We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly little find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legligin

Legligin
Ranked #15 of 226 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$27
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The quaint wine bar in Strada Sta Lucia in Valletta where the good flowing wine is exalted by Chris' unique culinary delights. Legligin is a concept restaurant and wine bar. Our €20 per person tasting menu includes Maltese and other Mediterranean dishes. There is no a la carte menu... Just sit back, relax, and let us feed you, the Legligin way. Open Tuesday-Saturday 1pm till late and Sunday and Monday 6pm onwards.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Friendly little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon this restaurant whilst winding our way around Valletta's streets one evening and we asked a couple who had just left what it was like, they said it was very nice so we went in and gave it a try, we had never done a taster menu before and didn't know what to expect. We were very pleasantly surprised and had ten courses, all small but perfect and very tasty and we can honestly say that by the ninth course we were feeling surprisingly full.

Lovely food, Chris and his staff were very friendly and he even helped plan our trip to Gozo the next morning, thank you.

If you want to try a taste of Maltese cooking this is a must, charming place, give it a go. Kevin and Elaine

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DingDongBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    167
    37
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gone down hill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

As an erstwhile fan of this restaurant it's a shame to write this, but they have over stretched themselves recently.
Legligin was a great wine bar and ventured into food a few years ago. Originally, it was small tasty plates, but my recent experience was poor.
Some of the starters were direct from Lidl packets (we all know, because those of us that live here know a Lidl deli pack all too well) and one of the warm dishes, some pork thing, was unrecognisable as anything edible. It remained untouched by the ten of us present.
My favourite moment was asking the waitress about a particular wine on the extensive wine menu.
'Is that a sweet rose?' I asked.
'I don't know,' she replied with a very lovely smile, 'I don't drink.' She seemed quite pleased with that. I had to ask her to get someone who perhaps could answer some of questions about the cellar.
Such a shame, but they have got a bit over ambitious and perhaps it's time to re-group and consider their customer proposition.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dining Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is another of Valletta's tiny bistros where reservations are a must. You come to Legligin for a dining "experience." It describes itself as a tasting menu. There is no menu per se. You're seated & the courses begin. You don't have any idea of how many or what. In the end we had 13 of 14. As we don't eat beef, we declined the beef olive course. Some of the standouts were two large gnocchi stuffed with sundried tomatoes & mozza, in truffle oil, spooned onto our plates by the chef, at table, right out of the cooking pan. Another was a quail cutlet with arugula & Granny Smith apple bits & strawberry sauce. We felt it was part entertainment & part really excellent food. And that it was great value for €20. There are 2 dessert choices for €5 extra. We opted for the selection of handmade truffles.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes Uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Six stars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Every so often you find one of those places where everything is perfect....the food, the service, the friendliness and passion of the owners, and the price!
Go to this place - eat, experience, enjoy!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_T_MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What perfect feels like ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stumbled into this place tonight; they found a table for us without a booking. We told them we did not eat meat; they said not a problem, though they operate on a tasting menu system. They just substituted the meat for fish. By the end of the evening we ended up having an exquisite dining experience. Grape leaves, sun dried tomato spread, caponata, grouper, stuffed gnocchi, eggplant parmigiana, homemade truffles (the chili chocolate will make time stop), espresso, and limoncello-these are some of the episodes in the evening's offerings. The service was attentive and erred on the side of making sure you were satisfied. Ruwayda, our host, was easily one of the lovliest people we've ever encountered on our travels. Steve, another host, was attentive and matched wines with the meal effortlessly. If you come to Valletta and do not visit Legligin you have not really experienced this city. Make sure to book ahead.

Helpful?
2 Thank ErIa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Legligin also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Legligin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing