We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Valletta Suites
Ranked #8 of 19 Valletta B&B and Inns
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning accommodation”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I cannot find the proper words to describe this amazing apartment located on the heart of Valletta. We stayed just for one week but we could feel as we were at home.

The apartment has superb views of the Grand Harbour in one of its terraces and it also comprises nice designed furniture, confortable bed, a well equipped kitchen and all the structure necessary to a pleasant stay.

More than a property, this accomadation has a soul, personality, and it must be credited to its owner and manager, Franck, who is a very helpful and wise man, and makes all the efforts to satisfy his guests needs.

This accommodation is the perfect background to enjoy all the maltese islands beauties, great food, culture and unique historic sites. I would definitely recommend.

Regards,
Rogerio.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RogerioCdeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
79
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The restoration of this historic building into comfortable flats with all amenities, coupled with the dedication of Franck, the owner to ensure that the guests are well taken care of and appreciate the true Maltese history and hospitality. As I was vacationing for two weeks, I had the luxury to spend a week in two completely different flats (one being the Penthouse flat. Each flat has it's own decorum and personality, both being modern and comfortable. Franck is so very accommodating and he will provide honest sightseeing information and the history of the "must see" things to do in Malta. Besides Valletta, be sure to go to Gozo, if you have the time.

Room Tip: Penthouse is very sunny with magnificent harbor views while the other rooms appear to be just as qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great experience throughout. Picked up at the airport and delivered to the door of the apartment by a courtesy car. Building is beautiful and even has a fishpond in the courtyard. Location is brilliant. Very close to the centre of Valletta where all the restaurants and shops are but a street away so quiet at night. Lovely stay and would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dauntsey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Until recently it has been difficult to find a good place to stay inside the city of Valletta itself. The Palazzo Citta Valletta solves that challenge with an atmospheric and the very high quality apartments, retaining traditional Maltese features and décor cannot be too highly recommended.
From the splendid and helpful host to the facilities and extra touches, this is a gem of a find to stay in whilst exploring both the City and Island.
We had an excellent time and after visiting Malta for the past 15 years I think it is the most enjoyable stay I have had. My only fear is that too many people will agree with me and I will find it hard to get a vacancy for my next visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank bobtravelDauntsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The apartment, location and service were all fantastic. The building has been expertly renovated to be modern and comfortable, yet retains a real sense of history. We will definitely stay here again the next time we're in Malta.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Palazzo Citta Valletta - is a very unusual place. Excellently located in the center of Valletta, within walking distance from most of the places of interest. Very well decorated and maintained. Frank - the owner , put all his soul in renovation of this old Maltese house. Staying in this magical place was unique experience for me and my mother.

Room Tip: It doesn't make any difference. All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Iegor_Kholodiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, Surrey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed in October for 8 brilliant nights. I have never stayed in a more friendly place. Frank, the owner and manager, was helpful and supremely knowledgeable about Valletta. The Palazzo is not easy to spot as there is no obvious sign, but fortunately guests are offered an airport pick up. The building has been perfectly restored - we stayed in the courtyard room which had a comfortable double bed, a small - but functional shower/toilet room - and a well-equipped kitchenette. It had no external windows which had the advantage of it being quiet but meant that there was limited external light. But as we had the whole of the fascinating city of Valletta and the Island of Malta to explore it really did not matter. But the kitchenette allowed us to have hot drinks and breakfast before heading off to explore. The Palazzo is central and a short walk from the main tourist areas and from the main bus station which has buses to anywhere on the Island. There are also one or two interesting small Maltese bars nearby which are worth visiting. If you want to see Valletta this is the place to stay. The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming. If you lived there you could not feel more at home. We will go back.
The scores below may not seem to add up to an excellent rating but this is one of those places where the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. Splendid place to stay.

Room Tip: There are rooms upstairs with external windows but anywhere in the Palazzo seemed to be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,829 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,177 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#4 of 15 in Valletta
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
1,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Valletta Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Valletta Suites

Property: Palazzo Valletta Suites
Address: 314 St Paul Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1211, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Valletta Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Citta Valletta is a 16th century Palazzo located on the “High” side of Valletta, a much sought after location, on one of its principal streets. The house is one of the earliest to be built in the city when two smaller houses dating to around 1580 were joined and remodeled in 1622 in the understated Baroque style so typical of the buildings of that era in Malta.As is typical with most layouts of the time, the building revolves around a large central courtyard or patio. A door and hall large enough to take a coach and horses connects to the street. Cellars housed the stables, the ground floor the kitchens and the first floor the servants’ quarters. On the second floor called the “Piano Nobile” lived the gentry. Various important Maltese families have occupied the house and for a period of years it was also the headquarters of a leading commercial company. The house was locked up for numerous years until a careful and loving restoration was commenced some years ago under the direct supervision of the present owner. The result is a subtle mix of traditional and modern within an imposing structure albeit full of elegance and charm.Just one hundred meters from San Gwann Square the main square of Valletta, the Valletta fruit and vegetable market, food stores and 10 minutes from Malta's main bus terminal. The “Patron”’ of the house has opened the house to a few select guests wishing to relive the splendor of Valletta’s glorious past. A totally new concept in Maltese hospitality not unlike Riyadhs in Morocco, Paradores in Spain and Posadas in Portugal, a unique experience to share in the day to day living within an authentic 16/17th century “Maison de Ville”. Palazzo Valletta offers a high end lodging alternative to hotel accommodation in Malta, at very competitive rates.A total of only four suites ranging from a ground floor junior suite to a de luxe penthouse with panoramic views are grouped around the central patio, the heart of the house. Each suite comes with cotton bed linen, anti allergen pillows and mattress and silk bed covers, pure cotton towels, fluffy cotton bathrobes, cutting edge Italian design kitchen and appliances from a well known brand, Italian bright ceramic bathroom tiles.Daily maid serviced with regular change of towels, pillow cases and sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Valletta Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Valletta Suites Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing