We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food but appalling service”
Review of Ambrosia

Ambrosia
Ranked #54 of 235 Restaurants in Valletta
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Barrie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good food but appalling service”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This restaurant was recommended and certainly the food was very good. However, that is the only positive comment: having reserved a table several days ahead we were shown to a table then stopped and questioned about our booking by the same person who took the reservation as he was reluctant to give that table away- not very welcoming. The menu was written on a board not visible to all diners and little effort was made to explain it. Each of us ordered starters and mains, understanding that there is a different price if a selection is made as a main (15 rather than 9 Euros). We were surprised to see the small size of one of the main dishes. We asked if it was a starter or a main and the same host who questioned us earlier barked "main" and walked away. We were genuinely surprised as portions are usually good in Valletta restaurants and most restaurateurs are anxious to please and provide additional advice and food if requested. We discovered when the bill was brought that we were charged for a starter size but by that time the lack of courteous conversation discouraged further clarification. The service (sic) was at best perfunctory and quickly moved to downright rude. During our stay we went to 10 restaurants in Valletta and had very pleasant, friendly and professional service in all except this one.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan2301_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    138
    55
    36
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ooty (Udhagamandalam), India
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A staple in our restaurant life.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We never fail to visit Ambrosia while in Malta and are never unhappy. They do traditional Maltese food with a twist and we like the predictability of the menu and quality. Favourite dishes include the rabbit with figs and the asparagus salad. But non restaurant in Malta or Gozo has to date matched Ambrosia for its desserts which are sublime. The panna cotta remains the best we have ever had and the addition of lemon cheesecake - the best cheesecake I have ever tasted - is wonderful. I apologize for the superlatives but it is well deserved. There is a winery restaurant in South Africa that outdoes Ambrosia's desserts by offering white chocolate perfection but otherwise, Ambrosia rules in my heart when it comes to desserts.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NannaCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What a lovely surprise!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A hidden gem on a small street in Valletta where we found a warm welcome,great service and a delicious lunch. The recommended Maltese wine was wonderful, the fish was fresh, and the finale of a warm chocolate pudding brought to all together for a meal worth remembering.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fairsari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable if relatively expensive”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We visited early April on recommendation and enjoyed our meal. The front of house is looked after by the patron's English wife, who keeps things humming along quickly. Although we did not plan to do so, we were in and out - it was a fairly quiet night I think - inside an hour without feeling at all rushed.
In keeping with our habits we tried to pick local food and wine, so we shared an asparagus salad starter, which was delicious, then I had a prawn and fish stew while my wife had sea bass. Both were excellent and washed down with a glass of Maltese white. We made it to dessert, which are well known at Ambrosia and were rewarded with an absolutely lovely vanilla pannacotta with raspberry sauce, heavenly!

I would only comment that relative to highly comparable restaurants in Valletta, Ambrosia seemed rather expensive to us.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonG0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
“For a nice dinner”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

If you want to have a nice dinner you may go to Ambrosia in Valletta. Price-quality balance is perfect.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sultarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ambrosia also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Ambrosia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing