We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Restaurant”
Review of Rampila

Rampila
Ranked #32 of 236 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$150
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Rampila boasts a menu where Maltese, Mediterranean and International cuisines are prepared and presented in creative and tempting ways. Whether a beautiful and memorable lunch or dinner experience, a generous platter accompanied by well-chosen wines from our Wine Bar selection or just drinks on the terrace you will not be disappointed. Rampila offers a truly unique atmosphere when dining both indoors or out and is definitely the only location of its kind in Malta.
MALTA
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Relaxing Restaurant”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

great food lovely staff very quiet place the food is excellent and the staff is very welcoming and friendly. Will definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ICEBERGMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    269
    86
    32
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mellieha, Malta
1 review
“A Pleasant Evening”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

It was our first visit to the Rampila Restaurant and it won't be our last. Having pre-booked the table we found it ready and nicely set-up. What looked like a former tunnel in the bastions has been turned into a very unique dining experience with an interesting surrounding. The food is "religiously" prepared and the caring staff is always around to make sure all is fine. Walking down the stairs into the restaurant, to the left hand side one finds the entrance to the bar where a few tables invite as well to wine & dine. One can also visit a small Maltese folklore museum further down in the bastions which adds to the original character of the restaurant. To make this place perfect there is a beautiful terrace where one can also dine al fresco and enjoy the view to the Valletta entrance.

Thanks for a remarkable evening.
Brigitte & Ray

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“A more contemporary take on Maltese dining”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Its a pity that we have to choose 3 or 4 points since this restaurant is probably a solid 3.5 and served possibly the second -best (after Trabuxu) food we ate in Valletta. Its actually under the road way in the ramparts and quite a climb down to what looks like a much more contemporary restaurant than most we went to in Malta. My Jerusalem Artichoke ravioli easily trumped our starters from the same vegetable at Rubino the following day, and also my wife's soup which in common with much Maltese soup we tried was somewhat thin and less tasty than we'd hoped. We both chose a chicken breast stuffed with sausage and pistachio for our main courses, and both enjoyed it. Both food and wine were somewhat more expensive than the other places in Valletta we tried; and service was a little more austere. Not bad though!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosta, null, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“After an evening at the theatre an nice dinner...”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My first time in this dining establishment. I have to say it has a rather unique ambiance, the service staff are a polite and the menu has a good choice of items. Prices are slightly above average. our dinner was on a Saturday evening and we had to endure a rather long waiting time for the food but this was glossed over by a nice bottle of Cava.... private facilities are a bit wanting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food, wine, service, setting, surroundings - got it all!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Nothing more to ask for, superb setting, lovely atmosphere, exceptional food and choice of wine, coupled to attentive but not intrusive service. Restaurant deserves to be on your list of must visits in Malta....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clivesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rampila also viewed

 
Pieta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Rampila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing