We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel! Loved the swimming pool on the roof!”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice hotel! Loved the swimming pool on the roof!”
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Very nice hotel in a cute quiet town of Sliema. Located perfectly close to everything: shopping, restaurants, harbor (from where you can take a boat cruise or a ferry to the capital Valetta), promenade that will lead you to full of clubs and bars St. Julian's (great night life there, but not in Sliema).

The rooms are spacious and clean. Personnel is polite and helpful, although sometimes rather slow when it comes to waiters. Breakfast was decent as well.

But what I really loved was how they used the roof of the building. The hotel has 9 floors, so the view from the top is amazing! On the roof there is a swimming pool with a sunbathing area and a bar. You can swim in pleasantly warm water and enjoy the view over the city and the sea, and if it's too hot- just grab a cold glass of beer (I do not recommend cocktails there though.. Tried a mojito and wasn't really pleased!

There is also an oriental restaurant on the roof with (again) amazing view and quite good cuisine.

The prices are fair. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,989
    964
    294
    79
    29
See reviews for
439
2,044
142
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (992)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton,England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

This is a difficult review because had the hotel not been 1st. out of 37 at the time of writing and not claimed to be 5 star my review would have been easier.

Expectations, even for a seasons traveller like I consider myself, are a tricky thing. I'll review this hotel as though I had no preconceptions and judge for yourself.

The location is fine. Sliema is a very small place so all the hotels are well placed.

Reception was fine. Very friendly and efficient. No porter but soft drink cocktails and swift service.

Our room, a superior, was clean if uninteresting and rather bland. good view from a tiny balcony with cheap basic furniture. Great bed and linen. Lousy wardrobe and clothes storage. No drawers for basics. The TV had two English channels, one of which was CNN, the most purile and useless TV station in the English ( sometimes ) language. Not a serious problem as we do not take holidays to watch television however they say it's a 5 star and I thought I might get Sky sports, you know, catch up on the cricket and golf whilst the wife is getting ready. The bathroom had all the required bits, however, on the 8th. floor the plumbing struggles. The shower pulsed between too hot and chilly. Occasionally the water ran slow and brownish. Not serious but not 5 star.

The pool on the roof was nice, the furniture was tatty and the awninings squeeked incessantly. On Sunday the poolside population increased by a factor of 3. All the new people were Maltese. Being cynical I wondered why so many local people ( small island, can't live more than 12 or so miles away ) would spend loads of money to stay one night just to use the pool. Can't explain, still a mystery.

Breakfast was fine. Nice fruit and plenty of it. Good coffee well served and lots of bread, cheese, ham etc.

This hotel has an acclaimed roof top restaurant specialising in Asian cuisine. The view is spectacular, looking towards Valletta over the rooftops one cannot fail to be amazed. The food is good, not great but no complaints. The service from the younger members of staff is charming. The older staff are less impressive. A tad cool, remote and indifferent bordering on " with attitude". It's a shame really because at about 85 euro's for two including wine it's not expensive and could be so much more.

So, all things considered this is a good hotel, could be very good but not 5 star.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AtoZers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2009

Well, we'd read the reviews on here before heading to the Palace but nothing could really have prepared us for how pleasant an experience it really was going to be. I'm not a serial complainer, but experience tells me that someone normally does something to irritate me during a hotel stay - or the service is poor - or I feel let down in some way. None of these at the Palace though - our balcony room was superb overlooking the rooftops of Sliema and across to Valetta. The service fromthe minute that we arrived was friendly & welcoming and this continued throughout our stay. The rooftop pool area and TemtAsian restaurant are worth particular mention - as is the afternoon tea! I really can't find anything to grumble about - those who know me will understand what a rare experience that is - well done to the Palace Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hadleymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We had a fab stay at the Palace hotel, the Room was great with a massive bed, flat screen t.v , and the bathroom was very modern & funky loved the big shower !!.... agree with previous comments that the cleaners do tend to knock on your door at silly times.. 8.15am was the earlist we had them knocking to clean the room..... we didn't have breakfast inc in our deal, and we found that $18 Eur was very costly for breakfast which wasn't worth the money... we found the supermarket just round the corner was very handy for fruit & cereral which we just kept in our in room fridge...
hotel staff were on the whole very nice & helpful, but the one time we did ask for help when we asked if the battery could be replaced in our room safe as it said "Batt Low" we got a " Yes right away sir" but this was never done.... not a big deal but we felt she just dissmissed my question.

bars & restaurants in the area are all very good.. esp recomend the " The Kicthen" one of the best restaurants in Malta the food was amazing..

The buses are cheap as chips 47c for a a local trip or 1.16Eur at night, Taxi's are plenty but always try and haggle the cost down...
trips to go on... water taxi to Vellatta is only 93c one way... well worth a look
and the Hera II trips are very good.... avoid the men on the strips trying to get you there boats... it's a real pain !!

also a trip to Gozo or Comino is a must it's an hour bus trip from Selima... the "Blue Lagoon" in Comino is great... the colour of the sea is amazing... but beware of the tiny beach getting overcrowed and you then have to sun-bathe or dry off on the rocks...

The one complaint i would have is the airport to hotel transfer we had which we booked via the airport website.... (Maltatransfer.com) DON'T BOTHER WITH THEM !!! we arrived at 12.30am expecting to have a minibus take us to the Palace hotel. we went to waiting room for our driver, along with a another couple, we waited for a over 45mins before my girlfriend rang the company.. we were told a driver was on it's way..... we were greeted by a young lady who took us to her estate car !!!!... i thought it was joke we had paid 16 Eur for a bus not a car, she said it was policy for 4 ppl to travel by car, we were not happy, plus the fact she drove while on her mobile phone made us worry even more... it was a joke really ... dont use Maltatransfer.com.

but all said... Malta is a fab place.... i would defo go again !!!

All in all i was hugely impressed with Malta, and would go again !!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GuernseyBazzaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

it was a very nice surprise to find such a beautifull hotel so close to the nightlife and shopping centre of sliema.
we could go anywhere just in a 5 minute walk.
we could reach the beach at the same time although we didn't have to as the hotel's pool was great with a phantastic view of the sea and of Valleta!
and a perfect restaurant......

and a great tip for all you greeks out there:
THEY NOW SERVE FRAPE!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mirellaAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We chose the Palace over the Fortina as the reviews were better, but found the hotel very disappointing. We arrived on a Thursday by taxi from the airport - we had emailed to see if there was a courtesy bus, but no - at 12 noon. Official check in was 2pm and our room wasn't ready but the receptionist said it was being cleaned and wouldn't be long. We had a drink at the bar but after a while no-one had come to see us so I asked again at reception, only to be told it would be about half an hour. We decided to have lunch at the hotel and not let it bother us. At 2pm I checked again but she couldn't contact the cleaner so went up in the lift to check the room. We waited again. She eventually came down and said it was ready. There was no concierge, no-one to help with the cases, which wasn't a problem for us, but you expect it in a 5*.
We got to the room and found the key card worked 3rd time. The room was large, king size bed, safe, usual toiletries etc, nice enough but the rug by the bed needed a good hoovering. A sign said the balcony door should be kept locked, but when we tried it it wouldn't lock. There was hanging robe, but no hangers. I rang down and reported this while we unpacked. No-one came. Meanwhile we discovered both key cards worked intermittently. I went down to complain and reception reset them. Back at the room, still intermittent. We went for a walk, and on returning maintenance werefixing the balcony lock. we asked for hangers,and were told the wardrobe was for an ironing board (although one wasn't there) but if we wanted hangers we could have them! Yes please!! We were B&B so ate out each evening
Other reviewers have praised the breakfast, saying the choice was fantastic, but if you've ever cruised you'll know fantastic breakfasts. These were not 5star. There was no chef cooking to order for example which any 5star worth the rating would have. Things would run out andnot be replaced. You have to find your own table, at a 5 star you would expect to be shown to a table, not wait for oneto be cleared. Service was poor. We had some fruit to start, asked for tea and got it, then went for our hot breakfast. when we got back the bowls had been cleared and so had everything else. We asked for more tea and the waitress brought two empty pots. By this time we were giving up on complaining, it just spoils thye holiday. We were glad we were only there for 5 nights.
The pool area was pleasant, on the roof, and very relaxing if you ignored the piped music. One day some family brought their kids - the only ones we had seen - to the pool and screamed for an hour. They ended up crying of course. I complaine to the pool attendant who was very offhand. I asked him if they were guests and he snapped back 'Of course they are guests'. Not 5* service!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks,england
Level Contributor
203 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

The Palace is a new hotel in Sliema. It is about a 10 minute walk down to the waterfront which features many bars and restaurants and where you can take a habour tour or catch the ferry to Valletta. The hotel is a model of understated luxury with contemporary decor and furnishings and all the hi-tech features that you would expect. The infinity pool deck on the 9th floor is a fabulous place to relax and soak up the rays. On this floor there is also the very atmospheric "Temptasian" restaurant which is not to be missed. The breakfast buffet was consistently good. It always felt really good to come back to this oasis of calm after being out in the hot sun,surrounded by the hustle and bustle of the crowded streets of Sliema.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondieBucks_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,546 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,903 reviews
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,837 reviews
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Onthebeach, Agoda, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Lastminute, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing