We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A film about Valletta and maltac”

Valletta Living History
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Valletta Living History is a 35 minute, high definition, docudrama, in the form of an audio visual show, depicting the history, culture and lifestyle of Malta and the Maltese. Re-live the arrival of Valletta’s earliest settlers; the Great Siege that erupted between the Knights of St John and the fierce Ottoman Empire; French and British rule; as well as the city’s heroic role in World War II till present day. An audiovisual spectacular, the show provides great entertainment for all the family, right in the heart of Malta’s capital city Valletta. It provides fantastic insight into the history of the capital, local culture and Maltese society, through a documentary that charts Valletta’s evolution over the centuries. Travel Back Through Time! Valletta Living History takes you on a journey through time to discover Valletta’s incredible past! This leading Maltese attraction showcases the city’s major milestones, its rich architectural heritage and the ways of life of its population at every stage of its development.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A film about Valletta and maltac”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Great film but the cinema is up a flight of stairs on the top floor of the shopping complete not very disabled friendly thus the slightly reduced score otherwise excellent worth seeing

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexisCallus1, Manager at Valletta Living History, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback on our attraction.

I would like to confirm that the Embassy Complex is accessible to all.

The area from the box office to the theater also has a separate lift available aside from access via stairs.

The theater also has a reserved area for wheelchair users in order to ensure access to all.

The following link is our Access Statement: http://www.maltaattraction.com/content.aspx?id=222843
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    41
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
317 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“great place and good shopping”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

stopped during a cruise and it was great.
must see the grotto caves. very cheap- 8 euros per person for the ride
during the summer you must swim . the water is tranparent and beautiful
main street in valletta has very good shopping.
we bought a bulgari watch and cigars. prices were much cheaper than in the other cities.
plus the tax exemption

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jack n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Better than the Malta Experience”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

We went to both this and the Malta Experience, and found this to be the more interesting of the two. The Malta experience included some prehistoric history which wasn't to be honest, the most interesting, and was mainly slides, where Valletta Living History included reenactments and overall presented it in a more interesting way, and I would say the history covered is sufficient as an introduction to Malta.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank giddy2g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well, it is a movie..average one.”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We had free entrance with MaltaPass, otherwise it would have been a waste of money.
An ordinary film about some basic Valetta history.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laponian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexisCallus1, Manager at Valletta Living History, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Whilst we appreciate all feedback and do make an effort to address short coming thanks to the feedback we received we feel it important to respond as well from time to time in order not to mislead viewers.

Valletta Living History is a 35 minute docudrama audiovisual show depicting the Great Siege between the Knights of St. John and the Ottomans, The construction of Valletta, French and British Rule, The Second World War including archive footage and Malta today.

All this is presented in brief and chronologically in order to put the visitor up to track with the history, culture and lifestyle of Malta and the Maltese.

The idea is that whilst you are in the centre of the City you can cut of for 35 min and get a debrief on ‘whats, whys and whens’ on the history that is all around you. That way you appreciate better the story that our island has to give.

Whilst understanding that this is not necessary something appreciated by some people, we are happy to say that in general the feedback is great and it is much better appreciated after one sets foot back out of the theater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best show on the island although similar to the others.”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is probably the best show of its type on the island i would say. It is better produced although the acting could have been a little better i'd say as it seemed rather wooden. They touched upon most of the historical goings on i would say although could have elaborated more on what benefits they got from all the occupying countries, instead of mainly talking about the siege and the Knights etc.

It is similar to other shows on the island as you would expect but i would say it is better as they have a man and his daughter i think providing a narrative to follow whereas the other shows are a big gaudy and could be improved.

Overall a good watch, i had the whole screen to myself so cant complain.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BVH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valletta Living History also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Qormi, Island of Malta
 

Been to Valletta Living History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing