred charges due to the currency fluctuation but staff were not interested in solving the problem.
Outdoor cafe tables were always dirty, even first thing at breakfast, waited up to 10 minutes before I could get my morning coffee, other people were not happy with this either.
There are no English speaking TV channels apart from the news, strange considering Malta is full of British tourists.
There are a few nice things about this hotel: The doorman, I think his name was Andrew is charming and very helpful, the staff in the Asian restaurant on the roof are also excellent and the view is fantastic. The bed was comfortable, the location is great.

This is certainly not a five star hotel, possibly a three or maybe four star tourist hotel. With some changes it could up the star rating for sure.

Room Tip: rooms away from the church bells
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minxy110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at the Palace for a week from the 2nd to the 9th of July,this was truly a 5 Star experience,we have stayed in a lot of hotels with a 5 star tag but this one defiantly deserves it,the staff were excellent and the food (especially the breakfast,proper bacon) was varied and different from the normal buffet style.
We thought we had booked a room with a balcony through the travel agent, but only had a standard room and when we explained this to Justin at the front desk he got us upgraded to a room with a Balcony.
This Hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the harbour and the buses and the WiFi (which is free) was really fast.
Next time in Malta we won't go anywhere else,thanks for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the sea it was quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Dennis F,

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one.

Justin, and the rest of his colleagues, management and staff here at The Palace would like to thank you for your complimentary review placed on Tripadvisor following your stay at The Palace.

The Malta Tourism Authority has an launched a 'STAR Awards' scheme where guests can nominate any member of staff who has excelled in his or her level of service and hospitality. To nominate of particular member of staff kindly log in to star-awards.visitmalta.com. By submitting a nomination, you can also win a holiday for two, subject to terms and conditions.

We all look ahead to welcome you back at The Palace in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,965 reviews
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,969 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,961 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing