We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 5* hotel but 5* prices too” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
1 review
“Great 5* hotel but 5* prices too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2008

Loved the hotel, it was everything the website says it is! The rooms are fantastic - we had a room overlooking the front church, the bay and Valletta. The hotel common areas and pool were all amazing - I couldn't believe the luxury we were enjoying :) One odd thing - I've never neede the luxury of a telephone next to the toilet...but each to their own...

However, the restaurants were expensive and the service slow and poor. It would take half and hour from ordering a drink pool-side to it actually appearing. The ice-cream we ordered was mostly melted. I think this is due to it standing on the bar waiting for the staff to serve it than a back-up in the kitchen. The top restaurant was very expensive and the service poor, and the bar scene at the bottom cafe was dead. If they lowered thair prices they'd get the urban 'buzz' they want.

Go down the road to the supermarket and use the mini-bar fridge in the room. Stroll down to the sea-front and there are lots of places, but we liked jumping on the bus to St Julians the next bay over.

  • Liked — The 5* surroundings
  • Disliked — The cost of food and poor service at pool bar
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank allergic2work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,939
    927
    283
    78
    29
See reviews for
426
1,992
137
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2008

This was our fifth visit to the Palace and I can honestly say, having stayed in many of the hotels on Malta, this is a gem. The quality of service at the Palace is exceptional - from the moment you arrive you are treated with the utmost courtesy by all members of staff and made to feel very special indeed. Unlike some of the other 5 star hotels, this has a more intimate and cosy feeling about it. Our room was terrific, fabulous views and so, so comfortable with the addition of a superb balcony overlooking the city - bliss! The quality of food available in the restaruant and the very smart bar is some of the best I have had frankly, and I am a seasoned traveller so that is saying something. The Sunday buffet is knockout and not to be missed - everything from roasts to pasta, fresh fish, local specialities and dishes from the lovely top floor Asian fusion restaurant; one of the best dining experiences I have had in a long time. There is a lovely out door swimming pool on the top floor of the hotel with great views over the city which is fabulous in the warm weather. The pool is meticulously looked after, the sun loungers are very comfortable with a plentiful supply of towels and drinks/food served by the pool as you wish. Indoors there is a spar area with pool, sauna etc. and plenty of beauty/health treatments available. In summary the Palace is one of the best hotels I have stayed in - I was there the first week it opened last year and can only say it has gone from strengh to strength and offers a luxurious standard of accommodation and facilities. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Sliema and we are already palnning my next trip in the new year. Credit where credit is due - the owners and staff really know what they are doing here.

  • Liked — Extremely comfortable and clean
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chiswick0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

We stayed at The Palace for a week in November, overall it was a very pleasant experience, the room was a good standard and the breakfasts were very good, plenty of choice for everyone. The Restaurants attached to the hotel were very expensive and didn't offer a great choice, I think 8 Euros for a cheese and tomato baguette is a bit pricey, the main meals were off the scale as far as prices go, but there are many choices on the two seafronts.

The hotel is at the top of a hill and has good access to Triq It-Torri on one side and Triq Marina on the other side where there are a good selection of cafes and restaurants.

The staff in the hotel were all very nice and approachable, the lifts were the fastest I have experience in any hotel anywhere.
On the roof was a very good sized pool, although far too cold to enjoy a swim this time of year. There were a good number of sunbeds with fantastic views of the Island.

The spa area was also very good, constantly cleaned and although the steam room was out of order the saunas were working and the spa pool was also a good size.

As part of the service you get complimentary slippers and a bathrobe, which is a nice touch, although they come in one size which fit me perfectly they didn't come anywhere near my husband who is 6' 4" and wears a size 12 boot.

On two occassions the water was cold in the evening, the maintenance man is not on 24 hour call out which was surprising in a five star hotel, he was the only one who could sort out the boilers once they had tripped.

I would recommend this hotel to business travellers, couples or lone travellers but not for families with children.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Cold water in the evenings
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank riverswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

Traveling during shoulder months is a little bit daring however you always manage to find good deals, less tourists and with some luck good weather. Malta was fantastic like this for me and my wife. Arriving at the hotel, the feeling that the palace gave us was extremely welcoming and we both felt like "modern day" royalty with the interior design of the hotel and service. The room was amazing and the beds were incredibly comfortable. The highlight of the trip was unexpectedly a tour that was highly recommended by the hotels front desk. The tour is called Uphotomalta where we got picked up by Duncan who is the trip organizer that took us to the very tip of Malta (north) and went all the way around the island stopping in various interesting locations. The trip felt like we were visiting very authentic places and we really got the feel of Malta. I can say that Malta is really beautiful. I expected this Island to be smaller; it is really an island full of history and culture hosted by a bunch of very friendly people. We only had a short 3 day break but we were lucky enough to visit the islands' best with Duncan and were very happy with the choice of The Palace

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — aplashing on bathroom floor after shower
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JBUKLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

Me and my wife have just returned form our first visit to the Palace Hotel. I would have liked to have kept the place a secret because once everyone finds out how good it is I may not be able to get back in again.
We have been staying in hotels in Malta for the past 22 years and the Palace is by far the best. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The view from our balcony (over half the island) was magnificent.
The food and wine in the Tabloid restaurant was second to none. Some of the pasta starters were divine. Getting up for beakfast was an absolute pleasure.
Finally the staff, Individually they were professional whilst remaining friendly and charming, they could not do enough for us. Collectively they make a great team and we cannot wait for our next visit.
Ian & Joan Grundy
Nov 2008.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian Grundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2008

Very comfrotable and pleasant surrondings and staff were very accomadating. Great food and good choice. Hotel is in a good location and is walking disatnce to Silema where buses run regulary. Ferry also goes to Valleta hourly. A lovely stay in every aspect.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rugar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austrlalia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2008

I stayed at The Palace with the Maltese National Rugby Union Squad. The service was friendly and first class. The food in the restaurant was scrumptious and the beds ensured a great nights sleep. Views were exceptional. I would love to visit The Palace again.

  • Liked — Modern rooms and the food.
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Leeroy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
9.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Agoda, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing