We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legligin

Legligin
Ranked #15 of 226 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$27
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The quaint wine bar in Strada Sta Lucia in Valletta where the good flowing wine is exalted by Chris' unique culinary delights. Legligin is a concept restaurant and wine bar. Our €20 per person tasting menu includes Maltese and other Mediterranean dishes. There is no a la carte menu... Just sit back, relax, and let us feed you, the Legligin way. Open Tuesday-Saturday 1pm till late and Sunday and Monday 6pm onwards.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I dined here a few nights ago and were lucky to get in - many were turned away while we were there. Huge selection of wine, although we just each had a glass of red wine which we found to be just ok. The waitress was very indifferent, but the owner was full of charm and worked extremely hard. We loved the food and would highly recommend it. A terrific tasting of many different Mediterranean foods and all really well done. We liked that it took a long time to have our meal as small tastings came out every 5 - 10 mins. Some dishes were cold, and other dishes were served to us by the owner right out of the hot pan. Loved that as well. Highly recommend for the food

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    167
    37
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Arrogant, rude and unprofessional”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Made a reservation for a party of 6 for a special occasion. On our arrival the restaurant was full and the front of house and manager said there was no reservation in our name. Instead of receiving an apology we were accused of not making the reservation, and asked who we spoke to? (Not a common practice to ask the name of the person taking your reservation.) ended up showing the manager the call history on a mobile phone to prove it.. And got little more than a shrug in return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We booked a table for 6 and when we arrived we were told that they didn't have a booking. The waitress kept asking who we spoke to and we obviously didn't know. The woman I spoke to on the phone took my telephone number and details however it wasn't written down anywhere. The owner came out and kept asking who we spoke to and asked to see my last calls to check if we actually called. They didn't try to solve it they were rude. It really bothered me and I don't think I'll go back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Legligin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

I was amazed as a maltese citizen to see the winebar and the decorations all reminding me of our grannies houses...the decor is really prrfect with a lot of attention to detail..the food concept is good..you dont have to bother what you re going to eat and if you happen not to like a particular dish..you will for sure like another..because there is a big variety..however I do have some suggestions to give: when we were full with food the waiter told us that we still didnt taste the curry chicken..nor the rabbit and prawns..whicb in my opinion were the best dishes..so I would suggest to write the dishes of the day so everybody can see whats next..and most of all..to skip also some dishes that you might not like..for ex:i wasnt keen to try quail..so if i knew he was going to bring it..i would have skipped that dish and try the rabbit! I was also a bit disappointed that we had to buy a pricely price for the delicious dessert...while we paid 40eur for the nibbles and food between 2 ..as a maltese citizen i found it slightly on the higher price since the food which is mainly eaten with bread..is not that costy..so at least the dessert must be part of the price..and i suggest also to have prices for groups of 3 or more..because 60eur food to share between 3 is costy for nibbles and small portions of food which you might easily be full with bread anyway...the rest was very nice..wine list menu is extensive..owners are very sweet..and atmosphere is impeccable...

Helpful?
Thank Abu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous taste of Malta in one sitting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Recommended by our hotel & not disappointed. Taster menu of all things Maltese. Excellent food & wine. Great atmosphere & charming host. Not to be missed. Book for a Sunday so as not to be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ainswort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Legligin also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Legligin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing