We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique stay ”
Review of Valletta Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valletta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Valletta Suites
Ranked #13 of 20 Valletta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the valletta nobile for 4 nights, it was lovely and close to walk to the main sites of valletta. On arrival we were greeted by Brian and Stephen who were wonderful. They showed us around, provided a map and helped us go through our itinerary and pick the best things to see. They offered suggestions for food and said we could call anytime. Their personal service is outstanding.

The suite itself is beautiful, very tastefully decorated.

We had a wonderful stay here, but I do have to be honest about a couple of things. I think if these 2 things were looked at then it would be perfect.

1. The bed mattress is quite hard
2. The bathroom is a bit impractical. As others have mentioned the whole area gets wet when you have a shower (toilet, basin, floor) and you have to squeegee the floor (who wants to do that on holiday) I started putting makup on/ brushing teeth in the kitchen. The problem would be easily fixed I'm sure with a couple of panels of glass around the shower.

Overall though, it was a lovely experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Mel414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Valletta Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is the perfect place to stay if you want to experience life as a historical Maltese nobleman. After all, Valletta is the city "built by gentlemen for gentlemen". I chose to stay in the Maison la Valette suite, tucked on a quiet side street near all of the attractions and harbor areas. This is a self-catered suite, but if you can live without room service and other useless big hotel amenities, then look no further. I stayed five nights and felt just like I was at home, with spare but comfortable furnishings, a great CD library, and flawless WiFi. For a nightcap overlooking the fortifications and harbor, stop in the gorgeous lounge Monalisa, just steps away on Great Siege Road.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

One obviously can choose to stay at one of the big hotels in Valletta but I thought Maison la vallette was a great base/temporary home from which to see Valletta and to live like a local. The top sights & restaurants, ie Guze (great food), Leglipin (great value), palazzo preca (fresh seafood) & Rampino (great atmo & unusal location) were just around the corner, a short walk from Michael's (no. 1 ranked by tripadvisor, excellent fresh ingredients but a tad salty) a not so short walk to Brown's Kitchen ( the worst of the lot, good views, huge American diners' portions, average food) The MLV suite has a street level almost hobbit like entry (albeit for chic hobbits), the apartment is delightfully designed, the kind of place that mades you want to buy an apartment in Valletta and hire the owners to help renovate and decorate.
In addition to the map from Brian? the MLV website was incredibly helpful, a mini guidebook of what to see eat drink etc (maybe can be made into a iphone app?)
Their wifi was industrial strength, much appreciated as I had three gadgets on me.

only issues were:
1) handheld shower -- nothing to prevent the water from getting out, the sink is in the bedroom & has no light over it, so if you need to put makeup on, don't.
2) being a ground floor apartment the street noise was really amplified (though it was super quiet at night)

In sum, a unique stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in the Lucia Nova suite. It looks great on the internet but the difference with reality was stark. The minute you enter you're off to an unpromising start: a plastic sheet, held up by duct tape, holds back open hanging wires on the wall to your left. The first floor which looks great on the web isn't really fit for purpose. The sofa / "easy" chair are both uncomfortable (unless you like sitting side by side and upright), the kitchenette area is poorly lit and unprepossessing, the entire feel is sterile and unwelcoming. The bed in the first floor bedroom is comfortable but that's all the room has going for it. It's poorly lit, and there's nowhere to hang clothes. There's a small rack on the Maltese balcony off to one side but it means you're leaving your clothes in bright sunlight, and also if you're planning on staying for more than a couple of days, it's wholly inadequate anyway. The balcony was also very dusty which wasn't very inviting to leave clean clothes in. The bathroom was a real problem. Designed as wet-room, the entire room gets sopping wet when you shower: the toilet seat, the sink, the floor, everything. The extractor fan is wholly inadequate so the bathroom stays wet and musty for hours. More uncomfortably still, the hot water tank holds only enough water for a max 5 - 7 minute hot shower, which is ungenerous in the extreme. How are two people supposed to shower comfortably? We did not get to see the room on the next floor: even though we had paid for the whole house (which we assumed was the only way to rent it in any event), the room was locked. When we asked why, we were told "it was not in use". No explanation offered other than "we sometimes rent out both rooms". However there is no different tariff on the website for renting the house with one room or with two, so this explanation seemed bizarre. We were also told when we arrived "oh you're the only ones here" which seemed even more bizarre. It's one house, rented as such. Should we have been grateful that no strangers had been foisted on us (and us on them) when each would have paid the full tariff? The much vaunted roof terrace, which we were really looking forward to, was frankly disgraceful. A couple of cheap upright plastic chairs and a cheap plastic table, neither of which had been dusted down or washed stood in the corner. That was the sum total of the roof terrace. No plants, no shade, no effort to make it inviting. It was nothing more than a flat space at the top of a house, and it looked like it hadn't been washed down in ages. In fact, the entire house needed a good clean. The windows were streaked with grime, the white curtains on the balcony were grey, two windows didn't open, the kitchen countertop was sticky and, when something rolled under the chest of drawers in the bedroom and I bent down to retrieve it, it was clear it hadn't been hoovered or mopped for ages. The owners also have a bizarre policy of demanding a hefty cash deposit when you arrive. Why? They have your credit card details, you've paid upfront, there's frankly nothing to steal or damage, and yet. So you're left with unspent cash enroute to the airport at the end of your holiday because of this silly policy. Lucia Nova isn't cheap by Maltese standards and when we booked it we thought we were going to get a charming boutique-y experience. In fact the entire stay was uncomfortable. We did our best to spend as little time as possible in the building which surely defeats the purpose of not staying in a conventional hotel. We really liked Malta but the Lucia Nova experience wasn't very pleasant at all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HotelEnthusiast09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G, Manager at Valletta Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thanks for find the time to write such a biased review. We value customer feedback and whilst we understand that different people have their own suggestions/visions, yours seems to be very extreme. Apart from that, should you have had any issues, these should have been brought to our attention right away during your stay. When you requested additional hangers, these were supplied immediately.

As a start, I feel that your idea of luxury and boutique are different from ours.
Valletta Suites offers the luxury of living in authentic spaces that have been restored with modern comforts, yet keeping as much as possible of the original (including the chipped Maltese floor tiles and original cracked doors that you might have missed to mention). Part of the luxury is our personal assistance on arrival, including recommendations and requests.

Luxury in this case is not about the 1980s bling bling, that might have been more suitable for you in a standard hotel, where you can get a nice blank gypsum box with a standard bathroom and kettle in your room. Boutique by our standards implies the authentic buildings themselves with private entrances, interiors that include antique furniture, real books, bespoke items and our personalised service that most of our guests value. We offer a different experience for those who love history, architecture and are looking for something genuine and special in the heart of Valletta.

The sofa/easy chair:
One is an authentic french antique guilder sofa with a reupholstered cushion and the other is a bespoke armchair with a soft cushion. Plenty of other cushions are also available. In the room there is also a dining table with 2 additional chairs as well as a small kitchen. Unless you plan to have tea for twenty, this has been more than adequate for our guests.

Lights:
The house is lit up enough to create an adequate atmosphere, there are designer ceiling lights and bed side tables in the bedroom.

Hangers:
Unless you carry your house with you, for a few days, there are sufficient hangers in the wooden balcony, and when requested (like you have done yourself), more are supplied right away. There is also a cabinet with a few drawers in the room.

Cleaning:
The local limestone is a very soft dusty stone, therefore dust comes part and parcel with 300+ year old houses, especially if you leave the windows open on a windy day. However I can guarantee that the house had been thoroughly cleaned before your arrival. I check that everything is in order personally, right before guests arrive. As soon as it rains, it is likely that windows and roofs get soiled, due to the nature of the wind and dust. Unfortunately we do not have control over this (yet).

Bathroom:
The water boiler is more than enough for 2-4 consecutive showers (unless you plan to boil yourself for more than 20 minutes at a time).

The Third Floor:
As explained on your arrival, the third floor is an additional bedroom that is booked at an extra charge. To clarify any misconceptions, Lucia Nova is currently bookable online as a one bedroom (for 2 persons) with ensuite shower, including private entrance at street level, living room with kitchenette and roof terrace. There is no mention that access to another bedroom is granted. (Do you get free rooms in a hotel, when you book one room? Or expect that a room that can be connected to another adjacent room is accessible to you, just because there is a door?)
This second room is not booked separately, meaning that there is never anyone else in the house unless these are part of a family or group. Discreet service is one of our priorities. Should you have wished to have access to this room, this would have been possible as an extra - however this was never requested at any time.

The Roof Terrace:
Going back to our philosophy, we leave the mega-bling out, however throughout the house, there are discrete designer pieces of furniture including a Flos silk pendant, Artemide Tolomeo lamp, Kartell chairs and of course the two plastic chairs on the roof are designed by Philippe Starck for Driade. I am disappointed that being a “Hotel Enthusiast” like yourself you miss such attention to details.

Cash on arrival:
The security deposit of Eur250 is collected in cash, in Euro or other currency. We also accept a card guarantee for this. If this was an issue, you could have easily paid in British Pounds or have a card as a security. None of our guests have been robbed by us in the process (In case of any doubt, we do return the deposit at the end of the stay and we do not have any hidden charges. Bed linen, towels, cleaning and electricity and costs, as well as any applicable taxes are all included in our rates). Most quality suites in Valletta, collect a similar security deposit on arrival (some return the amount after you leave) and some charge for use of electricity and water.

I feel sorry that Valletta Suites wasn’t the right choice for you, however once again I cannot understand how someone like yourself, who is a “Hotel Enthusiast”, fails to enjoy the experience of an authentic boutique accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in January. The location was excellent, we really felt like we within the atmosphere and rythym of the city. Very convenient, 5-10 minute walk to all the sights and restaurants of Valetta. Brian was extremely helpful and provided a lot of good information and insights that helped us enjoy our stay. Kitchenette was adequate for our limited needs. Furniture and design features created a nice ambiance. Wifi worked quite well. Rain shower did get the entire bathroom wet, but drainage worked well. Could have used a way to dry towels, maybe not a problem in the heat of the summer, but an issue in January. Plenty of street noise, usually not a factor, but be advised there is a church with a bell tower across the street for those who like to sleep late on sundays !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed in Maison La Valette when we first arrived in Malta for 3 nights and it was a very special start to our trip. Maison la Valette is like a heaven of peace in the busy Valetta. It is very tastefully decorated and is ideal for a romantic getaway. Brian met us when we arrived and took time to show us around, gave us good tips on things to see and do in Valetta despite his very busy schedule (he is the top photographer in Malta). The flat is very centrally located, 10 minutes’ walk form Saint John’s cathedral and the busy Merchant street with all the restaurants and shops ideal for romantic night outs. 5 minutes down the hill you’ll find the ferry to buzzing Sliema offering lots of shops, restaurant bars and Club and a rocky Beach (Tigne Point with a stunning view on Valetta across the water. By the Ferry jetty, try the excellent Octopus Spaghetti at Cockney’s!

The bed in the flat is very comfortable with a memory foam mattress (we are fussy about beds!) and the bathroom has a nice bath and a fantastic colourful chandelier!!

Book this place and you won’t regret it. It is also very reasonably priced! We will definitely stay there next time we get to Malta!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sebastian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I spent the first few days of our honeymoon in Malta at the Lucia Nova in Valletta. It is a beautiful space and very comfortable. Brian met us at the apartment to give us keys, a map of Valletta, and restaurant recommendations. He was also available by phone or email to answer any of our questions. Of the four places we stayed in Malta, this was by far our favorite!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jodie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#7 of 15 in Valletta
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valletta Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valletta Suites

Address: St Lucia Street, Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Valletta
Price Range: £88 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The philosophy behind Valletta Suites is to bring together small unique living spaces within the walled city of Valletta. Valletta Suites is the first 'diffused hotel' concept in Valletta since 2006. Beautiful suites that will make your stay in Valletta memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valletta Suites Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing