We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied appetite”
Review of La Giara

La Giara
Ranked #57 of 234 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Moscow
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Satisfied appetite”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Having found a place to park my rental car on a street that would make Everest seem gentle in its steepness, We walked about 50 meters, crossing St Dominic Street, on the left-hand side, walking up the hill, to a small restaurant with a couple of tables with chairs outside! I was sitting about 30cms lower than my wife, but the table remained level!

The food was very fresh, and served by a friendly and courteous, young and quite efficient waiter. We had a beer each and salads which were cold, fresh and delightfully set out and served. The bread was delicious, as most of Malta bread seems to be. It was a pleasant and much needed break in our Valetta sightseeing trip. Really recommend the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank granmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    101
    15
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great mussels, nice people.”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Stumbled into this place because of "mussels" sign outside. Cool on a hot day. Mussels were fresh and delicious. Really great bruschetta starter included for free. Quick service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doddsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value and friendly service”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We found La Giara on TripAdvisor and went there on a slow monday. Which was lucky, because the chef did everything that day, the waitor had become ill. He did some magic and we got better service than our 5-star hotel managed..hm... My family particularly enjoyed the ribeye and the stuffed veal specialities.

We ended up ordering desserts and more drinks despite being full, just because chef made us happy. Happy with our day, our restaurant choice and Malta. I hope to go there again sometime. /With love from Sweden, Katarina & family

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KWillenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible, fresh food”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Although I ate there around midday, and it was boiling outside, the food was fresh and tasty, and the staff were friendly and energetic!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arnbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sicilian fare in Valletta”
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

No frills but very good Sicilian cuisine by SICILIAN proprietor and waiters, Great pilipo al forno & calamari ripoeni! Will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RaphMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Giara also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to La Giara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing