We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capistrano Restaurant

Capistrano Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 226 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$38
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Capistrano is a small restaurant with Fine Mediterranean Cuisine. It is a ten minute walk from Valletta’s main entrance and it’s very close to the Manoel Theatre. Capistrano Restaurant is the place where you can dine in a relaxing atmosphere. Our main priority is to keep a high quality standard in food and service.
Zurrieq, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Capistrano restaurant.... will definitely be in my good books this year.
We ordered seafood soup for starters, very delicate and tasteful and grilled whole calamari, grilled to perfection served with grilled vegetables, wedges and salad. Very good portion! The apple and walnut cheesecake was simply divine too. The service is amazing too, the staff is very efficient and attentive. The bill came 32eur p/p.
I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertaF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    220
    50
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We went here by chance and were not disappointed! Decor is a bit cafe style but the food was amazing. Crab soup, tomato and goats cheese tart, fillet steak and veal were all really good. No room to try the desserts! Staff were all very friendly, would recommend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Had stopped going here dues to some disagreeable staff. Thank God they have been replaced with three new competent and friendly waiters, Malcolm the young chef is excellent at preparing traditional Maltese dishes with a modern nouvelle cuisine twist. The sausages stuffed with rabbit meat served on polenta with cranberry sauce are to die for. I do not have a sweet tooth but the Maltese ricotta souffle with nutmeg is a must try. Excellent all round.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We visited Malta in September with friends and stumbled across Capistrano and went in because of the Trip Advisor sign in the window.
We made the right decision. Little touches like free light nibble starters and vegetable soup in coffee cups made the main meal even more wonderful.
The quality and presentation of our meals was on a par with a top London restaurant, but served in a cosy back street restaurant in Malta. Even better, the prices were those of Malta :)
Next time we are on the island we will definitely revisit this restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoopy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Went on Christmas eve. Normally not an occasion for which I would trust a restaurant knowing how kitchens may be overworked, but Capistrano did not let us down. We arrived in good time for our booking, were led to our table and served quickly and efficiently. The waiter, though clearly busy, had time for a smile and a couple of pleasant exchanges which we really appreciated. He even took pains to provide my mother-in-law with bruschette when she told him that didn't want the complimentary soup because it's not to her liking.... The food was excellent - the sort of food that makes you tell your family members 'taste this, it's really good!'. One person ordered a fillet with pepper sauce on the side, but it turned up ready included on the fillet - surprising and not what was requested, but certainly tasty enough to make this person (normally very finicky) enjoy his meat. The wine I asked for was unfortunately not available but I was immediately offered a perfect alternative - same provenance and practically tasted the same, so that was fine too. Pricing was what you would expect so nothing to complain about there. We did not order dessert as we were in a rush to watch a show so cannot comment about that. I rate the meal as Very Good, but not Excellent simply because we ate downstairs and it felt a little cramped... but the rest was brilliant and the perfect meal for a lovely Christmas eve. Recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank osa109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capistrano Restaurant also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Capistrano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing