We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What History”

The Knights Hospitallers
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.81*
and up
Valletta Small-Group Walking Tour
Ranked #23 of 87 things to do in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a small museum within the conference centre of the knights of Malta, in Valletta. The Blurb for this reads“Beneath the ‘Sacra Infermeria’, beside the historic Fort St Elmo, you will discover the chivalrous world of the Hospitaller Knights. Wander in an authentic site and relive and experience a past golden age. Now, you can go back in time through sights, sounds and smells – from the Crusades to the Great Siege, the glorious Hospital and the Plague. Travel across 700 years of history, of the Knights of St John.”
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What History”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

A must see building in Valletta. The history attached to this amazing building is fascinating. The architecture for the time it was built is impressive, the sheer size of the place is breath taking.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alane666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    164
    63
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
642 reviews
214 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I learnt so much on this visit. The Knights were a hugely interesting order who suffered and who imposed suffering.
The history as it unfolds tells a captivating story. I really feel that this, supplemented by other museums that I visited on my stay, portrays a wonderful story of what their lives must have been like. I recommend that any person seeing this does visit other related museums and churches though.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TartanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Another interesting centre of Maltese history”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

It's difficult to interpret this era of Maltese history as not much seems to have survived but they try with diorama, models and pictures to tell the story of how the Knights came to be in Malta and their part in providing care and hospitality. It filled in an hour and wasn't expensive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Upon entry to the premises, I defy anyone to not go "Wow"!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

What an amazing building, enlightening description and, visionary development of the site whilst retaining it's history. I write no more in order to preserve the surprise.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This museum was very interesting and the information is via personal audio but we were not given long enough to go around and hear everything before being taken to other parts of the building. The rooms are beautiful and this is a really good pace to visit to learn more about the Knights of St John and their work and contribution on Malta.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank swissericsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Knights Hospitallers also viewed

 

Been to The Knights Hospitallers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing