We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and delicious”

Omerta Trattoria & Wine Bar
Ranked #103 of 229 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Welcoming and delicious”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We chose this restaurant because it looked cosy, not realising that the food would be quite so good. We also enjoyed a good red wine (Caravaggio) on recommendation. For starters we had a caprese salad which was very fresh. For main course I ate a salmon dish with mushrooms, asparagus, parma ham and pistachios ('Lo Piccolo') and my partner had a pasta dish ('Toto'). Very enjoyable, friendly, and relaxing, with amazing food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Minzalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    42
    19
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paola, Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must try”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Tucked away in the narrow streets of Valletta this restaurant is a must try the chef comes personally to ask you about the food you ordered we had papardelle with squid ink and for main course we opted for a fresh piece of rib eye cooked to perfection finished with truffle oil and parmegian simply deliciuse!! My wife tried the chicken with shrimps avocado and mango chutney and even this main was to die for!! We finished our meal with a chococlate fondue the cherry on the cake!! Well done to Omerta chef!!

Helpful?
1 Thank cchircop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trattoriaomerta, Owner at Omerta Trattoria & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for finding time to review us, it's always a pleasure to serve you, such comments will keep us going

Regards

Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best meal we ate in Malta - delicious!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Like other reviewers, we stumbled across this restaurant at lunch time and had a REALLY good meal. I had chicken [without the cream, at my request] and my husband had the lobster linguini. We shared a starter of grilled vegetables which was perfect and finished it off by sharing the chocolate fondant. Neither of us could fault the food, service or ambience and we enjoyed our chat with the chef who really cares how his dishes taste. He serves a properly seasoned, balanced plate - not one slice of courgette or a smear of pea puree as "vegetables". Other Trip Advisor 4* + places [in Sliema] during our four day stay were pretty average & forgettable, but this was great. [I would comment, regarding the only negative review, that if you order a risotto and it is made properly from scratch, it IS going to take a while to arrive! It can't be rushed] We asked for our coffee to be served at the same time as the dessert, and this was followed to the letter by the proprietor who shares our preference. A complimentary Limoncello topped off the whole experience perfectly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trattoriaomerta, Owner at Omerta Trattoria & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
I would like to take the opportunity to personally thank you for reviewing & rating our restaurant, it's always our pleasure to serve you again,

Regards

Warren Cremona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb !”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Not even planned we stumbled across this little romantic wine bar/restaurant with the most beautiful ambience. Soft playing music, maltese charm enjoying a romantic evening. To top it off the food was incredible, in fact one of the best meals we've had in a while (we dine out quite often). Great service and value for money. Definitely worth a visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank CF-Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Great evening with friends.
Visited Omerta because we had Gusto Card but we will definitely be returning.
Well-executed food and nice ambience.
Would recommend to anyone visiting Valletta.
Parking infront of restaurant was not a problem being Monday evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Forte131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Omerta Trattoria & Wine Bar also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Omerta Trattoria & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing