We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucia Nova-Old charm with a twist”
Review of Valletta Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valletta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Valletta Suites
Ranked #13 of 20 Valletta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We enjoyed every minute of our six day stay in Lucia Nova. It a four story stone house, very narrow and tall. From outside it looks like all other buildings in Valletta: worn out with a peeling paint on the entrance door. But, do not be fooled! It was purposely left in that shape to show its age and charm. Inside, everything is brilliantly renovated with a class, elegance and a great touch for unusual, furnished with antique and designer furniture that mix so well. Very steep, narrow, winding stone stairs connect the floors. On the top is a very beautiful terrace. The house is located at the bottom of a steep street (all streets in Valletta are more or less very steep) that is also very narrow. You can see and hear neighbors across the street and follow their daily routine. If you want privacy, you have to barricade yourself in the house and lose much of the neighborhood charm that nowadays can be rarely seen anywhere. It is only several minutes from Valletta’s main street and the main bus terminal and just steps away from the Silema ferry. Follow the map that is provided by Steven and Brian, two very charming, friendly and fun young men, who can give you great tips from the best pastry in town to the secret way to get last minute tickets for UNESCO World Heritage Site Hal Saflieni Hypogeum. If we ever go back to Malta, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GVO_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VallettaSuites-Malta, Owner at Valletta Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you for choosing Valletta Suites for your stay and your great remarks!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the neighbourhood.

We hope to accommodate you in one of our other suites in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Valletta Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2012

This property is a gem, centrally located in the heart of old Valletta and we enjoyed five wonderful nights there. The steep limestone steps are the biggest detraction to the property, especially as the toilet must be reached by climbing down several of them which could be a bit treacherous in the middle of the night.
In all other respects it was great. The decor is a little quirky and very tasteful and we felt very much at home and able to relax.
Despite a little hiccup with being met at the airport as promised, Brian and Stephen were delightful and extremely helpful. They collected our laundry and delivered it back for a very reasonable charge, and provided assistance and recommendations for restaurants and attractions. In addition they recommended and provided the details for an excellent rental car option.
This was the perfect place to stay and we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Valletta Nobile is an apartment located in a 450-year-old townhouse which is a five-minute walk from the Grand Master's Palace. This is a real, breathing, pulsing Valletta neighborhood: You will always see people in the bar at the corner (the Breakwater), and women and men alike hang out of the balcony windows to gossip and look at who is walking by.

The decor of the living space of this apartment is full of bric-a-brac and old artwork, and the result is entirely tasteful and appropriate; every time I turned around, I discovered something new about the place. I was there during a heatwave, and thank God for the air conditioner, but beware that this townhouse, like all others in Valletta, is built of native limestone, which absorbs moisture and, hence, retains heat: You will often feel hotter in the stairwell than it is outside.

Be aware that there are 33 limestone steps from the ground floor up to the living space, and if you want to use the toilet, you have to walk down 9 steps. The steps are ample enough, but there is no bannister or handrail, so you must take care. Of course, Valletta Nobile has a sister property, Maison la Vallette, which has no steps at all, so those who are in this category might wish to consider that.

The balcony is a great place to sit and peer out the windows at the people passing by.

Stephen and Brian, who run Valletta Nobile and the other properties, are a delight to deal with, extremely accommodating and hospitable, and an absolute wealth of information about Valletta. Getting to know them is the highlight of staying here.

I would definitely recommend this place to someone who wants to feel the experience of living in old Valletta.

Thumbs up!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SheikhDaoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in July. We made our own way from the airport to valletta and used the maps emailed to us to guide us to the apartment. We arrived at 6pm and were greeted by stephen, the owner. He was very thorough in letting us know various details of the apartment and the city of Valletta(this included maps of where to find local shops and recommended restaurants). We tried a fish restaurant Stephen recommended and had the best fish of our 6 week European holiday!
The apartment had lots of character and charm. Everything from the choice of paintings and decor to the selection of books in the sitting areas bookcase, let us know that a lot of thought and attention to detail went into this apartment to make every person's visit sure to be a memorable one. It is also well positioned close to Valletta shops, restaurants and the harbor, yet on a nice quiet street.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neptue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We spent 7 nights in Valletta at 'Lucia Nova' for a family birthday / reunion. The beautiful apartment is a traditional Valletta home with a winding stone staircase that leads up to a roof top balcony. The 2 double bedrooms both have adjoining, large ensuite bathrooms. Both bedrooms had efficient air-conditioners - a blessing as our first few days were quite humid. We were pleasantly surprised at how quiet the apartment was as each bedroom had an extra set of doors which helped block out street noises. (the street however was not a busy one)
Perfectly located, the main shopping strip, Palace and St Johns Co-cathedral were all just a short walk up a cobbled street. We were a stone's throw from the harbour and a great swimming spot. The ferry terminal to Sliema (across the harbour) was an easy 5 minute walk and only €1.50 per crossing!
Stephen, the manager could not have been more helpful - assisting us with maps, booking us cars at a very reasonable cost, providing us with extra kitchen supplies when requested etc.

We would all definitely recommend this apartment - it provided us with a wonderful base from which to enjoy Malta.

Note: Some of our relatives had Stephen's other two houses for the week: Valletta Noble and Maison La Vallette. These are both smaller, one bedroom apartments and both were lovely.

Tip: One young member of our party took a taxi from the airport and the driver who had demanded €20 up front had problems locating the apartment. He eventually gave up (they don't seem to use maps) and left her stranded a couple of streets away. My brother and his wife had a similar experience and were 'dumped' at the bus station - so I really recommend you book a car through Stephen. (this cost us €20 which we paid to the driver)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is a gem of a place; centrally located, beautifully furnished and walking distance to almost everything. We would return in a heartbeat. The owners were tremendously helpful, and it more than met our requirements, with a lovely small kitchen (though we ate out for every meal). One of my most beautiful travel memories is lying in the bed on Sunday morning, with the curtains wafting in the breeze from the open window, and listening to the church bells. If you are looking for an elegant, comfortable and authentic experience, this is it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yelseltsew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VallettaSuites-Malta, Owner at Valletta Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thanks for choosing Valletta Suites for your stay and for your lovely review.
We are glad you have made some great memories in Valletta.

I hope we will be able to accommodate you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We visited this charming and atmospheric apartment this September. It is situated within 5 minutes walk from the Main Street in Valletta and is well situated for all of Valetta's shops and restaurants. The apartment is well equipped with bedroom, sitting room and bathroom/wet room with excellent shower. The sitting room has a microwave, fridge, kettle, toaster and hob.

The area is largely residential

The only downside could be access from the street. There are a number of stairs that would make this apartment inaccessible for some.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RADCTurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#7 of 15 in Valletta
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valletta Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valletta Suites

Address: St Lucia Street, Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Valletta
Price Range: £88 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The philosophy behind Valletta Suites is to bring together small unique living spaces within the walled city of Valletta. Valletta Suites is the first 'diffused hotel' concept in Valletta since 2006. Beautiful suites that will make your stay in Valletta memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valletta Suites Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing