We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Healthy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Giovanni

San Giovanni
Ranked #98 of 226 Restaurants in Valletta
Cuisines: Grill, Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, View
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Situated in the heart of Malta's Capital, Valletta. San Giovanni is the ideal place to enjoy Mediterranean cuisine in a unique environment that oozes character, charm & history. Our menu highlights the colourful flavours that distinguish Mediterranean recipes, offering clients a vast selection of traditional and contemporary dishes. The restaurant is in the open air, with all the tables and chairs beneath sunshades. San Giovanni is indeed the place to be for any special occasion, business dinners or romantic occasion.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Healthy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Ate twice here during recent visit
On both occasions choose a salad for main course and both where fantastic
The cakes ( sweets) where also great
A well run friendly place with overly staff

Helpful?
Thank strandy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    133
    64
    37
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Msida, Malta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“excellent food and presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

very good food ,personalized meals and salads which impress the eye ,good coffee and as always nice staff .
When I go to Valletta this restaurant is my first choice .
Keep it up for taste and quality.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sannathimmol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Poorly heart of Valletta”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Overall it was OK. Unfortunately just ok.

The food was nice-ish. Something Italian but far far far away from proper Italian food.

I was given the wrong food and kindly asked if I could have it changed for what I've actually ordered. I'm scared to think what they've done to it as a ravage.

Staff not attentive at all. Had to go and ask for things myself. Even tho that there were only 7 tables covered.

We came here because it was in heart of Valletta where we actually happen to be on the time and also my partner wanted to watch football.

I don't think we'll be coming here again, mostly due to poor service. But if you are hungry than try it yourself. Maybe it was just a bad experience for us.

Helpful?
Thank Hizabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in the Heart of Valletta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Lovely restaurant in the heart of Valletta. My husband ate the Saddle of Rabbit and said it was delicious, I ate the T-Bone steak as my first choice of fillet steak was not available and was impressed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank flanshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst service received”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch whilst visiting valetta for the day.
expected a lovely Italian meal.
Extremely poor service received throughout the whole experience.
We had to seat ourselves, then had to ask to order.
Main meals brought out without the drinks, confusion over what exactly we ordered.
Wasn't asked if meal was ok, had to keep getting up to go to the till to get any attention from the staff.
Went up to till to Ask one staff if we could pay, he said 'ok' and appeared to be following us back to table then diverted and stood talking to his friend, ignored us.
Overall food was just satisfactory, nothing special about the food. Very disappointing experience here. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amyalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Giovanni also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing