We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“distinctly below average” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Ranieri

Cafe Ranieri
Ranked #67 of 226 Restaurants in Valletta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East Sussex, U.K.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“distinctly below average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Only went in for a spot of lunch, maybe dinner would have been better - sandwiches served with the minutest portion of salad which was tired and certainly not freshly prepared, plus coffees. Busy with tourists but sluggish and indifferent service suggested they were not really bothered about return custom.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sidleyranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    113
    39
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

had a great time stayed in valletta for a week and found this restaurant on the third day and went every night after that..great food and staff very happy .wide menu choice with reasonable price . great place to eat also lots of locals eat there which proves it

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gasman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food and service with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

What more could we want, the food was excellent, very good portion sizes. We visited four times during the week we were in Valletta, Robert and all other staff were brilliant, giving good service with a smile.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

For the third year in a row we visited Ranieri's. The welcome was as friendly as ever, and the food was a delight. With a choice of Pizza's, pasta's,salads, Maltese specialities and lots more there was a wide menu for all. Service was first class with the complimentary bruschetta a delicious opening to the meal. Value for money was excellent and by returning a number of times throughout the week we were able to taste a lot of the menu. Both waiters made us feel like valued customers and I am already looking forward to returning to Ranieri's on my next visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hn_C621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Wanted to try lots of new places but this restaurant was so good we went there 4 times in the week we were there! Head waiter Robert was a delight, food was delicious and service was very quick. Complimentary bruschetta was also served while we waited. Prices very reasonable and the staff were lovely. Would recommend to anyone visiting Valetta.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laurafinn1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Ranieri also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Cafe Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing