We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucia Nova with Love”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Valletta Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valletta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Valletta Suites
Ranked #12 of 17 Valletta B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lucia Nova with Love”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

A few years ago I had the good fortune to stay at “Maison La Vallette” I was so amazed by the standard of the suite that I vowed to come back to Malta and stay there again. I did, come back to Malta, but on this occasion (in June 2011) I stayed at “Lucia Nova” – l’ll tell you this, if you like your suites/apartments elegant and functional then Lucia Nova has what you’re looking for.

Functional: Lucia is in a great location for access to local shops, restaurants, the cinema, the bus depot, the boat/ferry and the airport.

The apartment is set over 4 floors, the ground floor provides you with space to socialise in the compact openplan dinning/kitchen area, it has everything (utensil-wise) you’ll need to cook yourself an evening meal or to start the day off with a good breakfast (the small shop next door has everything you’ll need to prepare yourself a snack or meal on your arrival and throughout your stay).

The first floor bedroom has space and light, somewhere to place your luggage and importantly somewhere to hang a few pieces of clothes. It also has an on-suite bathroom which is so cleverly designed and placed. It has further storage in the form of a bespoke chest-of-draws. The room doesn’t shout technology but has a clever wide-screen TV which will provide you with a variety of channels in English, Maltese and Italian (also a great playlist of music and a few pre-programmed films).

The second floor mirrors the first floor in terms of function but has a different feel in terms of interior design, and as it’s higher you get a slightly more generous view. The third floor (or roof terrace) on warm evenings will be a destination for many, a table and chairs are all that are needed as the San Pellegrino and the Vino will do the rest.

If you look down the spiral staircase from the door that leads back into the apartment from the roof terrace you’ll notice little touches; artwork on the walls, lovely double doors, basically the apartment is a gem. In terms of elegance, Lucia Nova has this in abundance, bespoke furniture, tactile bed linens, warm lighting, the walls in all rooms have different treatments but all tie-in with the feeling of the room itself. Addition furniture like side tables, table lamps and chairs have been carefully selected, they’re not uniform but they do not jar either, I think they rather harmonise. If you like design, vintage and/or a bespoke environment, laced with just the right amount of technology Lucia Nova has what you’re looking for.

Being at Lucia feels like you’ve been transported (well coming from England, that’s what it felt like to me, but note, some visitors maybe used to this standard and style). I have uploaded a few images, but I would suggest that you look at the suites website too.

There will be things that I will pick up on, on a second visit, and there will be things a new visitor will love which isn’t in a guidebook, in a review or on the suite’s website, because even though the beauty and elegance of Lucia Nova is undeniable, the experience will be your own, and that’s part of the magic...

Thank you so much Stephan and Brian, I’ll be back in Malta in early 2012 for my first stay in Nobile.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ricky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
54
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My husband and I stayed for one week at the Valletta Nobile in September 2011. We were greeted by Brian at the airport and then by Stephen at the apartment. Both were informative, friendly and welcoming. The rooms are as they appear in the photographs on the web site. Much thought has gone into the decor and furnishings. Everything is clean and tidy. The bed was very comfortable with lovely cotton sheets. The shower room was great. We enjoyed being in the neighbourhood which can be busy at times though this all adds to the atmosphere. From our balcony window we were able to watch everyday street life, religious processions and the festival activities of Notte Bianca. It is not possible to see all that Valletta and Malta has to offer in one week. We do hope to return and would not hesitate to stay at the Valletta Suites again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debbie548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

we stayed in the valletta nobile appartment which belongs to the three valletta suites
in central valletta.
This place is the perfect choice right in the centre of Valletta only a
few minutes walk from all the shops and restaurants.
This 400 year old building has so much charme with the antique furniture and the owner
recommended us some very nice restaurants and was always very helpful and friendly.
we would definitely go there again or maybe try out one of the other two valletta suites
that look similarly beautiful

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lennon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at Maison La Vallette, one of the Valletta Suites, in October 2011 for 5 nights.

The service is friendly and personal, and Stephen went out of his way to make sure that our stay was perfect, and exactly what you imagine a holiday to be.

When you step into the room, you can't help but feel relaxed. Old sandstone walls tell stories of yesteryear, accentuated with original and unique pieces of furniture, works of art and photography. Divine fabrics, interesting books and antique pieces complete the room, and I only wish I could bring it back home to Australia.

In an ideal location - close to the water, restaurants, cafes and shops - I can not recommend Maison La Vallette highly enough.

If you are travelling to Malta, you simply must stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelsealee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VallettaSuites-Malta, Manager at Valletta Suites, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for choosing Valletta Suites for your stay and for your wonderful remarks!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Maison La Vallette. We hope to accommodate you in one of our other suites in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

excellent located only meters away from the fantastic historical valetta's old city sights, this apartment displays not only brand new and stylish equipment concerning sleeping and living, but also very convenient wireless internet access and a media center in the sleeping room offering videos, TV and music tapes. our hosts were most polite and helpful making our weekend with their apartment a perfect retreat from daily life at home. we absolutely enjoyed our stay and will recommend this place together with valetta itself to our friends!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikolasBracher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed for 4 nights at the Valletta Nobile (part of Valletta Suites) at the corner of St. Nicolas & Merchant street for euro 83/night. I had a great stay and would recommend it to all. To begin with, I opted to have airport pick up (22 euro). While it would be easy to get to the hotel with public transport, it was great to have someone pick me up at the airport and take me directly to the hotel.

Stephen met me at the hotel and explained all the features of the apt. The space is designed on 3 levels. The first level is the entry and the 2nd level has the bathroom and the 3rd level is a spacious studio suite. The stairs somewhat narrow and the 3 levels will make it difficult for those with mobility issues. The decor of the apartment was wonderful with lots of antiques, local color and flair. Stephen's art history background really shows.

The location is a relatively busy (for Valletta) street corner as there is a local bar just below and if there's a football match might be a bit loud into the night (about 11pm). Also the nearby church bells rang early in the morning daily (@630-7am), so might be a problem if a light sleeper. However, this added to the character of the place and made me feel like I was living like a local. I recommend this location highly to anyone visiting Valletta and wanting to experience a little local flavor

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IndianTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Lucia Nova was an amazing find for our holiday.
4 level apartment, can sleep 4.
1st - kitchen/dining/lounge. 2 person dining table. 3 people can lounge.
2nd- bedroom/tv/bathroom. comfortable bed. Great TV, with cable, dvds and a great selection of music. Bathroom, very interesting, clear glass panels into bedroom, can be confronting for some who do not like to be watched showering.
3rd-bedroom/tv/bathroom (we did not have access to this level, as we were only 2 people.
4th floor - rooftop. Nice to sit up there for breakfast to catch some sun.

I cannot say enough about this place. For anyone who is into design, this place is such an inspiration. Stephen met us at apartment and ran through its features. He gave us info on local restaurants and there are also guide books to use. We were also lucky enough to view his other property around the corner "Maison La Vallette" which was also amazing.

Location is great, right near to ferry to Silemma. It's hearty 5-10min walk up to the Republic street.

There is a bit of street noise day/night as in any city. Shutters we kept closed at night, lucky for the time of year is wasn't too hot. Air-con has yet to be installed, Stephen advised he was waiting on council approval. The stairs are spiral between levels. There are good, but for some people could be an issue.

Stephen also assisted in booking our cab to ferry and he also graciously offered us a lift when we ran into him out and about when we were caught in the heavy rain.

We loved the fact that for 4 days we meshed into the Maltese culture and felt we were locals, my partner even went across the road to have a drinks with the locals in their little club.

Thanks Stephen for allowing us to have such a special experience of your culture. Would love to visit again one day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoodleNoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 14 in Valletta
3,694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 14 in Valletta
1,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 14 in Valletta
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 14 in Valletta
2,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valletta
508 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#9 of 14 in Valletta
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valletta Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valletta Suites

Property: Valletta Suites
Address: St Lucia Street, Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The philosophy behind Valletta Suites is to bring together small unique living spaces within the walled city of Valletta. Valletta Suites is the first 'diffused hotel' concept in Valletta since 2006. Beautiful suites that will make your stay in Valletta memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valletta Suites Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing