We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Sliema, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
alfies
croydon
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Awful Customer Service”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

So, where to begin!!

We arrived at the apartment and was shown around then explained about the electricity and when it runs out we would have to pay to have more put on the meter which we were a little shocked about and really felt we needed to constantly see how much electricity we are using and we were not wrong, even though we were assured we would have sufficient for our stay. We have never stayed anywhere where we have had to keep check on our electric usage. Considering nobody came to clean for the entire 10 days was a bit of a shock, again we have never stayed anywhere, hotel or apartment where towels or bed linen haven’t been changed. Therefore we had to wash the towels and bed linen ourselves which used a huge amount of electricity as you can imagine, really don’t know how a family of 5 would have ample electricity for the duration of their stay especially if they were using the cooking facilities and dishwasher. I complained about the apartment not being very clean and was told there wasn’t enough time to do a full clean or deal with faulty issues in the apartment before our arrival. How wrong is that!! Then they need to find time and get things sorted before people arrive or don’t let them check in until it’s all been done, well it’s all about money isn’t it not customer service. The bed was broken and somebody else’s socks were under our bed and it was filthy dirty, yes filthy. The bbq had seen better days and with the handle hanging off and screws missing, another fault we were told couldn’t be fixed before our arrival, to be honest the bbq needed to be replaced full stop, look at the state of it! The floors were filthy and we couldn’t even get our feet clean no wonder they supply slippers, even in the shower we couldn’t clean our feet so dirt everywhere and funny enough I don't actually want to go on holiday and do housework. Don’t get me wrong I understand that washing plates and cutlery isn’t part of the cleaning process but should I really be expected to clean everything because that is what I felt I needed to do.

When we unpacked we were surprised to find there wasn't one drawer in the entire apartment to put our underwear in so we had to put our items in the bottom of the wardrobe and I can honestly say I have stayed in many hotels/apartments and never come across this situation before, where are we supposed to put our underwear and why aren't there any drawer units there is ample space in both bedrooms. I know this isn’t a major issues but when I did just ask the question I was told by Ralph at Shortlets and I quote "please note that on the photos of the listing there weren't any so presumably one would not find them in the property if they are not showing in any of the portrayed photos". Wow, I actually thought my point was justified and just made it for future reference really so I thought his remark was totally unwarranted and to be honest the bedroom photos only show a couple of angles so how am I to know there wasn't any drawers units behind the bedroom door or somewhere else in the room? Actually, talking of photos, I did ask why there is a photo on their website showing a unit in the lounge where the tv is but not there when we arrived at the apartment (attached pictures) but I didn’t receive a reply about that. Actually, I wasn't complaining about that I just wondered after such a rude sarcastic comment by their staff relating to the lack of drawers.

So, the main reason of booking this apartment was for the jacuzzi but we found it wasn't fully functioning and reported it to the management team and was informed straight away that somebody would be on their way soon to have a look at it. However, after a couple of hours we decided just to stay in for the evening on our first night of our holidays as we didn't want to miss the maintenance man. Nobody arrived and then we were told in the morning that nobody would be available until the next day. So the day after that a maintenance man arrived but just started emptying the jacuzzi and my husband said to him didn't he want to check it first to see what the problem was but he said no, which we thought was a bit odd but found out after Shortlets knew of the faulty pump beforehand. Anyway, he then said he was going to fit a new pump. We left him to do his job and when we returned we used the jacuzzi which was a lot better, more bubbles and warm but during that evening and the next morning we could see it was leaking so messaged Shortlets yet again who sent the maintenance man yet again. I had booked a full day excursion on the day with my family so didn't arrive back home until 6.00pm and was very much looking forward to the jacuzzi as I'm sure you can appreciate so imagine our disappointment to find the jacuzzi empty of water and no contact as to why. I then spoke to Shortlets who said they would let me know the next steps and asked for my email address? Well we never heard anything so then I sent them an email with all my concerns. Eventually we were told that the original pump could not be fixed as it had developed a fault limiting its power and the whole mechanism needed to be changed. They informed us they fitted the old pump so that it can be used, albeit limited, which was a joke, no bubbles so not a Jacuzzi. To be honest we were staying for 9 nights and still the Jacuzzi was not working on our 5th day of our holidays, not good enough.

The TV didn’t work fully and when we questioned this we were told that the agent had shown us how is worked upon arrival, actually that was a total lie, we were shown the remote controls but that was it the tv was never turned on! So even though it was supposed to be high stream technology it just kept switching itself off. Somebody came to look at that and said it looked like the connection wasn't working so removed the adapter plug, put a knife in the top part of the socket on the wall, which he told me not to do as it was dangerous, really!! And actually an error message still came up on most channels so we didn’t bother putting it on after that.

So, after arriving home I was offered a measly 10% refund and I quote “we are prepared to offer you a 10% discount on the rental amount paid, as a gesture of good will from our end to compensate for the inconvenience caused” Really! What an insult but there was nothing else we could do but to accept but as you can tell we were not happy. Because of the lack of Jacuzzi we actually paid to use a local hotels pool which cost us 20 Euros each person for 4 days, an expense which we didn’t know we would be having to make.

Finally, would I stay here again or recommend these apartment, you decide!!!

One last thing, I have lots of pictures to prove my points but no availability to add them on this site, funny that, wonder why!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2017
The concerns were already addressed directly with the client, who regrettably found it appropriate to post this lengthy and mostly inaccurate review. From our end, we immediately addressed any issues that there might have been and settled directly with the client prior, while here and after. We take the opportunity to affirm that we always received very high ratings for this apartment from other clients. The service we offered, the amenities and levels of cleanliness were always highly rated and these reviews are all public not only on this particular site. We value constructive criticism and do our best to improve, which is one of the reasons why the apartment in question is one of the most popular that we have. We also wish to point out that from our end all was clearly written on the advert for all public including facilities shown on photos. There are no hidden 'surprises' to shock any people, moreover all has been agreed to at the time of booking. Any query was also welcomed and replied duly on time as reflected in our response rate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip C
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stayed here for 10 days. Apartment was amazing. Came with everything we needed. Even got a little welcome pack when we arrived. Perfect location as it has easy links to everywhere in Malta. As no one was coming in the day we left got a late checkout for no cost. Victoria the agent was really helpful. Would definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocotwist
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Book it!”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

When I booked the apartment I was slightly apprehensive as it had no reviews, I'm glad I did though as it was perfect for our stay!
We found the location ideal, not too busy or noisy, a 2 minute walk to the ferry terminal to get to the capital city and on main bus routes to get to the rest of the island. There are some great restaurants and bars within walking distance and a gorgeous little coffee shop just across the road from the front door. There are a few small food shops nearby with a large supermarket around a 10 minute walk away.
The apartment itself is beautiful inside, it was spotless, modern and practical. The kitchen had everything we needed and the TV provided was a smart TV with all the latest tech. The view from the balcony was lovely, especially in the evening overlooking the harbour with Valletta lit up. We made full use of the hot tub, an added bonus for a quiet evening in. The only thing I might recommend is that it would be nice if they supplied some cleaning products, we stayed for 8 days and found we had to buy some basics I.e washing up liquid, sponges, a cloth etc.
The lady that met us upon arrival was welcoming, friendly and very professional, she explained everything in the apartment to us and then talked us through local amenities and places worth a visit.
All in all I could not recommend this apartment and rental company enough, very professional and easy to book with. Would definitely and probably will use again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, hot tub
Liked least: Would be a nice added extra to have a few basics supplied
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maud_Brun...
Le Bec-Hellouin, France
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ticnina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing