We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, High Prices, Good Food”
Review of Ambrosia

Ambrosia
Ranked #53 of 235 Restaurants in Valletta
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, High Prices, Good Food”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stopped for lunch on our last day. The menu is chalked on one board for all to see. Prices are not inexpensive; in fact, it's the most expensive place I ate the entire time I was in Malta.

The table was set with a lot of "stuff" ... and when we ordered Sea Bass, they reset the table with a fish fork and knife. I was thrilled! Too bad the sea bass didn't live up to the hype. It was well cooked but kind of bland.

We shared a starter of asparagus and pecorino, which was delicious ... and the best part of the food.

Excellent, attentive service. Nice ambience. Expect to pay a pretty penny for every little bit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TheOriginalMeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    138
    54
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zejtun
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This is one of the best places for lunch in Valletta - the food is consistently good as is the service. Could do with a wider selection of wines, but that's a very minor point.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Romina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We were looking for another restaurant then stumbled across this. The food was excellent and reasonable. The wine menu was comprehensive and again kind on the wallet. It was small and intimate with very good service. Will definitely go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 59mpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Put it on your list”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

A very pleasant restaurant, nice without being over done. The food, which I guess is the important part, was very well done. Maltese dishes that would hold their own against any type of cooking.

The wait staff a bit spotty. Once great, once okay.

Lots of locals.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bill1964_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
818 reviews
599 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 514 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Great food. Good wine list. Great service. Fair prices. Really good ambience.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ambrosia also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Ambrosia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing