We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

Valletta Waterfront
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16.63*
and up
Valletta and The Three Cities Harbor Cruise
Ranked #5 of 87 things to do in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Valletta waterfront is a must visit. It has many great restaurants and shops and most importantly a grand view of one of the Globe's most beautiful natural harbours!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TumbleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    998
    518
    154
    28
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kalkara, Malta
Level Contributor
186 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Stunning harbour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We took a boat trip around the harbour at dusk as the sun was setting. All was lit up in a golden glow and we took some fabulous photos. Probably the best time to see the harbour and highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 724jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yaiza, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be Warned - Hop On Hop Off Scam in Malta”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Arriving in Valletta by cruiseship - what a wonderful approach this was - we were keen to see more by open top bus. At the quayside, thinking we were buying tickets for the 1 1/2 hour official Hop on Hop off bus tour, we got on the bus as instructed whereupon our tickets were exchanged for different ones, and the bus set off on the "Blue Route" but didn't actually follow the blue route shown in the leaflet we had been given. Never mind, we thought, we were going in roughly the right direction. We got off at the wonderful Mdina and had lunch.

Trying to get onto the bus to take us back to Valletta afterwards, we were told by the rather rude driver that we had the wrong tickets. Eventually a bus came that would take us on the rest of our circular journey, only to be told that it would take a further 2 1/2 hours! We showed the leaflet to the driver, and he said it was the wrong one for that bus, although we had the right tickets! We had clearly been conned. We didn't have 2 1/2 hours left before our ship sailed, so to cut a long story short, involving the Maltese police, an irate taxi driver, and a disabled couple in our group whose wheelchair wouldn't fit into a taxi, we eventually reached our ship thanks to the Maltese Port Authority.

We've never had any problems before with these buses, and are sure that this time it was due to someone acting on their own behalf, but using the official leaflets. Perhaps the lesson learnt is to only buy the tickets when on the bus, not beforehand.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Upper Barrakka Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived at the cruise terminal and there is a tourist information office on the quayside which told us about things to do, we wanted to see the town and go on a boat trip but boats only go from Sliema which can be reached by the 12/13/21 buses from bus terminal. If you walk about 5 minutes to the Barraka Gardens lift which cost 1 Euro return trip it takes you to the top gardens with beautiful views of Valletta. If you happen to be there at 12 noon the military guards fire the canons, well worth watching. The gardens have a cafe bar which is very reasonable and if you just want to visit the town use the lift which takes you there without the long uphill walk.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Headfoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful part of Malta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Its somewhere I've always wanted to visit in Malta and it was worth the wait. Lovely shops and some superb restaurants. Lovely setting.

Helpful?
Thank Holshobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valletta Waterfront also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Valletta Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing