We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous base to explore Malta”
Review of Valletta Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valletta Studios
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous base to explore Malta”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We stayed for 10 happy days in this cosy studio apartment right on the harbour of Valletta. because it was just a few minutes walk to the Valletta bus terminus, we found it ideal for exploring the cultural, heritage and natural beauty of Malta. Our charming host Michael was always available and helped us with tips and settling in. Through him we gained a lot of insights into daily life in Malta.

We loved the central historical location which was still remarkably quiet at night. The apartment was well set up with all the comforts you'd expect. Perfect location and everything you need.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srfer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I am just finishing up a 10-day stay in Valletta in early November, 2010. I wanted a centrally located place to rent with Maltese atmosphere, modern amenities, and a view of the Grand Harbor.

I found it at the Valletta Studios. Michael, the industrious and helpful owner, has rehabbed 3 apartments into rental studios with small but complete kitchens. (Not that you need to cook with all of the restaurants and take away places nearby).

I chose apartment 2 because of the great open floor plan with a traditional Maltese tile floor, the original stone supporting arches on the ceiling, and big bathroom with tub. The place is a fun mix of old Maltese and Moroccan pieces, with some IKEA added for comfort. The balcony looks out to the Grand Harbor and down over a stone staircase leading up to the Upper Barracca Gardens and the Saluting Battery.

All of the sights are within easy walking distance, and the all-important bus terminal is only a 10-minute walk away. The Embassy Cinema is a short walk, but I can also put my feet up and watch a DVD at the apartment.

The prices are great---in fact I had been prepared to pay up for a little more luxe---but couldn’t find anything in the upper strata with all of my specs.

Michael picked me up at the airport (a service charge applies), and filled me in on the area. He showed me Apartment One that had just been vacated. It has a covered wooden balcony, an Il-gallarija Maltija, that has an even better view of the Grand Harbor.

He is in the area to answer questions and fix anything. His loyal cat, George, comes by with him. George likes to check-up on things in the neighborhood too, and has taken a snooze or two in the easy chair while I’ve read the news online on my laptop. He is quite polite, and won’t come in unless invited.
All in all, I couldn’t be happier!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SanMiguelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Stayed here in October and could not be happier, Michael the owner looked after us from start to finish of our 5 day stay.
The apartment is an open plan studio with a seperate bathroom, it has all the personal touches that made us feel at home. There is a small balcony to sit out on for breakfast and look over the habour.
Valleta is busy in the day but quiet at night, if you research the resturants before traveling there are some absolute gems. If you do cook for yourself track down the indoor market which has everything you need.

Look on http://www.vallettastudios.com/index.html for pics

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akira28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

I booked this last minute and was lucky to get apartment 1 for 2 days and then moved to apartment 3 for the rest of the week. Apartment 1 has an absolutely incredible view of the Grand Harbour. All the apartments are really nice inside, with cable tv and broadband. No air-con, but the fan and open windows were sufficient. The beds are futons, which are average. The kitchens have everything you would need, but finding a grocery store in Valletta is not easy. Great location if you want to avoid the tourist traps. Valletta gets busy during the day, but is very quiet at night. Plus if you plan to travel by bus, almost all buses start from Valletta. I'd highly recommend to any singles or couples who just want a lovely place to stay on a budget. Best value in Malta.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeeAbr0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,761 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#9 of 15 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#8 of 15 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valletta Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valletta Studios

Property: Valletta Studios
Address: 61A/62 Battery street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 01, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Valletta
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Valletta Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valletta Studios Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing