We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay...”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is our 3rd stay in the palace. I believe that it is the staff that make this hotel 5*. The management staff were amazing and very efficient at dealing with any problems we had. Nothing seemed too difficult for them. This is the same for the reception staff who always greeted you with a smile. I wouldn't want to miss the bar staff, cleaners and even the maintenance people did not disappoint and were very polite. We had a very nice spacious room with an amazing view. It was clean and well looked after. The breakfast had a good selection and little extras like proseco was an added bonus. The scrambled egg and mushrooms especially were amazing. We spent most days chilling by the infinity pool where the bar staff are very attentive. Special mention to Vladimir and Andras. Thank you to everybody at the palace for making our holiday so enjoyable. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Nina R

Vladimir, Andras and the rest of their colleagues, management and staff here at The Palace would like to thank you for your complimentary review placed on Tripadvisor following your stay at The Palace.

Your words are very motivational and encourage us to move ahead and always aim high when providing a high standard of service to our esteemed clients.

The Malta Tourism Authority has an launched a 'STAR Awards' scheme where guests can nominate any member of staff who has excelled in his or her level of service and hospitality. To nominate a particular member of staff kindly log in to star-awards.visitmalta.com. By submitting a nomination, you can also win a holiday for two, subject to terms and conditions.

We all look ahead to welcome you back at The Palace in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,476 - 1,482 of 3,595 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Room 902 was amazing (thank you Moul Hajar). The room was very big with plenty of space even though it had a table, chair, settee and chair. I lay on the balcony most days with a view over to Valletta, beautiful. Nothing was a problem to the staff. I phoned reception for a bedside cabinet and change of top cover and within 10 mins, Johnathan, Operations Manager was knocking on the door and apologising for not arriving sooner. Both matters where rectified within the hour.

The room was cleaned everyday by Marisa who is very efficient and takes pride in her work. Aimee on reception booked a few restaurants for us and always had a smile. Andrew the Consierge was amazing. He recommended a hairdressers to me and escorted me for my appointment. He was always chatty and very informative and absolute asset to the front line of the hotel. Dorianne the Guest Relations Officer was very professional on her rounds greeting guests.

Two sets of church bell's rang every fifteen minutes, after a day, I didn't notice them.

The breakfast was interesting with rabbit and steak on the menu which was delicious. There was the usual bacon eggs etc and an egg station, plenty of cold cuts, salad and a huge variety of bread. We tried the evening buffet which wasn't for us, as the food was served at 7pm we sat down to eat later and buffet food should be eaten straight away. The other restaurant The Tower is okay. We asked for a burger medium rare which they wouldn't serve due to health and safety. The well done burger tasted like cardboard. We didn't like the TemptAsian at all. The food around the pool was tasty and a lot of it.

Other restaurants we ate in - L'Artist, ll-Merill, Salisbury Arms pub, Gululu and the Barracuda are under their own reviews.

If my husband has to work in Malta again, I hope to be invited along to enjoy the experience of The Palace.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kanditighe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Kanditighe,

Jonathan,Moul,Marisa,Aimee,Andrew & Dorianne and the rest of their colleagues, management and staff here at The Palace would like to thank you for your complimentary review placed on Tripadvisor following your stay at The Palace.

When you stay at The Palace, your every wish is our command and nothing is too much for us all you have to do is ask.

With regards to your constructive comment to the issue with the medium rare burger, it is a policy which we abide to due to health and safety, I am sorry we didn't meet up to your expectations.

We all look ahead to welcome you back at The Palace in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My boyfriend and I have just spent a week at 'The Palace' hotel in Sliema. It is a wonderful and charming hotel with fantastic service. The rooftop pool on floor 9 is stunning and a great way to unwind. The food we had whilst staying was also delicious. We ate breakfast everyday at the hotel and there was a fantastic spread of food, plenty of fruit and heathy options. We also ate at TemptAsian, and the food served there was beautiful. I am a vegetarian and the food there was a welcome alternative to the standard food served in Malta!

Everyone at the hotel was a pleasure to meet. However there was one individual, Andrew, downstairs in reception who was possibly the most charming and warm welcoming man you could wish to meet when you arrive at a hotel. He was full of helpful advice and put you at ease from the moment you entered the hotel! He is a gem! I wish we had customer service like that in London!!

All in all it was a wonderful holiday, Gozo is certainly worth the trip (but leave at 8am so you get more time there!) I would recommend this hotel to anyone back home of any age!!

Thank you for a lovely lovely holiday!

Room Tip: Please note that twin comfort rooms do not have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BettyGround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear BettyGround,

We are so delighted to read that your experience at The Palace has been such a positive and pleasant one. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Andrew, and the rest of his colleagues, management and staff here at The Palace would like to thank you for your complimentary review placed on Tripadvisor following your stay at The Palace.

The Malta Tourism Authority has an launched a 'STAR Awards' scheme where guests can nominate any member of staff who has excelled in his or her level of service and hospitality. To nominate a particular member of staff kindly log in to star-awards.visitmalta.com. By submitting a nomination, you can also win a holiday for two, subject to terms and conditions.

We all look ahead to welcome you back at The Palace in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My friend & I stayed at this hotel in May for a girlie break. I have to say for two ladies (mid forties) we felt very safe and indeed my friend plans to return alone. The hotel itself was very nice & the roof pool/terrace/pool area was lovely. We eat breakfast most days in the hotel and we sampled the bar food & the food in the Asian restaurant (beside the roof top pool) all of which were excellent. The hotel is in a good location very close to the centre of Sliema so it was handy to stroll into town. I had some lovely spa treatments in the hotel's salon which were reasonably priced. Worth mentioning that the staff in the hotel were truly lovely and professional without being over the top.

We did some good tours, three cities with wine tasting at a local brewery Marsovin ( worth doing as it's a really good day out). We also did a day trip to Gozo, which again was excellent and thoroughly enjoyable. We also pre-booked private transfers from & to the airport which all went very smoothly.

Malta itself was lovely and I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending the place hotel or indeed Sliema as a good holiday location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindaamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Lindaamb,

A big 'thank you' from all at The Palace for kindly placing your review about your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We always go through our guests' comments with considerable interest as your feedback keeps us informed regarding what our guests like or dislike.

Looking forward to having you back at The Palace again soon.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We just came back from a week in Malta staying at the Palace and we were very happy.

I'd been in touch to do a surprise upgrade to a superior suite as a surprise for my wife's 50th and was delighted to find not only the upgrade to an excellent sea facing room but also a little extra gift for her and a card. It felt like the hotel appreciated our visit from the second we got there.

The staff were friendly and helpful, providing a cooling drink as soon as we arrived and helping us get settled.

The room was great and well equipped and , mostly importantly in the August heat, nicely air conditioned.

Breakfasts were good and we used a variety of the restaurants and were happy with all of them. Temptasia and the Italian were particularly nice.

Overall an excellent comfortable base for our stay and somewhere we'd happily visit again.

Room Tip: Pick a room from the upper floors and facing the sea if possible. Superior rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Kevin T,

On behalf of all members of Management & staff at The Palace allow me to extend our warmest greetings to your wife on the her 50th birthday.

I thank you for placing your positive review about your stay at The Palace on TripAdvisor.

You had only words of praise and we appreciate this as our guests' full satisfaction is at the heart of all that we do here at The Palace.

We look forward to seeing you back again at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is quite classy for Malta, with an official 5 star rating that is generous but not overwhelming so. Rooms are big and recently renovated. Pool is amazing, a little too crowded during the peak days of august, but still fully enjoyable.

The Asian restaurant at the top is quite cool and a lovely place for a refined and classy dinner at the top of the city. Gym is new and you can enjoy an awesome view from the treading mills.

Location is great, well connected to the most nice touristic part of Malta, full of restaurants, bars, attractions and transportations. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alex369369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Alex369369,

A big 'thank you' from all at The Palace for kindly placing your review about your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We look ahead to hosting further relaxing stays at The Palace in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had a nice stay in The Palace hotel,, staff were friendly and professional. I left my iphone by the pool one day and it was taken and carefully kept by a staff member, which I really appreciated when I picked it back up at reception.

There is a nice Gym and indoor and outdoor pool,, lovely resturant on the roof called Temptasian that I would recommend, great views of Malta with tasty food.

The rooms are big and clean with really comfortable beds,, not many english channels on TV but that is a small thing, another small issue is I over heard a few people using the pool on the roof who were not actually staying at the hotel, bit annoying as they hogged all the good deck chairs and brought their noisey kids to the pool.. The Palace could request your room number when you order food or drink from the bar at the pool, this might ward off free loaders..

All in all a good place to stay..

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Willy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Willy F,

Your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at The Palace is most appreciated and acknowledged.

All comments and suggestions made by our guests are discussed at Management level as this reflects what our guests enjoy and expect from us here at The Palace.

We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,076 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,964 reviews
1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
1.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £76 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace is supplemented by six unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing