We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
12 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$114
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$103
View deal
eDreams
US$114
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.comUS$116
Orbitz.comUS$103
travelup.comUS$140
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,300)
Filter reviews
4,300 results
Traveller rating
2,563
1,212
366
112
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,563
1,212
366
112
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews church bells temptasian restaurant infinity pool tabloid restaurant five star hotel top floor superior room lovely hotel sauna and steam room mini bar sister hotel sea front st julians short break half board the air conditioning sun loungers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 4,300 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2019 via mobile

The stay in The palace hotel was very pleasant in all aspects. The room is spacious, clean and comfortable.
The staff is very friendly and nice.
The location is perfect.
The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because they started renovating during our last day there and they didn’t warned us about it. We were woken up by construction noise at 7:00 a clock in the morning, which was quite disappointing.
They did give us nice compensation for it so all is good.
But it would have been nice to know about it out front.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sarit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at AX The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2019

When you stay at The Palace, your every wish is our command and nothing is too much for us. all you have to do is ask.

Many thanks for submitting your positive review about your stay at The Palace on Tripadvisor, however we would like to apologize once again for the inconvenience during your last day.

Looking forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
General Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019

Stayed here with my son for 4 nights in a twin room & paid extra to have superior room with a view. Loved sitting outside on balcony even in December. Distant views of the sea and located next to a beautiful old church. Great location central in Sliema, 5 min walk to ferry to Valletta & tour buses. Walked in evenings to St Julian's Bay to eat as well as locally. Lovely walk along the promenade for several km.

Very friendly welcome from hoTel reception even though we arrived at 23.15. Not as friendly everywhere else in hotel. My twin bed was very soft with a big dip in the middle so slept very badly. Used the hotel pool but was disappointed that it was a small square so not able to actually swim in it, only a dip. The outdoor pool and area on the rooftop looked tired but it was December so probably fine in summer. The rooms nice but a little tired too, not 5 star.
Overall enjoyed our stay (apart from sleeping!) but thought rate too expensive v quality

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teejay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at AX The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2019

Dear Teejay12,

On behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for sparing some time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I am extremely disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations and would like to apologize on behalf of all the team at The Palace. It is only through your feedback and suggestions that we keep improving our product to ensure expectations are met.

Once again we apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay and hope that our commitment to continuously improve will make you change your mind to re-visit our hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Kevin Callus
General Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019

Stayed here 3 nights due to the location, had originally booked 4 nights. This hotel claims it is 5 stars, it is not. On a very good day it might be 3,5 stars. There is no service if you don't ask for it. As I was located on a low floor the room didn't get any daylight at all and the bathrooms were awful and mouldy. Got a room facing the street where the church across the road started ringing their bells at 05/06 am and kept ringing every 15 minute until around 10am. I had a manicure as my room was not ready, it was better than no manicure but quite bad. There is a fairly nice rooftop with pool and a quite nice gym with Technogym machines. I would say the gym is the best thing with this hotel.

Room tip: pick another hotel
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at AX The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2019

Dear Caroline H,

We would like to thank you for having the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay at The Palace.

Although it is evident that we failed to meet your expectations and thus you posted a negative review on Trip Advisor we thought of contacting you directly to see if you would be interested in giving us a second opportunity to prove ourselves.

At the moment we are refurbishing the guest rooms at The Palace.

Your constructive comments and issues raised in your review have been discussed at managerial level in order to enhance our guest experience.

Based on your recent negative experience we would like to offer you a complimentary 3-nights’ stay accommodation being in one of our superior rooms, on bed and breakfast basis, whereby we will do our utmost to prove ourselves and hopefully help you change the opinion of our hotel.

I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me personally on info@axhotelsmalta.com so that we can correspond further.

We look forward to host you once again at The Palace next year.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Callus
General Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2019

Lovely room on 1st floor. Large, AC quiet, fridge, tea and coffee etc, Excellent buffet food, with lots of choice for a veggie. Pool, sauna, steam room. Friendly staff. Outdoor pool closed during winter but small indoor pool very nice and accessible.

Room tip: 1sr floor room, Premium very roomy. 2 large beds.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at AX The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2019

Dear Cazkins1,

Thank you for submitting such a positive review about your regular stays at The Palace on TripAdvisor.

Your words are very motivational and encourage us to move ahead and always aim high when providing a high standard of service to our esteemed clients.

It is a pleasure to host you at The Palace.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
General Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2019

I booked two rooms so my family could stay for new year and have had no end of issues. On the first night one of the rooms all the bath lights were stuck on therefore no one could get any sleep. The other room got a call from reception at 8:00 to wake up for a booking that was never made. Next morning the fire alarm went off at 7:00 (admittedly not a lot can done). Finally there was a mark on my bed which made me question if the sheets were clean! I left the card to change the sheets on my bed for two days in a row and the sheets were still not changed. Makes you think what cleaning is done.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at AX The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2019

Dear Joe G

While we thank you for your recent stay at The Palace we regret not meeting your expectations and apologize for the inconveniences.

Providing great service and accommodation is our everyday goal and rest assured the issues you have raised will be given utmost attention and appropriate action will be done. Please know that our Executive Housekeeper is reviewing your concerns related to the rooms to ensure guest satisfaction.

Nevertheless, we value your feedback and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
General Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews