We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in Valletta” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rubino

Rubino
Ranked #7 of 226 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best in Valletta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Really good food. Fresh, simple, just perfect.
Nice team, very good atmosphere.
A typical maltese restaurant ... To try !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Olivia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    133
    30
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
737 reviews
593 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a cosy atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This little restaurant in a Valletta side street is a hidden jewel. The food is all fresh and the restaurant serves more locals that tourists. A blackboard displays the menu of the day and the proprietor cheerfully discusses the dishes and makes recommendations. Six of us shared various starters - the Neonate, tiny fish battered and served like flat fishcake was superb. For the main dish I had the unappetizing Ox Tongue with capers - which was tender, full of flavor and memorable. To finish a Maltese speciality Mqaret, deep fried pastry filled with date paste. Five stars because the food is excellent, the service charming and the place is everything you could hope for.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JNWSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellieha
1 review
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Went to Rubino last week with my girlfriend and we had the time of our life! Good wine, amazing food, friendly service and lovely ambience what else could you ask for! Big thumbs up to the chef keep it up!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annanick117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
273 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Anoter good restaurant in Valletta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

There are a number of small and very good restaurants in Valletta, and this is one of them. From the outside it doesn't look like a restaurant, and it is easy to pass by. Take a look at the menu before entering, cause you won't see it again. When you are seated, the nice waitress will tell you the menu personally, it is a bit difficult to get the overall picture of the menu this way, but I guess it creates a more personal link between the waitress and guests.

We chose a starter made from aubergine, it was very good and highly recommended. The main courses were grilled rib-eye steak and pork fillet, they were both good, but had the characteristic taste of burned meat. Not very impressive. For dessert we both chose lemon sorbet that actually was not very basic and not among the best I have had.

Despite the food being a bit unsatisfactory, I like to think that it was an accident, and the place has great potential. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nothing spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We picked this restaurant because had good reviews, but it turned out to be an average restaurant.
We received no menu to look through, and instead the waitress went through all the list with small explanations. After she finished, of course we could not remember all the list, and she had to go through it again. She was friendly and did not mind, but it would have been better if we had a written menu in front of us.
The food was average, and the portion size small to medium, so at the end of the meal we wondered why does the restaurant have such great reviews. Probably the chef had a bad day.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra_432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rubino also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Rubino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing